Europa VT Surface Map

Tips for creating and manipulating planet textures for Celestia.
Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Europa VT Surface Map

Post #1by NIGHTCAST2000 » 15.10.2006, 21:29

Hi guys,
I have recently compiled the CVS version of Celestia.
I have downloaded some images for it and they look great!
The latest add-on I've downloaded is John van Vilet's Europa VT Surface Map.I have downloaded the three main files,and extracted them to my Addons folder.Their directory path is:
extras\Addons\Europa\textures\hires.The Europa.CTX file is in the hires folder of that directory.

I have downloaded Virtual Textures for Dummies and had a look at Selden's A(Not-So breif) giude to Add-ons.

Sadly,I'm still having a little trouble getting Celestia to recognise it as an alternative texture.

My Europa.CTX and my attempt for the Europa.SSC is here:
[/code]VirtualTexture
{
ImageDirectory "Europa"
BaseSplit 0
TileSize 512
TileType "png"
}

Code: Select all


My Europa.SSC is this one:
AltSurface "Europa" "Sol/Jupiter"
{
Texture "Europa.CTX"
}

Code: Select all


I hope somebody can guide me on this one.
Regards,
            nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #2by cartrite » 15.10.2006, 23:44

NIGHTCAST2000,
Try this for your ssc file.

Code: Select all

AltSurface "Europa2" "Sol/Jupiter/Europa"
{
Texture "Europa.CTX"
}


cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #3by NIGHTCAST2000 » 15.10.2006, 23:57

Hi Cartrite,
I've just cut&pasted the code provided into the SSC file I made for it(deleting the original contents first of course) and ran Celestia to check it out.

I clicked on Europa for Alternative Textures,but it didn't show up in the drop-down list.

As an enquiery,does the .SSC and .CTX extensions need to be in upper or lower case?(the extensions appear in capitals when I browse the files)

Regards,
nightcast2000

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #4by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 00:10

Oh I forgot!
the Europa.SSC file is in the extras folder,I hope that clears things up a little.

Regards,
nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #5by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 00:27

I'm not sure why the other one didn't work. Mabey the caps CTX.
The code I pasted above was copied from your post and I added a "2" and "Europa" to it. This below is what I actually have.
This is what I got to work.

Code: Select all

AltSurface "Europa2" "Sol/Jupiter/Europa"
{
Texture "Europa.*"
}

celestia =>folder
extras =>folder
Europa =>folder
textures => folder europa.ssc =>file
hires =>folder
Europa =>folder Europa.ctx =>file
level0 =>folder
level1 =>folder
level2 =>folder

I hope you can see what I'm trying to say here.

cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #6by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 10:23

Hi Cartrite,
I altered my Europe.SSC file and moved the two files to the same folders as you have.

I fired up Celestia again,but I still got the same result!

Oh well,I'm not sure what to do next.

Regards,
nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #7by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 10:40

You are using lower case for file extensions ie Europa.ssc, right?
I am. From your posts I notice you have been writing Europe.SSC.
If your directory tree is like the one I tried to show, it should work. Mine does.

Image

cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #8by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 10:55

Hi Cartrite,
I changed the Europa.SSC extention to lower case,ie .ssc
and ran Celestia agian and the drop-down menu appeared!

The only problem now is when I move closer to Europa,the Level1&2 tiles don't seem to be loading,I still seem to get the default image.

So I guess we're halfway there.

Regards,
nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #9by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 11:02

Press the "shift ~" key at the top left of your keyboard. The log will appear like the image I posted. I didn't see much difference in the texture either. I didn't download level 3 because I only downloaded this so I could diagnose your problem. The level 2 folder probally contains the same default image you allready have in the installation.

EDIT So if you haven't allready done so, you'll need to download level 3 if you want to see some improvement.
/EDIT
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #10by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 12:48

Hi,
Can someone point me to a public server so I can upload
the screenshot to the forum?

Regards,
nightcast2000

Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 19 years 6 months

Post #11by Fightspit » 16.10.2006, 12:49

NIGHTCAST2000 wrote:Hi,
Can someone point me to a public server so I can upload
the screenshot to the forum?

Regards,
nightcast2000


Try it:
http://www.imageshack.us/
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #12by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 13:14

Hi to all,
Thanks FightSpit for the link.I have uploaded the sceenshot to it.
Now to my post,I ran Celestia,goto'd to Europa,I pressed Shift+r to load the hires textures.I then right-clicked on Europa and selected Europa2 from the drop-down list.

I then pressed Shift+~ to bring up the ouptput and even pressed the ` button to bring up the F.P.S.

I then pressed the F10 button to take the screenshot,her it is:

Image

I hope that helps,regards,nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #13by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 13:27

You did something wrong posting your image. I can't get to it. You will have to download level 3 to see some improvement. level 2 seems to have the same resolution as the defaut Europa texture.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #14by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 13:31

[img][img]http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/1840/europajupiterviewdi3.th.jpg[/img][/img]

I think I sorted the screenshot,I hope that helps,nightcast2000

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #15by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 13:35

Hi Cartrite,
As you can see,I've sorted out my screenshot!
I have downloaded the Level3 archive and extracted it to the appropiate folder.

Regards,
nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #16by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 13:42

Is the file Europa.ctx using lower case ?
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #17by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 13:52

Hi Cartrite,
I've checked the Europa.ctx and the file extension is definetly
in lower case.

[img][img]http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/8004/tmp5391ae3.th.jpg[/img][/img]

I hope that helps,regards,nightcast2000
Last edited by NIGHTCAST2000 on 16.10.2006, 13:59, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #18by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 13:56

Can't see the images. Could you post your current ssc file?
There is mine.

Code: Select all

AltSurface "Europa2" "Sol/Jupiter/Europa"
{
Texture "Europa.*"
}

When you open the extras folder you should see the folder Europa.
When you open the Europa folder you should see your ssc file and the folder textures.
When you open the textures you should see the hires folder.
When you open the hires folder you should see the ctx file and the folder Europa.
When you open the Europa folder you should see the folders level0, level1, level2, and level3.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Topic author
NIGHTCAST2000
Posts: 146
Joined: 09.10.2006
With us: 18 years 1 month

Post #19by NIGHTCAST2000 » 16.10.2006, 14:07

Hi Cartrite,
Here is my ssc file,it should be the same as yours

Code: Select all

AltSurface "Europa2" "Sol/Jupiter/Europa"
{
Texture "Europa.*"
}


I hope that helps,regards,nightcast2000

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #20by cartrite » 16.10.2006, 14:18

Do you still have the official version installed? or are you trying the cvs version that you just built? If you still have the official version, copy the whole Europa folder to your official version's extra folder and see if it works there.
I changed the Europa.SSC extention to lower case,ie .ssc
and ran Celestia agian and the drop-down menu appeared!

You do realize that you have to click on Europa2 to select it? Sorry just checking.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4


Return to “Textures”