Ring problems??

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
maxim
Posts: 1036
Joined: 13.11.2003
With us: 21 years
Location: N?rnberg, Germany

Ring problems??

Post #1by maxim » 27.04.2004, 17:42

There is a curiousity I don't get along with:

I (finally) managed to download jestr's alien addon. I went to the gas giant of the system to find it's rings being solid. So I checked for the ring texture, but it's as transparent as expected. My solar system rings (Jupiter, Saturn, ...) are still looking normal. Saving the ring texture with different format didn't help.

BTW, this is the ssc entry I`m talking about

Code: Select all

"Livenum" "Zet2 Ret"
{
  Texture "livenum.*"
  Radius 56200

  EllipticalOrbit
  {
    Period           14.0139
    SemiMajorAxis    7.1913
    Eccentricity      0.0472
    Inclination       0.7699
    AscendingNode     74.230
    LongOfPericenter 170.964
    MeanLongitude    313.232
  }

  Atmosphere {
    Height 130
    Lower [0.5 0.5 0.5]
    Upper [0.4 0.4 0.6]
    Sky [0.4 0.5 0.5]
  }

  Rings {
    Inner  75800
    Outer  131149
    Texture "livenumrings.png"
    Color [ 1 0.9 0.8 ]
  }

  RotationPeriod   17.24
  EquatorAscendingNode 167.76
  Albedo            0.66
}

I can`t see anything special. When I try to comment the two lines

Code: Select all

    #Texture "livenumrings.png"
    #Color [ 1 0.9 0.8 ]

all I get is a solid white disk. So no wonder that the transparent texture fails to look transparent. As I said, my solsys rings still look correct.

Any suggestions?

maxim

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #2by selden » 27.04.2004, 17:54

How big is the texture image?
How big is your graphic card's texture buffer?
Don't forget that if the ring texture image file is wider (in pixels) than the size of your graphics card's texture buffer, then it can't be drawn.
Selden

Oni

Lord of the Rings?

Post #3by Oni » 27.04.2004, 20:22

I agree with Selden. I have to resize all my planet and ring textures to 2048 before they will display since my graphic card texture buffer is 2048. I've never been able to see any of the 4k or 8k ring textures. Now I have been able to display the Virtual Textures for planets so at least that way I can get a bit higher res planet :-)

Loved the Alien add-on! Thanks Jestr!! It's about time it was included!

Topic author
maxim
Posts: 1036
Joined: 13.11.2003
With us: 21 years
Location: N?rnberg, Germany

Post #4by maxim » 27.04.2004, 21:28

Ah, thank you selden!

I've read about this effect several times in the forum, but I never thought I would stumble over it myself. You wouldn't expect a 7k file to exhaust your texture buffer.

maxim :)

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #5by selden » 28.04.2004, 09:30

Maxim,

It's not the size of the file that matters, of course, it's the size of the image. My impression is that even the most advanced consumer graphics cards can only accept texture images that are 4K pixels wide.
Selden


Return to “Bugs”