Problems with lua
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Problems with lua
The configure script failed to run while trying to build Celestia cvs 10/07 on Suse 10 with lua 5.0.2 installed. I had to install lua 5.1.1. After that, no problems.
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I ran locate lua.pc twice. Once for each version. 5.0.2 and 5.1.1 The output looked the same.
The lua.pc I had in usr/local/lib/pkgconfig for 5.0.2
The lua.pc I had in usr/local/lib/pkgconfig for 5.1.1
What looks like happened was I didn't have the versions info in the 5.0.2 lua.pc. 5.0.2 didn't have a lua.pc so it was created. 5.1.1 had one but had to be installed manually. Both were built from source.
If you want, I could reinstall 5.0.2 and capture the configure output on the terminal when it fails.
cartrite
linux:/home/cartrite/bin/celestia/backup/lua-5.0.2 # locate lua*.pc
linux:/home/cartrite/bin/celestia/backup/lua-5.0.2 # locate lua.pc
/home/cartrite/bin/celestia/backup/lua-5.1.1/etc/lua.pc
/home/cartrite/bin/celestia/backup/lua.pc
/root/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/lua.pc.desktop
/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/lua.pc
linux:/home/cartrite/bin/celestia/backup/lua-5.0.2
The lua.pc I had in usr/local/lib/pkgconfig for 5.0.2
Code: Select all
# lua.pc -- pkg-config data for Lua
prefix= /usr/local
exec_prefix=${prefix}
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
includedir=${prefix}/include
Name: Lua
Description: An Extensible Extension Language
Version: 5.0.2
Requires:
Libs: -L${libdir} -llua -llualib
Cflags: -I${includedir}
The lua.pc I had in usr/local/lib/pkgconfig for 5.1.1
Code: Select all
# lua.pc -- pkg-config data for Lua
# vars from install Makefile
# grep '^V=' ../Makefile
V= 5.1
# grep '^R=' ../Makefile
R= 5.1.1
# grep '^INSTALL_.*=' ../Makefile | sed 's/INSTALL_TOP/prefix/'
prefix= /usr/local
INSTALL_BIN= ${prefix}/bin
INSTALL_INC= ${prefix}/include
INSTALL_LIB= ${prefix}/lib
INSTALL_MAN= ${prefix}/man/man1
INSTALL_LMOD= ${prefix}/share/lua/${V}
INSTALL_CMOD= ${prefix}/lib/lua/${V}
# canonical vars
exec_prefix=${prefix}
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
includedir=${prefix}/include
Name: Lua
Description: An Extensible Extension Language
Version: ${R}
Requires:
Libs: -L${libdir} -llua -lm
Cflags: -I${includedir}
# (end of lua.pc)
What looks like happened was I didn't have the versions info in the 5.0.2 lua.pc.
Code: Select all
V= 5.0
R= 5.0.2
......
Version: ${R}
If you want, I could reinstall 5.0.2 and capture the configure output on the terminal when it fails.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
checking for lua5.1 >= 5.1.0... checking for lua >= 5.1.0... checking for lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0... checking for lualib lua >= 5.0.0... Package lualib was not found in the pkg-config search path. Perhaps you should add the directory containing `lualib.pc' to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable No package 'lualib' found
configure: error: Library requirements (lualib lua >= 5.0.0) not met; consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if your libraries are in a nonstandard prefix so pkg-config can find them.
I wrote:
That didn't work. Configure still failed.What looks like happened was I didn't have the versions info in the 5.0.2 lua.pc.
Code:
V= 5.0
R= 5.0.2
......
Version: ${R}
With 5.1.1 installed:
checking for lua5.1 >= 5.1.0... checking for lua >= 5.1.0... yes
checking LUA_CFLAGS... -I/usr/local/include
checking LUA_LIBS... -L/usr/local/lib -llua -lm
configure: creating ./config.status
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
Ok, your problem is that you don't have a lualib.pc file. The problem is that since pkg-config support wasn't included in the official lua 5.0, implementation may vary from system to system...
Here is the one provided with Ubuntu 6.10:
Here is the one provided with Ubuntu 6.10:
Code: Select all
prefix=/usr
exec_prefix=/usr
libdir=/usr/lib
includedir=/usr/include/
Name: lua50
Description: The Lua 5.0 programming language addon libraries
Version: 5.0.0
Requires: lua50
Libs: -L${libdir} -llualib50
Cflags: -I${includedir}/lua50
Christophe
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Christophe wrote:
Anyhow everything works fine with 5.1.1 installed.
cartrite
I did have a lua.pc file. It just wasn't called lualib.pc It worked before the changes. See here: http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 7067#77067Ok, your problem is that you don't have a lualib.pc file.
Code: Select all
# lua.pc -- pkg-config data for Lua
prefix= /usr/local
exec_prefix=${prefix}
libdir=${exec_prefix}/lib
includedir=${prefix}/include
Name: Lua
Description: An Extensible Extension Language
Version: 5.0.2
Requires:
Libs: -L${libdir} -llua -llualib
Cflags: -I${includedir}
Anyhow everything works fine with 5.1.1 installed.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I think my main problem is that I never used it. I never enabled it till I had too. Well I could have used --without-lua but I was trying to figure out what I needed to get it to work after it was enabled by default. Is anyone else having a similar problem? If there is I'll try to get it working with 5.0.2 and report here if I succeed. Otherwise I'll be happy that 5.1.1 works and go from there. If I understand you correctly, since I never wrote any celx scripts with 5.0.2, if I write any with 5.1.1 they'll work?
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
no I think he meant celx scripts probably won't work if celestia was compiled with lua 5.1.x but I also don't know why it shouldn't
as far as I know celx scripts are not related to the lua version.
you can't write 2 different versions of celx for lua50 or lua51 ... its all the same isn't it?
but hank would really be the most qualified person to solve this problem
as far as I know celx scripts are not related to the lua version.
you can't write 2 different versions of celx for lua50 or lua51 ... its all the same isn't it?
but hank would really be the most qualified person to solve this problem
most recent celestia win32-SVN-build - use at your own risk (copy over existing 1.5.1 release)
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I don't have any celx scripts that were written with lua 5.0.2. Scripts written with lua 5.1.1 should work. But scripts written with 5.0.2 will not if 5.1.1 is installed. That's what I think. I may be wrong. But if scripts written with lua 5.1.1 don't work, then why is configure looking for version 5.1.1 in the first place.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
Scripts writen for lua 5.0 may not work with lua 5.1. Contrary to what the minor version bump implies, there are differences in the language and the libraries.
The problem is not with scripts you may write, but with scripts you get from other Celestia users, from the Motherlode for example.
Conversely, if you write celx scripts targeting lua 5.1 they will work for you, but they won't be "real" celx scripts since by definition celx uses lua 5.0 and not 5.1.
The problem is not with scripts you may write, but with scripts you get from other Celestia users, from the Motherlode for example.
Conversely, if you write celx scripts targeting lua 5.1 they will work for you, but they won't be "real" celx scripts since by definition celx uses lua 5.0 and not 5.1.
Christophe
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
cartrite wrote:But if scripts written with lua 5.1.1 don't work, then why is configure looking for version 5.1.1 in the first place.
Because I didn't know of that incompatibility when I modified the configure script!
I'm still not sure what is the best way to handle this. Enabling lua 5.1 even if it's not 100% compatible seems better than no celx support at all for systems without lua 5.0. Or we could version celx... This lack of backward compatibility really is annoying.
Christophe
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
OK I'm going to wait to see if anyone else has a problem. I'll also keep that in mind if I decide to use other celx scripts. I assume the proper libraries are in win-libs for the Win builds. Is Lua enabled by default for Windows? If it isn't, the setups I provided will not have Lua enabled. I will have to make a note of that on the thread that provides the links.
EDIT: I seen the celx.o file in the Release folder so I guess it was built with Lua on.
EDIT: I seen the celx.o file in the Release folder so I guess it was built with Lua on.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I changed configure.in from
To
With 5.0.2 installed the original configure.in failed.
The modified configure.in passed
This was the newest file updated a couple of hours ago on 10/9/06 about 9PM.
Is something wrong with configure.in or is something wrong with my system?
After, I ran HuygensMissionTour.celx V1.0 by Adirondack and everything looked good. A pretty cool script by the way. Looks like I was missing something. When I get time, I'll have to watch the whole thing.
cartrite
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib lua = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100) ]
) ]
) ]
)
To
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib lua >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.0.2, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.0.2, LUA_VER=0x050000) ]
) ]
) ]
)
With 5.0.2 installed the original configure.in failed.
For some reason it sees 5.0.2 but wants 5.1.1.checking for lualib lua >= 5.0.0... checking for lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0... checking for lua5.1 >= 5.1.0... checking for lua >= 5.1.0... Requested 'lua >= 5.1.0' but version of Lua is 5.0.2
configure: error: Library requirements (lua >= 5.1.0) not met; consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if your libraries are in a nonstandard prefix so pkg-config can find them.
The modified configure.in passed
checking for lualib lua >= 5.0.0... checking for lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0... checking for lua5.1 >= 5.0.2... checking for lua >= 5.0.2... yes
checking LUA_CFLAGS...
checking LUA_LIBS... -L/usr/local/lib -llua -llualib -lm
configure: creating ./config.status
This was the newest file updated a couple of hours ago on 10/9/06 about 9PM.
Is something wrong with configure.in or is something wrong with my system?
After, I ran HuygensMissionTour.celx V1.0 by Adirondack and everything looked good. A pretty cool script by the way. Looks like I was missing something. When I get time, I'll have to watch the whole thing.
cartrite
Last edited by cartrite on 10.10.2006, 04:11, edited 1 time in total.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Christophe,
Will this work. Original line 400
Modified
Ihad lua 5.0.2 instaled in /usr/local and lua 5.1.1 in /usr/local/lua and configure chose lua 5.0.2. Eveything ran including Adirondack's script HuygensMissionTour.celx V1.0. I changed the = to >= and took out lualib from the second lua check. Mabey the lualib50 could be taken out too?
cartrite
Will this work. Original line 400
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib lua = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100) ]
) ]
) ]
)
Modified
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100) ]
) ]
) ]
)
Ihad lua 5.0.2 instaled in /usr/local and lua 5.1.1 in /usr/local/lua and configure chose lua 5.0.2. Eveything ran including Adirondack's script HuygensMissionTour.celx V1.0. I changed the = to >= and took out lualib from the second lua check. Mabey the lualib50 could be taken out too?
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Developer
- Posts: 944
- Joined: 18.07.2002
- With us: 22 years 4 months
- Location: Lyon (France)
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Christophe,
I guess I was misunderstanding you yesterday.
The change you made to configure.in had to be changed though I added >. Was there a reason for only accepting 5.0.0 ?
FROM
TO:
Everything still worked like it did in my previous post.
http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 9091#79091
I was writing this post just as you posted
cartrite
I guess I was misunderstanding you yesterday.
I now have 2 files in /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig. lua.pc and lualib.pc. EDIT Both files point to the same libs. /EDIT This works with version 5.0.2.Ok, your problem is that you don't have a lualib.pc file.
The change you made to configure.in had to be changed though I added >. Was there a reason for only accepting 5.0.0 ?
FROM
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib lua = 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100) ]
) ]
) ]
)
TO:
Code: Select all
if (test "$enable_lua" != "no"); then
LUA_VER=0
PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib50 lua50 >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lualib lua >= 5.0.0, LUA_VER=0x050000,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua5.1 >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100,
[ PKG_CHECK_MODULES(LUA, lua >= 5.1.0, LUA_VER=0x050100) ]
) ]
) ]
)
Everything still worked like it did in my previous post.
http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 9091#79091
I was writing this post just as you posted
Good timing AAA.See my post dated '09/10/2006 21:38', the problem is that you don't have lualib.pc, and this is required (at least) on Ubuntu systems.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
Lua 5.1 introduced a number of incompatiblities with Lua 5.0. There are incompatibilities in the language, the libraries, and the C API. A complete list is included in the Lua 5.1 reference manual. Most of these incompatibilities can be avoided by compiling Lua 5.1 with the appropriate configuration options, but these compatibility options will all be removed in the next version of Lua.
The Lua 5.1 incompatibilities are fairly limited and probably would not create problems for Celestia itself or for most .celx scripts. There would be some advantages in moving Celestia to Lua 5.1 at some point. But I don't think it's a good idea for the version of Lua supported in Celestia to be an environmental variable. I think all variants of a given version of Celestia should use the same verson of Lua.
- Hank
The Lua 5.1 incompatibilities are fairly limited and probably would not create problems for Celestia itself or for most .celx scripts. There would be some advantages in moving Celestia to Lua 5.1 at some point. But I don't think it's a good idea for the version of Lua supported in Celestia to be an environmental variable. I think all variants of a given version of Celestia should use the same verson of Lua.
- Hank
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I think I understand about 5.1 issues. Christophe is trying to have configure chose 5.0 if both are installed on a system. I installed both to see if this is working. The way configure.in worked last night was it was only accepting 5.0.0. I can install that. But I have 5.0.2 currently installed. My question now is if 5.0.2 is a problem. Adirondack's script HuygensMissionTour.celx V1.0 works good. So far that's the only one I tested. I want to see if this is alright with using 5.0.2 and what the final version of configure.in will be so I can stop playing with this.
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
(would this thread not be better off in Developer Talk or on the Development board?)
My Celestia page: Spica system, planetary magnitudes script, updated demo.cel, Quad system