Moon satellite orbit bug
Moon satellite orbit bug
When moons have satellites of their own, the orbits of those satellites is misplaced and drawn with the wrong radius.
Celestia version is 1.4.1.
The smaller round orbit shown above exhibits a lot of jitter. It jumps around the screen a lot and sometimes it is not visible at all. The half-circle orbit is steady and drawn at the right size.
Celestia version is 1.4.1.
The smaller round orbit shown above exhibits a lot of jitter. It jumps around the screen a lot and sometimes it is not visible at all. The half-circle orbit is steady and drawn at the right size.
I'm experiencing his problem very frequently on 1.4.1 and 1.4.2, especially with small orbits objects. I didn't noticed this with the new code, yet, but there are other problems with it (orbital paths gets some holes and dashes ...)
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
Some notes:
* The fictional planet is a distant world in its solar system
* It won't resemble the screenshot because models and textures are not included
* The moon is distant from the planet (because distant moons are more likely to have satellites of their own)
* When you load the URL below, you may not see the effect immediately. If you hold the right mouse button down and move the mouse around a bit, you should see orbit arcs rendering at random locations as you move around.
URL:
Orbit Weirdness
SSC:
* The fictional planet is a distant world in its solar system
* It won't resemble the screenshot because models and textures are not included
* The moon is distant from the planet (because distant moons are more likely to have satellites of their own)
* When you load the URL below, you may not see the effect immediately. If you hold the right mouse button down and move the mouse around a bit, you should see orbit arcs rendering at random locations as you move around.
URL:
Orbit Weirdness
SSC:
Code: Select all
"Ovatus" "Lalande 21185"
{
Texture "neptune.*"
Color [0.5 0.5 0.5]
Albedo 0.26
Radius 27906.26
Oblateness 0.145854
#$Density 1.256
EllipticalOrbit
{
Period 146.9129739063
SemiMajorAxis 27.4661114354
Eccentricity 0.02299226
Inclination 062.317001
AscendingNode 175.204545
MeanLongitude 206.910651
LongOfPericenter 277.953797
}
Atmosphere # Copied from Neptune
{
Height 130
Lower [ 0.60 0.65 1.00 ]
Upper [ 0.50 0.55 0.90 ]
Sky [ 0.50 0.70 0.90 ]
}
#$AxialTilt 028.903005
#$AxialNode 063.997314
Obliquity 077.345645
EquatorAscendingNode 201.641785
RotationOffset 000
RotationPeriod 7.00930204
}
"Ovatus XI" "Lalande 21185/Ovatus"
{
Radius 21.13
Texture "asteroid.*"
Color [0.400 0.400 0.400]
Albedo 0.150
EllipticalOrbit
{
Period 737.1679251216
SemiMajorAxis 8749267.57
Eccentricity 0.441316
Inclination 032.157676
AscendingNode 352.023682
LongOfPericenter 313.548387
MeanLongitude 198.364208
}
#$AxialTilt 031.781854
#$AxialNode 019.193701
Obliquity 062.941352
EquatorAscendingNode 003.235570
RotationOffset 090.000000
RotationPeriod 14.69696520
}
"Ovatus XIA" "Lalande 21185/Ovatus/Ovatus XI"
{
Radius 8.14
Texture "asteroid.*"
Color [0.400 0.400 0.400]
Albedo 0.150
EllipticalOrbit
{
Period 0.61237355
SemiMajorAxis 67.661
Eccentricity 0.013290
Inclination 000.010496
AscendingNode 029.493944
LongOfPericenter 177.002293
MeanLongitude 093.868304
}
#$AxialTilt 000.075468
#$AxialNode 119.721671
Obliquity 000.070853
EquatorAscendingNode 141.824071
RotationOffset 135.000000
# RotationPeriod - undefined defaults to synchronous
}
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 9 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
I haven't had a chance to try your SSC, but according to Selden's report, the orbits look fine with the latest CVS code. That's good news, and not surprising--fixing this sort of bug is one of the major reasons that I rewrote the orbit code. We're working on getting the code into a state where we can make an official 1.5.0 prerelease package. In the mean time, you can build Celestia from CVS yourself or try one of the unofficial builds that people have been making available.
--Chris
--Chris
Chris,
there's a clear major problem with orbits in the new code. I gave a picture of the bug, in another thread. Look there :
http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 8&start=45
and see the picture with that dashed blue curve (orbit with "holes"). This is very annoying, and can be reproduced easily.
there's a clear major problem with orbits in the new code. I gave a picture of the bug, in another thread. Look there :
http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 8&start=45
and see the picture with that dashed blue curve (orbit with "holes"). This is very annoying, and can be reproduced easily.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
Yes, I'll post an SSC code when I'll be back home, later today. Right now, I'm at work.
But this bug pretty general and systematic, as soon as there are many orbits shown at the same time, and/or an object (an asteroid here) seen in front.
But this bug pretty general and systematic, as soon as there are many orbits shown at the same time, and/or an object (an asteroid here) seen in front.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
I'm home now.
Selden (and Chris), here's a small addon which is revealing easily the orbit problem on 1.5.0 ("holes" and "dash type" lines), at least on my system :
http://nho.ohn.free.fr/celestia/Cham/pharos.zip (zip file size : 14.4 KB)
Just select any asteroid (Ast 23 was selected below), and show the planets orbits. A seen from that asteroid (a simple sphere with the asteroid.jpg texture), I get holes on the planets orbits. See the picture below :
Selden (and Chris), here's a small addon which is revealing easily the orbit problem on 1.5.0 ("holes" and "dash type" lines), at least on my system :
http://nho.ohn.free.fr/celestia/Cham/pharos.zip (zip file size : 14.4 KB)
Just select any asteroid (Ast 23 was selected below), and show the planets orbits. A seen from that asteroid (a simple sphere with the asteroid.jpg texture), I get holes on the planets orbits. See the picture below :
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
Cham,
I'm sorry to say that the only "breaks" that I see are where dark (brown) asteroid orbit paths are drawn in front of bright planet orbit paths. Actually, the only "breaks" I'm seeing are in the red orbit path of Pharos. When I turn off the asteroid orbits, Pharos' orbit path is continuous as it should be.
I'm not seeing the breaks that are visible in your screengrab. But I'm not seeing asteroid orbits in your screengrab, either.
Can you provide a Cel URL of the viewpoint of your screengrab?
I'm starting to wonder if it's a bug in the MacOS OpenGL driver when it draws OpenGL lines.
Have you looked at your Magnetic Earth since you installed the cvs version of Celestia? Does it show any signs of breaks?
I'm sorry to say that the only "breaks" that I see are where dark (brown) asteroid orbit paths are drawn in front of bright planet orbit paths. Actually, the only "breaks" I'm seeing are in the red orbit path of Pharos. When I turn off the asteroid orbits, Pharos' orbit path is continuous as it should be.
I'm not seeing the breaks that are visible in your screengrab. But I'm not seeing asteroid orbits in your screengrab, either.
Can you provide a Cel URL of the viewpoint of your screengrab?
I'm starting to wonder if it's a bug in the MacOS OpenGL driver when it draws OpenGL lines.
Have you looked at your Magnetic Earth since you installed the cvs version of Celestia? Does it show any signs of breaks?
Selden
Selden,
I never saw those "breaks" or "holes" on any previous version of Celestia.
Yes, of course, I've tested my Magnetic-Earth, and there's no problem there at all.
The "holes" appears to be related in some way with the asteroids orbits, even when they aren't showing, but I may be wrong here. Until now, I only noticed the "holes" on planetary orbits, and didn't saw any on an asteroid orbit yet. Here's an URL, for a point of view of Ast 23 :
cel://Follow/Ast 23/2004-08-07T00:25:52.13296?x=lCUNMZllFVLzrY0&y=MeKsKnEcsR/R6f/+/////w&z=0f5rd7R32zchHbf//////w&ow=0.022705&ox=-0.633121&oy=0.009793&oz=-0.773658&select=Ast 23&fov=38.300713&ts=0.000000<d=0&rf=578999&lm=2082
I never saw those "breaks" or "holes" on any previous version of Celestia.
Yes, of course, I've tested my Magnetic-Earth, and there's no problem there at all.
The "holes" appears to be related in some way with the asteroids orbits, even when they aren't showing, but I may be wrong here. Until now, I only noticed the "holes" on planetary orbits, and didn't saw any on an asteroid orbit yet. Here's an URL, for a point of view of Ast 23 :
cel://Follow/Ast 23/2004-08-07T00:25:52.13296?x=lCUNMZllFVLzrY0&y=MeKsKnEcsR/R6f/+/////w&z=0f5rd7R32zchHbf//////w&ow=0.022705&ox=-0.633121&oy=0.009793&oz=-0.773658&select=Ast 23&fov=38.300713&ts=0.000000<d=0&rf=578999&lm=2082
Last edited by Cham on 18.09.2006, 21:25, edited 1 time in total.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
AAaack !
I just discovered another bug : I can't use my own URL ! It gives me a black screen in Celestia, with everything turned to OFF and a FOV of 0?°. I can't even change the FOV after that and need to relaunch Celestia !?
What the ... ?
I just discovered another bug : I can't use my own URL ! It gives me a black screen in Celestia, with everything turned to OFF and a FOV of 0?°. I can't even change the FOV after that and need to relaunch Celestia !?
What the ... ?
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
Here's the same bug on Earth's orbit :
URL (does the URL above works for you ?) :
cel://Follow/Earth/2006-09-18T21:29:03. ... 78995&lm=7
Please, don't forget to select Earth by clicking on it, if its orbit isn't selected in red.
URL (does the URL above works for you ?) :
cel://Follow/Earth/2006-09-18T21:29:03. ... 78995&lm=7
Please, don't forget to select Earth by clicking on it, if its orbit isn't selected in red.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 9 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Cham wrote:Here's the same bug on Earth's orbit :
URL (does the URL above works for you ?) :
cel://Follow/Earth/2006-09-18T21:29:03. ... 78995&lm=7
Please, don't forget to select Earth by clicking on it, if its orbit isn't selected in red.
It looks like you have two identical orbits overlapping each other, one of them selected. Is that the case here? It almost looks like z-fighting, though I thought I had depth writes disabled for orbit paths.
--Chris
Chris,
yes, in this special case, there's another orbit (Magnetic-Earth) superposed on Earth's one. Not exactly the same, however.
The bug can be reproduced in any system, and not just with superposed paths.
yes, in this special case, there's another orbit (Magnetic-Earth) superposed on Earth's one. Not exactly the same, however.
The bug can be reproduced in any system, and not just with superposed paths.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
Cham,
Those breaks in the Earth's orbit path are "correct." That's the orbit path of your Magnetic Earth being drawn partially on top of the Earth's orbit path.
Remember that orbit paths are actually straight lines drawn between 100 points along the object's orbit. In this case, sometimes a segment of one orbit path is in front, and sometimes a segment of the other. You can change the number of points that are used by editing celestia.cfg. That will change how the "breaks" look. If you don't want the drawing of orbit paths to interfere with one another, you have to place the bodies in significantly different orbits.
I first encountered this problem in my Across to Mars Addon. Its spacecraft are composed of several different models, all following exactly the same orbit at exactly the same location. As a result, when one of the paths might be expected to be red because a body travelling on that orbit is selected, it usually is blue instead because the red path is being overwritten by one or more of the blue "unselected" orbits of several of the other models.
Those breaks in the Earth's orbit path are "correct." That's the orbit path of your Magnetic Earth being drawn partially on top of the Earth's orbit path.
Remember that orbit paths are actually straight lines drawn between 100 points along the object's orbit. In this case, sometimes a segment of one orbit path is in front, and sometimes a segment of the other. You can change the number of points that are used by editing celestia.cfg. That will change how the "breaks" look. If you don't want the drawing of orbit paths to interfere with one another, you have to place the bodies in significantly different orbits.
I first encountered this problem in my Across to Mars Addon. Its spacecraft are composed of several different models, all following exactly the same orbit at exactly the same location. As a result, when one of the paths might be expected to be red because a body travelling on that orbit is selected, it usually is blue instead because the red path is being overwritten by one or more of the blue "unselected" orbits of several of the other models.
Selden
Selden,
your explanation seems to be convincing, but I experienced the same problem with the planet orbit in my "Pharos" addon, while no orbit was intersecting another (the asteroids orbits were OFF). Also, I'm using
OrbitPathSamplePoints 1024
in my config file.
your explanation seems to be convincing, but I experienced the same problem with the planet orbit in my "Pharos" addon, while no orbit was intersecting another (the asteroids orbits were OFF). Also, I'm using
OrbitPathSamplePoints 1024
in my config file.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"