How do I add a surfacefeature object?

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

How do I add a surfacefeature object?

Post #1by PlutonianEmpire » 23.01.2012, 02:43

I'm trying to add a surface feature object to Earth in celestia, but I can't find *anything* that shows ALL the parameters I need to put in the SurfaceObject portion of the SSC.

So far I've got this:

Code: Select all

SurfaceObject "Object" "Sol/Earth" {
   Radius 0.210475
   Mesh "none.cmod"
   LongLat [ -93.589856 45.558207 0 ]
}


But it's not working. The damn thing is zipping across the globe at supersonic speeds. And I'm getting increasingly frustrated at the lack of information available on this portion of SSC coding, and what exactly I need to put down, and it's not working at all like it's supposed to.

So can someone help me? :)
Last edited by PlutonianEmpire on 24.01.2012, 01:20, edited 1 time in total.
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: How do I add a surfacefeature object?

Post #2by selden » 23.01.2012, 13:25

Longlat should be deprecated. It's not compatible with many of Celestia's newer SSC features -- in particular those which use Frames by default, as SurfaceObject does. I'll add a note to that effect in the Wikibook later today if it's not there already.

Instead use

Code: Select all

SurfaceObject "Object" "Sol/Earth" {
   Radius 0.210475
   Mesh "object.cmod"
   FixedPosition { Planetographic  [ -93.589856 45.558207 0 ] }
}
Selden

Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Re: How do I add a surfacefeature object?

Post #3by PlutonianEmpire » 24.01.2012, 01:26

selden wrote:Longlat should be deprecated. It's not compatible with many of Celestia's newer SSC features -- in particular those which use Frames by default, as SurfaceObject does. I'll add a note to that effect in the Wikibook later today if it's not there already.

Instead use

Code: Select all

SurfaceObject "Object" "Sol/Earth" {
   Radius 0.210475
   Mesh "object.cmod"
   FixedPosition { Planetographic  [ -93.589856 45.558207 0 ] }
}
Thank you, Selden. :)

I apologize for my attitude in the OP. I had been over-working myself learning to do VT's and planning for a video I wanted to make, and didn't take breaks, and got stressed, so yeah. Again, my apologies.
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: How do I add a surfacefeature object?

Post #4by selden » 24.01.2012, 11:31

Not a problem. I also get frustrated when things don't work they way they're "supposed to."

I've updated the Wikibook in several places.
Selden


Return to “Help Central”