I made a water jovian texture a few days ago and put it into a few randm systems where they should exist....I loaded it into celestia's extrasolar database as an alternate texture but when I right clicked it and chose water texture it came up completley white........am I doing something wrong or what?
Here's what I put
AltSurface "custom water jaovian texture" "HD 82943/c"
{
Texture "Waterjoviantexture-0-1-0-0.dds"
}
Help would be much apreciated.
Having a problem with a texture of mine.
-
Topic authorDarkness nova
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 19.07.2006
- With us: 18 years 4 months
- Location: cali.
Normally, you have several folders like this:
Create a folder "your_folder" and put into the Celestia/extras folder.
In "your_folder" you have got textures/hires/Waterjoviantexture-0-1-0-0.dds
and a scc file "your_ssc" with these line (your exemple):
Create a folder "your_folder" and put into the Celestia/extras folder.
In "your_folder" you have got textures/hires/Waterjoviantexture-0-1-0-0.dds
and a scc file "your_ssc" with these line (your exemple):
Code: Select all
AltSurface "custom water jaovian texture" "HD 82943/c"
{
Texture "Waterjoviantexture-0-1-0-0.dds"
}
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
-
Topic authorDarkness nova
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 19.07.2006
- With us: 18 years 4 months
- Location: cali.
What version of Celestia do you use ? What is your graphic card ? How size is your picture ? What is your Operating system (linux, mac or windows ?)?... You must specify more details about your computer .
Try also update your graphic driver.
Try also update your graphic driver.
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
- Chuft-Captain
- Posts: 1779
- Joined: 18.12.2005
- With us: 18 years 11 months
Also, I think I read in another thread somewhere/sometime that DDS files can only be displayed by certain graphics cards or render paths.
Is that right Selden, or is my memory playing tricks on me?
Is that right Selden, or is my memory playing tricks on me?
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)
CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)
CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 9 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Chuft-Captain wrote:Also, I think I read in another thread somewhere/sometime that DDS files can only be displayed by certain graphics cards or render paths.
Is that right Selden, or is my memory playing tricks on me?
Only very old cards are unable to use DDS files (or specifically, DDS files with DXT compressed textures.) Any NVIDIA GeForce or ATI Radeon card can use DDS files, as can any recent Intel integrated graphics chipset. The render path doesn't affect whether you can use DDS files; they're even available in the basic render path.
--Chris
-
Topic authorDarkness nova
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 19.07.2006
- With us: 18 years 4 months
- Location: cali.
In fact, your picture must be 4096x2048 or 2048x1024 (power of 2) and etc... but not above 8192x4096.
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits
Darkness nova wrote:and the image is 4050X2025
That's your problem.
Celestia requires that all surface textures be a power of two on a side. A "4K" surface texture must be 4096x2048 (or 4096x4096).
This restriction is in the graphics hardware. Only the very most recent top-of-the-line 3D cards can use surface textures that aren't a power of two. The next version of Celestia is expected to allow non-power-of-two textures.
Selden
-
Topic authorDarkness nova
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 19.07.2006
- With us: 18 years 4 months
- Location: cali.
Wow I feel stupid. Heh it's working now thanks..... Here it is in celestai if anyone wants to comment on it.
Click on the image for a larger view.
Now if only I could add some kind of an atmosphere....
Click on the image for a larger view.
Now if only I could add some kind of an atmosphere....
Last edited by Darkness nova on 23.07.2006, 00:20, edited 1 time in total.
-
Topic authorDarkness nova
- Posts: 8
- Joined: 19.07.2006
- With us: 18 years 4 months
- Location: cali.
-
- Posts: 691
- Joined: 13.11.2003
- With us: 21 years
Take a look at the solarsys.ssc file you have just removed; it includes ring declarations for Saturn and the other gas giants. Cut and paste the bit which describes the rings, and place it in your own planet's .ssc description.
Now you wil need a texture to define the rings. This texture needs to be a partially transparent .png with an alphachannel or you will have solid rings. Note that the .png basically defines a thin slice of the rings- the program converts that slice into a radial pattern.
Here is a fictional ring system I have made
you can see how the light shines through the transparent parts of the ring to define the shadows on the planet surface.
Incidentally you can use that solarsystem.ssc as a source of atmosphere declarations too; play about with all the values and see what works.
Warning; don't change the solarsystem.ssc file itself in the Data folder in Celestia, as this could mess up the display of our local planets. If you want to change our solar system, always use Modify commands or similar in the Extras folder.
Now you wil need a texture to define the rings. This texture needs to be a partially transparent .png with an alphachannel or you will have solid rings. Note that the .png basically defines a thin slice of the rings- the program converts that slice into a radial pattern.
Here is a fictional ring system I have made
you can see how the light shines through the transparent parts of the ring to define the shadows on the planet surface.
Incidentally you can use that solarsystem.ssc as a source of atmosphere declarations too; play about with all the values and see what works.
Warning; don't change the solarsystem.ssc file itself in the Data folder in Celestia, as this could mess up the display of our local planets. If you want to change our solar system, always use Modify commands or similar in the Extras folder.