GTK error

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
Brendan
Posts: 296
Joined: 15.07.2003
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Bellows Falls, VT
Contact:

GTK error

Post #1by Brendan » 17.09.2006, 20:03

I compiled the CVS Celestia on Fedora Core 5 with gcc 4.1.1 and got this

Code: Select all

(celestia:15492): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_widget_set_size_request: assertion `width >= -1' failed


with both the gnome and gtk builds when I tried running them. It showed a progress bar with an error icon that appears to be represent a missing image and then exited.

The system is a Fedora Core 5 one with AMD64 and a GeForce 7600 GS.
Specs: 3500 AMD 64, 1GB RAM, PCI Express GeForce 7600 GS with 256MB, Debian Lenny on 250 GB drive, Windows XP Media Center on 250 GB drive

suwalski
Developer
Posts: 62
Joined: 03.12.2003
With us: 20 years 9 months
Contact:

Post #2by suwalski » 18.09.2006, 13:53

This one's easy!

Make certain you "make install" so that the program can find its data files.

A current project of mine is to re-write the file loader classes so that this will be more obvious.

Topic author
Brendan
Posts: 296
Joined: 15.07.2003
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Bellows Falls, VT
Contact:

Post #3by Brendan » 18.09.2006, 23:31

This error appeared after doing a make install.
Specs: 3500 AMD 64, 1GB RAM, PCI Express GeForce 7600 GS with 256MB, Debian Lenny on 250 GB drive, Windows XP Media Center on 250 GB drive

suwalski
Developer
Posts: 62
Joined: 03.12.2003
With us: 20 years 9 months
Contact:

Post #4by suwalski » 18.09.2006, 23:42

That's rather impossible, if you're using an up-to-date CVS checkout. Make sure you're using automake-1.9.

Make sure you do have a recent checkout. Last week I redid portions of the Makefiles to work with automake-1.9, specifically a problem with ${prefix}.

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 5 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #5by t00fri » 18.09.2006, 23:57

suwalski wrote:That's rather impossible, if you're using an up-to-date CVS checkout. Make sure you're using automake-1.9.

Make sure you do have a recent checkout. Last week I redid portions of the Makefiles to work with automake-1.9, specifically a problem with ${prefix}.


Why should he use automake 1.9? I use version 1.7.6 and things work fine. Also users should NOT be required to always use the latest software...Unlike Windows, Linux applications still do not offer in general an auto-update service ;-) [Thunderbird/Firefox are exceptions]

Bye Fridger
Image

Topic author
Brendan
Posts: 296
Joined: 15.07.2003
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Bellows Falls, VT
Contact:

Post #6by Brendan » 19.09.2006, 10:10

I have autoconf 2.59-7 and automake 1.9.6-2. When running autoconf, I get this:

Code: Select all

configure.in:70: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE
      If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
      See the Autoconf documentation.
configure.in:71: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_CONFIG_HEADER
configure.in:73: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_PO_SUBDIRS
configure.in:74: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_GNU_GETTEXT
configure.in:95: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_LIBTOOL_DLOPEN
configure.in:96: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_PROG_LIBTOOL
configure.in:211: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_CHECK_COMPILERS
configure.in:260: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_CONDITIONAL
configure.in:270: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_GCONF_SOURCE_2
configure.in:313: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_ENABLE_SHARED
configure.in:314: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_ENABLE_STATIC
configure.in:317: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_KDE_WITH_NLS
configure.in:320: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_PATH_KDE


I checked to see if I had gettext and I have gettext and gettext-devl 0.14.5-3. With a clean download of the cvs celestia, I got this:

Code: Select all

 ./configure --with-gnome --enable-lua=no
checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
./configure: line 1553: AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE: command not found
./configure: line 1554: syntax error near unexpected token `config.h'
./configure: line 1554: `AM_CONFIG_HEADER(config.h)'


Why was it compiling before and not now? Maybe I ran the wrong program first. :(
Specs: 3500 AMD 64, 1GB RAM, PCI Express GeForce 7600 GS with 256MB, Debian Lenny on 250 GB drive, Windows XP Media Center on 250 GB drive

Topic author
Brendan
Posts: 296
Joined: 15.07.2003
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Bellows Falls, VT
Contact:

Post #7by Brendan » 22.09.2006, 04:47

I tried make -f Makefile.cvs, then ./configure --with-gnome --with-lua=no, then make and make install and still get the same gtk error.
Specs: 3500 AMD 64, 1GB RAM, PCI Express GeForce 7600 GS with 256MB, Debian Lenny on 250 GB drive, Windows XP Media Center on 250 GB drive

phoenix
Posts: 214
Joined: 18.06.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months
Location: Germany - Berlin

Post #8by phoenix » 22.09.2006, 10:15

either your gtk-installation is broken or celestia can't find all the necessary gtk-libs.
I had a similar problem with my up-to-date gtk-installation when celestia compiled correct but when started it used some very old self-compiled gtk-libs in /usr/local/
most recent celestia win32-SVN-build - use at your own risk (copy over existing 1.5.1 release)

Topic author
Brendan
Posts: 296
Joined: 15.07.2003
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Bellows Falls, VT
Contact:

Post #9by Brendan » 22.09.2006, 21:53

phoenix wrote:either your gtk-installation is broken or celestia can't find all the necessary gtk-libs.
I had a similar problem with my up-to-date gtk-installation when celestia compiled correct but when started it used some very old self-compiled gtk-libs in /usr/local/


I have gtk2-devel 2.8.20-1 installed and haven't compiled other versions.
Specs: 3500 AMD 64, 1GB RAM, PCI Express GeForce 7600 GS with 256MB, Debian Lenny on 250 GB drive, Windows XP Media Center on 250 GB drive

phoenix
Posts: 214
Joined: 18.06.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months
Location: Germany - Berlin

Post #10by phoenix » 22.09.2006, 22:11

try running celestia with --dir and specify the directory of your celestia installation.
be sure that all files are readable and present.
most recent celestia win32-SVN-build - use at your own risk (copy over existing 1.5.1 release)


Return to “Bugs”