New Celestia-1.4.0pre-FT1 (galaxies) for Testing

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
maxim
Posts: 1036
Joined: 13.11.2003
With us: 21 years
Location: N?rnberg, Germany

Post #101by maxim » 13.09.2005, 18:46

Toti wrote:Since there can be a lot of these templates defined, objects are loaded when they are about to be rendered.
This is exactly the same behaviour as with other Celestia objects (eg. planets, probes, etc.)
All this is not included in this FT1 test release.
Thanks for clarification Toti :)

Toti wrote:
maxim wrote:- As I understand, every line in the .pts file correspondents to the coordinates of a small glowing blob of the viewed model - it may be x,y,z and size/brighness. So how about allowing a negativ forth value, indicating a /dark/ blob, so dark bands of matter could be also modeled inside galaxies?
AFAICS there's an OpenGL 1.2 limitation there.

You don't mean negative numbers here to you?
I just proposed to (mis)use the sign as a flag for emissive/nonemissive drawn blobs - and be stripped off before handing over the value to OGL functions.

maxim

Toti
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: 10.02.2004
With us: 20 years 9 months

Post #102by Toti » 13.09.2005, 18:49

lostfisherman wrote:
Toti wrote:Hi,

Perhaps you can help us to debug this one: what happens if you use the "latest CVS" celestia.exe file Selden posted (page 5) ?


Hello Toti,

The same thing happens, I lose vertex/Nvidia combiners; that is, no normal maps, no specular reflections and no atmospheric effects for Earth. Ctrl v behaves in the same way as I described in my previous post. This is with Seldens copy of celestia.exe you directed me to on page 5 of this thread.

My original exe file (1.4.0pre6) works as it should and everything is restored when I put it back (ctrl v, i mean).


Many thanks for your help!

So as I expected the problem was already in CVS and it's not a side effect of our modifications. Chris probably made a change in the openGL capabilities querying stuff.

Bye

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 21 years 3 months

Post #103by danielj » 13.09.2005, 18:53

Of course,I understand.But in the readme,it??s not clear that requires a recent compilation for Windows and not the regular one I downloaded last november.
Ok,I know there is a compilation free in last posts,but I don??t know if I have to compile it further.
Anyway,it??s too complicated and I??m no expert in English,so I will wait a while before trying again...
Last edited by danielj on 13.09.2005, 18:59, edited 1 time in total.

abramson
Posts: 408
Joined: 22.07.2003
With us: 21 years 3 months
Location: Bariloche, Argentina

built!

Post #104by abramson » 13.09.2005, 18:55

People,

I don't know if this information helps, but I just succeeded in building the last CVS (I just commented out the dts_ keywords that my compiler somehow can't handle). I then copied FT1 and the rest of Fridger's files and run it. Good news 1: I recovered the vertex/combiners path. Good news 2: the Ctrl-V crash when selecting FX path has disappeared. 8)

Guillermo

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #105by t00fri » 13.09.2005, 19:01

danielj wrote:Of course,I understand.But in the readme,it??s not clear that requires a recent compilation for Windows and not the regular one I downloaded last november.
Ok,I know there is a compilation free in last posts,but I don??t know if I have to compile it further.
Anyway,it??s too complicated and I??m no expert in English,so I will wait a while before trying again...


I don't think you understood, unfortunately. I wrote you should take celestia-1.4.0pre6. This is as clear as it can be. RIGHT?? You don't have to understand anything else. So why did you write above it was not clear???

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: built!

Post #106by t00fri » 13.09.2005, 19:05

abramson wrote:People,

I don't know if this information helps, but I just succeeded in building the last CVS (I just commented out the dts_ keywords that my compiler somehow can't handle). I then copied FT1 and the rest of Fridger's files and run it. Good news 1: I recovered the vertex/combiners path. Good news 2: the Ctrl-V crash when selecting FX path has disappeared. 8)

Guillermo


Guillermo,

first of all: CONGATULATIONS!

So that is certainly good news for you ;-) , still Toti and I and others remain mystified why this crash undoubtedly occurs frequently (but not always). But in any case the reason for the crash is PRE- FT1.

Cheers,
Fridger

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 21 years 3 months

Post #107by danielj » 13.09.2005, 19:10

I have the Celestia 1.4.0 pre 6 version,but you said that only the recent compiled versions( I don??t have one) don??t have the bug of Control-V and rendering paths.I didn??t understand that I have to create ANOTHER folder with Celestia 1.4.0 pre 6,although you said it was a TEST version.I will wait until the FT1 works in a usual Celestia version and not a compiled one.

Toti
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: 10.02.2004
With us: 20 years 9 months

Post #108by Toti » 13.09.2005, 19:14

maxim wrote:
Toti wrote:
maxim wrote: - As I understand, every line in the .pts file correspondents to the coordinates of a small glowing blob of the viewed model - it may be x,y,z and size/brighness. So how about allowing a negativ forth value, indicating a /dark/ blob, so dark bands of matter could be also modeled inside galaxies?
AFAICS there's an OpenGL 1.2 limitation there.

You don't mean negative numbers here to you?
I just proposed to (mis)use the sign as a flag for emissive/nonemissive drawn blobs - and be stripped off before handing over the value to OGL functions.

No, it's just that we are using additive blending which gives a nicer look and avoids the need to sort objects from back to front prior to render them.
Given this additive form, rendering another blob always increases brightness and never decreases it, no matter how dark it is.
There are possibly some ways to circunvent this without changing the blending function for bright blobs, being one of them to split the template into an emissive part and an absorptive one, but this could bring newer blending artifacts where the objects merge, etc.

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #109by t00fri » 13.09.2005, 19:19

hank wrote:...

Code: Select all

            double distance    = obsPosition.distanceTo(_obj->getPosition())
                               -_obj->getRadius();
            if (distance<0) distance = 0;


- Hank

Hank I just recompiled the Windows code with the obvious addition,

Code: Select all

if (distance<0) distance = 0;


Everything is fine, now. The Milky Way is back in full glory also for Windows!

Thanks again for the hint.

Cheers,
Fridger

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #110by t00fri » 13.09.2005, 19:29

danielj wrote:I have the Celestia 1.4.0 pre 6 version,but you said that only the recent compiled versions( I don??t have one) don??t have the bug of Control-V and rendering paths.I didn??t understand that I have to create ANOTHER folder with Celestia 1.4.0 pre 6,although you said it was a TEST version.I will wait until the FT1 works in a usual Celestia version and not a compiled one.


PLEASE, I never said that. Go slowly about it, please...

Since you were asked to replace the celestia.exe file by our new provided Celestia.exe from the FT1 version, all these differences you hang on to are entirely IRRELEVANT for YOU!

Please read this paragraph until you understood ;-)

The differences are NOT irrelevant for us,however, since the FT1 version builds on top of the CVS version and not of the celestia-1.4.0pre6 one.

But you just don't have to care about it. Just READ a simple README.1st file and do EXACTLY what was written there. Which you have NOT done. God knows why.

ogg
Posts: 83
Joined: 15.07.2002
With us: 22 years 4 months
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Thanks

Post #111by ogg » 14.09.2005, 04:49

Thanks to all involved for release, it's great to have something new to play with and this is the first time I've gone back to playing with Celestia for quite a while. Getting all nostalgic.

I take it that once the code issues are sorted out, this catalog/template combo is capable of being extensively tweaked? It would be great to have some specific special-interest galaxies have their own unique 'template' to more accurately model them, the Milky Way being the obvious case. It'd be great to see the spiral arms positioned the way the best-guess renderings have them:

http://apod.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/ap050825.html
___________

ogg
___________

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Post #112by Guckytos » 14.09.2005, 11:48

Thank you very much Fridger and Toti for the beautiful work on the galaxies.
Had some time yesterday and did as the readme.1st said, which is quite clear in it's instructions btw, and used a trusty old 1.4.0pre6 from November.
With my lil' old system (specs are down) is was able to cruse through the universe at 160+ fps between galaxies and still had 30+ fps in the milky way.
So you did a very fine job with the speed.

Regards,

Guckytos

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #113by t00fri » 14.09.2005, 12:41

Guckytos wrote:Thank you very much Fridger and Toti for the beautiful work on the galaxies.
Had some time yesterday and did as the readme.1st said, which is quite clear in it's instructions btw, and used a trusty old 1.4.0pre6 from November.
With my lil' old system (specs are down) is was able to cruse through the universe at 160+ fps between galaxies and still had 30+ fps in the milky way.
So you did a very fine job with the speed.

Regards,

Guckytos


Guckytos,

thanks for the compliments. It's good to learn about the typical fps rates from users. Since I have a very fast system, I can hardly take my fps as a reference. I am typically around 100 fps or more when displaying galaxies. But 30 fps should be quite OK for a smooth display. But you see since we plan to go on with incorporating clusters etc along similar lines we are happy to have some reserve as to speed...

Bye Fridger

Avatar
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Post #114by PlutonianEmpire » 14.09.2005, 12:45

Are you still working on the ctrl+v problem, or has that been fixed?
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #115by t00fri » 14.09.2005, 13:03

PlutonianEmpire wrote:Are you still working on the ctrl+v problem, or has that been fixed?


The problem is twofold:

-- we are not responsible for introducing that bug. It was clearly there in the CVS code on which FT1 was built. Presumably introduced by Chris when he integrated DrJoe's orbit patches etc (in a bit of a hurry ;-) ) . So it's kind of tedious to search in code that is clearly Chris' expertise...

--I cannot reproduce that crash with my FX5900Ultra despite being able to cycle through all render paths with CTR+V. Also my simple ATI card does not provoke the crash. There are other reports from people that also don't see that crash. So it's a bit of a mystery...

So from my part it's really hard. We should best try and motivate Chris to search for a fix, but well...

Perhaps Toti has an idea he knows a bit more OpenGL than me.

Bye Fridger
Last edited by t00fri on 14.09.2005, 13:05, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Post #116by PlutonianEmpire » 14.09.2005, 13:05

Alrighty. thanks :)
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

ANDREA
Posts: 1543
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 22 years 5 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #117by ANDREA » 14.09.2005, 13:06

t00fri wrote:
hank wrote:

Code: Select all

            double distance    = obsPosition.distanceTo(_obj->getPosition())
                               -_obj->getRadius();
            if (distance<0) distance = 0;

- Hank
Hank I just recompiled the Windows code with the obvious addition,

Code: Select all

if (distance<0) distance = 0;

Everything is fine, now. The Milky Way is back in full glory also for Windows! Fridger

Hello Fridger, the celestia-win32-1.4.0pre-FT1.zip file has been updated after this? :?:
Thank you for the info.
Bye

Andrea :D
"Something is always better than nothing!"
HP Omen 15-DC1040nl- Intel® Core i7 9750H, 2.6/4.5 GHz- 1TB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD+ 1TB SATA 6 SSD- 32GB SDRAM DDR4 2666 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6 GB-WIN 11 PRO

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #118by t00fri » 14.09.2005, 13:49

ANDREA,

We shall release a FT1.1 (dot) release within the next days, when all these little things have been fixed. Unfortunately, we don't have yet a solution for the leftover CTRL-V crash from the CVS code that some people (not me) are getting.

Bye Fridger

Avatar
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Post #119by PlutonianEmpire » 14.09.2005, 14:22

t00fri wrote:ANDREA,

We shall release a FT1.1 (dot) release within the next days, when all these little things have been fixed. Unfortunately, we don't have yet a solution for the leftover CTRL-V crash from the CVS code that some people (not me) are getting.

Bye Fridger

I noticed that when i got the first test release, i noticed that i couldn't see the specular highlights of a planet. Will i be able to see the speculars in your next release?
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Toti
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: 10.02.2004
With us: 20 years 9 months

Post #120by Toti » 14.09.2005, 15:00

Fridger wrote:
PlutonianEmpire wrote:Are you still working on the ctrl+v problem, or has that been fixed?
The problem is twofold:

-- we are not responsible for introducing that bug. It was clearly there in the CVS code on which FT1 was built. Presumably introduced by Chris when he integrated DrJoe's orbit patches etc (in a bit of a hurry ) . So it's kind of tedious to search in code that is clearly Chris' expertise...

--I cannot reproduce that crash with my FX5900Ultra despite being able to cycle through all render paths with CTR+V. Also my simple ATI card does not provoke the crash. There are other reports from people that also don't see that crash. So it's a bit of a mystery...

So from my part it's really hard. We should best try and motivate Chris to search for a fix, but well...

Perhaps Toti has an idea he knows a bit more OpenGL than me.

Bye Fridger
My computer only admits the Basic and Multitexture render paths and obviously I can't reproduce the problem; since the bug doesn't appear in Fridger's computer it's even more difficult for us to fix it.
The renderer and OpenGL stuff is clearly Chris' terrain... we took special care not to interfere with it.


PlutonianEmpire wrote:
Fridger wrote:
We shall release a FT1.1 (dot) release within the next days, when all these little things have been fixed. Unfortunately, we don't have yet a solution for the leftover CTRL-V crash from the CVS code that some people (not me) are getting.

Bye Fridger
I noticed that when i got the first test release, i noticed that i couldn't see the specular highlights of a planet. Will i be able to see the speculars in your next release?

Do you get the same problem using Selden's executable? (it's on page 5)

Bye


Return to “Celestia Users”