New Celestia-1.4.0pre-FT1.1 Version for Download

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Boux
Posts: 435
Joined: 25.08.2004
With us: 20 years 1 month
Location: Brittany, close to the Ocean

Post #41by Boux » 12.10.2005, 19:01

Some more figures on my main rig, new barebone install, no extras, star mag maxed out:
Startup screen with Earth in view : 104 fps
Go to Beta Ari B : 80 fps
Go to Sol : 102 fps
Go to Saturn : 74 fps
This on Intel P4-E 3.5 GHz, Win2k Sp4, 2Gigs Corsair Xms 3500, Geforce 6800 ultra, Forceware 81.84, AA 4x, AF 8x, HQ on, screen resolution LCD-HDTV 720p 1366x768.
Most known versions of Celestia are living on this machine.
Now I have to compile it for Linux. Let see what happens, Mandriva 2006 has its kernel and KDE compiled with gcc 4.

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #42by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 19:03

hank wrote:In 'observer.cpp':

Code: Select all

void Observer::geosynchronousFollow(const Selection& selection)
{
    if (selection.body() != NULL ||
        selection.location() != NULL ||
        selection.star() != NULL)
    {
        setFrame(FrameOfReference(astro::Geographic, selection));
    }
}


Hmm... could something about deepsky objects be missing here?

Something like:

Code: Select all

       selection.deepsky() != NULL ||
perhaps?

At least that seems to do the trick on Mac OS X.

- Hank


Right, I noticed also immediately that selection.deepsky() was missing. So Linux KDE is just compiling....
I am sure this was it.

-------------SUCCESS for Linux-KDE as well-------------.

So that is in the box. Let's collect a few more buggies first ;-)

Bye Fridger

hank
Developer
Posts: 645
Joined: 03.02.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Post #43by hank » 12.10.2005, 19:11

t00fri wrote:Right, I noticed also immediately that selection.deepsky() was missing. So Linux KDE is just compiling....
I am sure this was it.

Ah, if only they we're all this easy to fix! But now I can't wait for you and Toti to implement galaxy rotation!

- Hank

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #44by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 19:23

Hi all,

some other things to critically check: how about add-ons? Do your add-ons now all work as desired in FT1.1?? Again we need feedback here, since personally, I use very few add-ons (that I didn't do myself ;-) )

Moreover a question in particular to the "low-tech" testers of FT1.1: How do you get along with the NEW automatic switching-on of

automag with faintest automag reduced to 7.0m
clouds
eclipseshadows
galaxies
nebulae needed for rendering many deepsky add-ons
markers??
nightlights

at Celestia startup!?

Tell me whether this is a good default setup or not. Any wishes for changes?

Thanks,
Bye Fridger

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #45by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 19:28

Boux wrote:Some more figures on my main rig, new barebone install, no extras, star mag maxed out:
Startup screen with Earth in view : 104 fps
Go to Beta Ari B : 80 fps
Go to Sol : 102 fps
Go to Saturn : 74 fps
This on Intel P4-E 3.5 GHz, Win2k Sp4, 2Gigs Corsair Xms 3500, Geforce 6800 ultra, Forceware 81.84, AA 4x, AF 8x, HQ on, screen resolution LCD-HDTV 720p 1366x768.
Most known versions of Celestia are living on this machine.
Now I have to compile it for Linux. Let see what happens, Mandriva 2006 has its kernel and KDE compiled with gcc 4.


Looking impressive...

But gcc4 will probably give you trouble ...

Bye Fridger

hank
Developer
Posts: 645
Joined: 03.02.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Post #46by hank » 12.10.2005, 19:55

I'm seeing some duplicate galaxy labels that come and go as I rotate the view. They are in the direction directly opposite from the actual galaxies. One is "M65" near the star 94 Aqr B. You may be able to see it here, directly above the earth. (It may vanish if you center on the star.) There's also "IC 3044" and "IC 3142-2" near 6 Cet, above and to the left of earth. There may be others. The duplicate labels appear and disappear at the same time. Very weird.

- Hank

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #47by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:07

hank wrote:I'm seeing some duplicate galaxy labels that come and go as I rotate the view. They are in the direction directly opposite from the actual galaxies. One is "M65" near the star 94 Aqr B. You may be able to see it here, directly above the earth. (It may vanish if you center on the star.) There's also "IC 3044" and "IC 3142-2" near 6 Cet, above and to the left of earth. There may be others. The duplicate labels appear and disappear at the same time. Very weird.

- Hank


Hank,

this is NOT a bug but a (rather primitive) "feature".

In order to avoid label overcrowdedness/overlap , we have at this time implemented a very primitive distance cut-off for label rendering. For that reason also not all galaxies will have labels (Check ngc 7320, push E) ! This will shortly be replaced by an adaptation of my "importance weighted label" scheme that was successfully implemented already into many location files again to avoid label overlap!

The galaxies you spotted were accidentally quite close to the distance cutoff such that centering pushed them "over the limit"...

Bye Fridger

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 21 years 1 month

Post #48by danielj » 12.10.2005, 20:19

Yesterday night?I didn??t notice.I thought the first version was the 1.1...


t00fri wrote:
danielj wrote:I??m anxious.No more news of the 1.2 version was released.When will be ready?


t00fri wrote:
Boux wrote:OK, a few fps figures as requested:
Startup screen with Earth in view : 27 fps
Go to Beta Ari B : 63 fps
Go to Sol : 74 fps
Go to Saturn : 36 fps
This on Dell D610 laptop : Intel Centrino 1.6 GHz, 512 Mo ram, Intel mobile PCIE graphic chip.
Three versions of Celestia are living happily in parallel on this laptop.

Looking very good, Boux.

that's how things appear on my Dell C610 (PIII 1 GHz), just slower...


Bye Fridger

What?

We released the FT1.1 version yesterday night and all you are interested in is the FT1.2? If we then release FT1.2 one day, you will want to know when FT2.0 appears...Come on.

Specially for YOU I underwent the effort and made a complete installer Version of FT1.1 ... ;-) , since you were apparently incapable to install FT1 correctly. And now you appear NOT interested in FT1.1!

How can you expect a date for the next release? That will depend on the spare time we shall have available and on other unpredictable things as well.

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #49by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:24

danielj wrote:Yesterday night?I didn??t notice.I thought the first version was the 1.1...


Thinking is dangerous ;-) checking is much safer...

Bye Fridger

hank
Developer
Posts: 645
Joined: 03.02.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Post #50by hank » 12.10.2005, 20:28

t00fri wrote:this is NOT a bug but a (rather primitive) "feature".

The galaxies you spotted were accidentally quite close to the distance cutoff such that centering pushed them "over the limit"...

Bye Fridger

Fridger,

The labels I'm seeing are duplicates. They are in the opposite direction from the correct labels. (M65 is in Leo, not Aquarius.) The duplicate labels can't be selected by onscreen picking. When you select the object by typing in its name and then center the view, it centers on the correct label. Centering on a star near the duplicate label causes the label to vanish. (Centering the view shouldn't change the distance.) So I think there is a real bug here.

- Hank

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 19 years 7 months

Post #51by ElChristou » 12.10.2005, 20:40

Hank, If steven fail in building the FT version, can't you send him yours to put it on his Webpage?
Image

BlindedByTheLight
Posts: 485
Joined: 19.03.2005
With us: 19 years 6 months
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post #52by BlindedByTheLight » 12.10.2005, 20:43

Thanks for chiming in everyone on the OS X issues...

I think Toti asked... I am using Xcode 2.1... that uses GCC 4.0.

Is that bad? (as in from "Needful Things"--- "I killed my wife... is that bad?")
Steven Binder, Mac OS X 10.4.10

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #53by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:44

ElChristou wrote:Hank, If steven fail in building the FT version, can't you send him yours to put it on his Webpage?


Yes, I also asked Hank a similar question by PM. While I don't want to interfere into the OS-X community's plans, we might also consider to deposit an OS-X version next to the other FT1.1 versions on the TexFoundry site (on Chris' machine in Seattle ;-) )

Bye Fridger

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #54by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:45

BlindedByTheLight wrote:Thanks for chiming in everyone on the OS X issues...

I think Toti asked... I am using Xcode 2.1... that uses GCC 4.0.

Is that bad? (as in from "Needful Things"--- "I killed my wife... is that bad?")


Yes anything newer than gcc 3.3.5 is "bad" (known to cause problems)

Bye Fridger

Toti
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: 10.02.2004
With us: 20 years 7 months

Post #55by Toti » 12.10.2005, 20:47

hank wrote:In 'observer.cpp':

Code: Select all

void Observer::geosynchronousFollow(const Selection& selection)
{
    if (selection.body() != NULL ||
        selection.location() != NULL ||
        selection.star() != NULL)
    {
        setFrame(FrameOfReference(astro::Geographic, selection));
    }
}


Hmm... could something about deepsky objects be missing here?

Something like:

Code: Select all

       selection.deepsky() != NULL ||
perhaps?

At least that seems to do the trick on Mac OS X.

- Hank
Indeed this is the fix I had in mind. But there's a glitch: galaxies won't ever rotate as solid blocks so "Sync" won't have much sense there, and we might aswell disable the mode for this object type.
On the other hand it would be probably better to keep it for completeness and interface coherence reasons. Any preferences?

chaos syndrome wrote:The "sync orbit" message appears in the latest 1.4.0 prerelease on Windows.
Do you mean the "bug" is also present there?

I'm seeing some duplicate galaxy labels (...)

Certainly this should not happen. I'll investigate ASAP.

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #56by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:48

hank wrote:
t00fri wrote:this is NOT a bug but a (rather primitive) "feature".

The galaxies you spotted were accidentally quite close to the distance cutoff such that centering pushed them "over the limit"...

Bye Fridger
Fridger,

The labels I'm seeing are duplicates. They are in the opposite direction from the correct labels. (M65 is in Leo, not Aquarius.) The duplicate labels can't be selected by onscreen picking. When you select the object by typing in its name and then center the view, it centers on the correct label. Centering on a star near the duplicate label causes the label to vanish. (Centering the view shouldn't change the distance.) So I think there is a real bug here.

- Hank


OK,

I noticed you also had these doubles besides the vanishing labels. In any case the labels issue will be completely redone (=> importance weighting) right after the "dust has settled"...

Bye Fridger
Last edited by t00fri on 12.10.2005, 20:59, edited 1 time in total.

BlindedByTheLight
Posts: 485
Joined: 19.03.2005
With us: 19 years 6 months
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post #57by BlindedByTheLight » 12.10.2005, 20:54

I actually tried compiling with an earlier version of GCC. Two things about this:

1) I'm not sure I did it right. I found some Edit Target Executable "Rule"-type menu and tried to change anything I saw that said GCC 4.0 to an earlier version. There were two places, I was made to "copy" the rules first, then I changed them to both 3.3 and 3.1. Neither worked.

2) I seem to recall Dirkpitt having had to make a tweak somewhere in CVS to enable compiling on Xcode 2.1... could that be a factor that is missing?

Steve

P.S. I would be happy to host a Mac OS X version. I was kinda hoping to be able to build one myself... well, just because. And also to see if doctorjoe's "GOTO spaceship in time / display start&end times" patch still applied. It was an AWESOME feature.
Steven Binder, Mac OS X 10.4.10

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #58by t00fri » 12.10.2005, 20:58

It seems DoctorJoe has "evaporated" into the eternity of space and time ;-) right?


Bye Fridger

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 19 years 7 months

Post #59by ElChristou » 12.10.2005, 21:03

t00fri wrote:It seems DoctorJoe has "evaporated" into the eternity of space and time ;-) right?


Unfortunatly... seems to be right :?
Image

hank
Developer
Posts: 645
Joined: 03.02.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Post #60by hank » 12.10.2005, 21:07

Toti wrote:Galaxies won't ever rotate as solid blocks so "Sync" won't have much sense there, and we might aswell disable the mode for this object type.
On the other hand it would be probably better to keep it for completeness and interface coherence reasons. Any preferences?

As you say, Sync Orbit doesn't really make sense for galaxies, but it doesn't do much harm either. If you leave it out, you'd need to suppress the message to avoid confusion. Other than that, I don't think it matters much either way.

- Hank


Return to “Celestia Users”