Create a zero orbit planet

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Create a zero orbit planet

Post #1by buggs_moran » 09.08.2005, 00:53

I want to create a zero orbit planet with a large atmosphere to add haze around a 3ds object I built. I searched the forums for a while till I was sufficiently frustrated.

Code: Select all

"Fake" "hol1"
{
   HazeColor [ .5 .3 .41 ]
   HazeDensity 0.45
   Radius 50
   Oblateness 0.69

   Atmosphere {
      Height 30000000
      Lower [ 0.8 0.6 0.6 ]
      Upper [ 0.7 0.3 0.3 ]
      Sky [ 0.83 0.75 0.65 ]
                   }

   EllipticalOrbit
{
Period 9E12
SemiMajorAxis 1E-12
}

RotationPeriod 0.10}



Can someone give me a clue...
Homebrew:
WinXP Pro SP2
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz
1 GB Crucial RAM
80 GB WD SATA drive
ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

rthorvald
Posts: 1223
Joined: 20.10.2003
With us: 21 years 1 month
Location: Norway

Re: Create a zero orbit planet

Post #2by rthorvald » 09.08.2005, 01:15

buggs_moran wrote:I want to create a zero orbit planet with a large atmosphere to add haze around a 3ds object



Well, your fake can orbit the 3ds model, at a zero - or low semimajoraxis. Two things are important:

- the fake must have a significantly smaller radius than the model it orbits. Just define the atmosphere high enough that it sticks out.

- it needs to have a surface defined, or you wil get a gray ball. Use a 100% transparent 3ds model without any texture definition for this.

The fake does??nt have to orbit the model, as long as the two objects have an identical orbit, both can orbit something else. Remember then that Celestia draws the first entry in the SSC file on-screen first, and this will affect depht sorting.

If you take a look in the Ran or JTPS addons of mine, you will find working examples of this. Or Titan, where the blue haze layer is produced by the atmosphere of an invisible moon enveloping the real one.


-rthorvald

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #3by buggs_moran » 10.08.2005, 03:22

Thanks Runar,

Works great but I am getting some funky moire patterns on my disk, guess I'll have to play with the settings for a bit.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M


Return to “Development”