Cel. 1.3.2pre2 bug: print text appears in Target name list

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Avatar
Topic author
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Cel. 1.3.2pre2 bug: print text appears in Target name list

Post #1by selden » 18.02.2004, 18:45

The new start.cel includes a print statement that says "Loading textures..."

That text appears (in white) at the end of the "Target name:" list of optional names.

When one types a /return/ to invoke the GoTo function, it is drawn just below the prompt. When one types an ambiguous name, the text "Loading textures..." is drawn at the end of the list of possible targets.
Selden

don
Posts: 1709
Joined: 12.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months
Location: Colorado, USA (7000 ft)

Post #2by don » 19.02.2004, 04:35

Do you see the text withOUT pressing Enter? On WinXP, I do not. I *must* press Enter in order to even see the text.

What about Linux users?

-Don G.

don
Posts: 1709
Joined: 12.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months
Location: Colorado, USA (7000 ft)

Post #3by don » 19.02.2004, 07:45

Chris,

Upon further testing (see code example below), I have found that the zero (0) or base row locations for the topleft, top, topright, bottomleft, bottom and bottomright print locations are all OFF-screen. I'm not sure when this might have changed, but it might break a script or two.

Shouldn't the base row be a VISIBLE area on the display?

In order to correct the start.cel script, try these changes ...

Code: Select all

{
   print { text "Loading textures ..." row -3 duration 5 }
   preloadtex { object "Sol/Mars" }
   wait { duration 5 }
   
   select { object "Sol/Mars" }
   follow {}

   print { text "Traveling to Mars ..." row -3 duration 13 }
   goto { time 15 }

   # gotolonglat { time 0 distance 1e11 longitude 0 latitude 0 }
   # gotolonglat { time 0 distance 2.5 longitude -122 latitude 47 } # Seattle!
   # wait { duration 0.1 }
   # orbit { axis [ 0 1 0 ] rate 10 duration 7 }
   # goto { time 5 distance 10 }
   # wait { duration 5.0 }
}


-Don G.


print command text-positioning test script ...

Code: Select all

{

# This CEL script tests all pre-defined print locations


# Test TopLeft positioning
# This first print statement is off the top of the screen...
  print { text "Top Left"  origin "topleft" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top Left +1"  origin "topleft" row 1 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top Left +2"  origin "topleft" row 2 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test Top positioning
# This first print statement is off the top of the screen...
  print { text "Top"  origin "top" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top +1"  origin "top" row 1 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top +2"  origin "top" row 2 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test TopRight positioning
# This first print statement is off the top of the screen...
  print { text "Top Right"  origin "topright" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top Right +1"  origin "topright" row 1 column -8 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Top Right +2"  origin "topright" row 2 column -8 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test Left positioning
  print { text "Left"  origin "left" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test Center positioning
  print { text "Center"  origin "center" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test Right positioning
  print { text "Right"  origin "right" column -4 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test BottomLeft positioning
# This first print statement is off the bottom of the screen...
  print { text "Bottom Left"  origin "bottomleft" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom Left -1"  origin "bottomleft" row -1 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom Left -2"  origin "bottomleft" row -2 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test Bottom positioning
# This first print statement is off the bottom of the screen...
  print { text "Bottom"  origin "bottom" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom -1"  origin "bottom" row -1 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom -2"  origin "bottom" row -2 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }


# Test BottomRight positioning
# This first print statement is off the bottom of the screen...
  print { text "Bottom Right"  origin "bottomright" duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom Right -1"  origin "bottomright" row -1 column -10 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

  print { text "Bottom Right -2"  origin "bottomright" row -2 column -10 duration 3 }
  wait {duration 3 }

}

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 22 years 9 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: Cel. 1.3.2pre2 bug: print text appears in Target name li

Post #4by chris » 19.02.2004, 08:41

selden wrote:When one types a /return/ to invoke the GoTo function, it is drawn just below the prompt. When one types an ambiguous name, the text "Loading textures..." is drawn at the end of the list of possible targets.

I just checked a fix for this into CVS.

--Chris, on a coding rampage

don
Posts: 1709
Joined: 12.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months
Location: Colorado, USA (7000 ft)

Post #5by don » 19.02.2004, 09:38

What was wrong with the mods I made to the new script? Not sure who changed it to Mars, but it was a welcome change, as Io *usually* comes up in the dark for me.

Also, what about the question I asked ... "Shouldn't the base row be a VISIBLE area on the display?"

-Don G.

Avatar
Topic author
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #6by selden » 19.02.2004, 11:53

Don,

Chris usually includes a random start.cel in Windows prereleases: it is not from the CVS archive. I'm sure the one in CVS still has your modifications. It's just one of the ways to tell that you're running a prerelease and not the final one.
Selden

don
Posts: 1709
Joined: 12.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months
Location: Colorado, USA (7000 ft)

Post #7by don » 19.02.2004, 12:13

Selden,

I didn't change the one in CVS. I merely offered a "corrected" version of the one that came with 1.3.2 pre 2 in my message above.

I don't recall seeing a different start.cel script in any of the pre-releases I have used. It's always been Io, as best I can recall, and I've always replaced it with my own.

-Don G.

Avatar
Topic author
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #8by selden » 19.02.2004, 12:37

Don,

Don't forget that you're a "Johnny come lately" to Celestia :) Past prereleases usually had a start.cel that went to the Earth. Note the mention of Seattle in the commented out lines.

I think Io used to be a reasonable starting place, but Jupiter has moved quite a ways in its orbit since Celestia was born. Its solar phase angle is different now from what it used to be when Io is approached from Celestia's [0,0,0].

Maybe one of Saturn's moons would be better, now that Galileo is gone and Cassini is ramping up. They're heading toward being dark, too, but it will be a while longer before the sunlit side is turned fully away. It's too bad Saturn doesn't have any with as dramatic an appearance as Io.
Selden

don
Posts: 1709
Joined: 12.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months
Location: Colorado, USA (7000 ft)

Post #9by don » 19.02.2004, 13:37

selden wrote:Don't forget that you're a "Johnny come lately" to Celestia :)
Howdy Selden,

I love it. I've been using Celestia for nearly a year, and I'm still called a "Johnny come lately". :lol:


selden wrote:Note the mention of Seattle in the commented out lines.
Yes, that was how I got involved in scripting to begin with.


selden wrote:I think Io used to be a reasonable starting place, but Jupiter has moved quite a ways in its orbit since Celestia was born.

I would think all that needs to be added is a longitude and latitude definition to orient the user.

-Don G.

JackHiggins
Posts: 1034
Joined: 16.12.2002
With us: 21 years 11 months
Location: People's Republic Of Cork, Ireland

Post #10by JackHiggins » 19.02.2004, 21:27

selden wrote:Maybe one of Saturn's moons would be better, now that Galileo is gone and Cassini is ramping up.

This also brings up the problem of there being no more galileo visible as standard with a brand new celestia installation.

I, for one, would like to see Cassini/Huygens as the standard interplanetary spacecraft in a celestia distribution. Galileo could also be kept, if people want, since it was a major mission. Also, I, um.. happen to have avery nice model of Cassini on my website.. Could be useful.. ahem.. :) (Kidding!)

Alternatively, some other mission with an interesting gravity assist trajectory could be used, Voyager 1/2, Stardust, Rosetta*, etc..

* Yes, Rosetta too! Hold your horses for a few days, i'm trying to sort out my website at the moment...
- Jack Higgins
Jack's Celestia Add-ons
And visit my Celestia Gallery too!

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 22 years 9 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #11by chris » 22.02.2004, 03:37

JackHiggins wrote:
selden wrote:Maybe one of Saturn's moons would be better, now that Galileo is gone and Cassini is ramping up.
I, for one, would like to see Cassini/Huygens as the standard interplanetary spacecraft in a celestia distribution. Galileo could also be kept, if people want, since it was a major mission. Also, I, um.. happen to have avery nice model of Cassini on my website.. Could be useful.. ahem.. :) (Kidding!)


I'm all for including Cassini in the standard Celestia distribution--can I take your interest in this as permission to use your Cassini model? :) Do you know if there's an updated trajectory available yet?

I'm more excited about Cassini than any other mission since Galileo. The MER and Mars Express missions are fascinating, but I think we're going to be completely blown away by what we see in the Saturnian system. I can't wait to see what kind of textures we'll produce from images of the satellites. The Phoebe flyby is June 11--how soon afterward will we have a real Phoebe texture?

--Chris

JackHiggins
Posts: 1034
Joined: 16.12.2002
With us: 21 years 11 months
Location: People's Republic Of Cork, Ireland

Post #12by JackHiggins » 22.02.2004, 09:58

Chris wrote:I'm all for including Cassini in the standard Celestia distribution--can I take your interest in this as permission to use your Cassini model? Do you know if there's an updated trajectory available yet?


Great! Yup- you can use the Cassini model no problem! A little note in an obscure section of the readme is all i ask. :wink: Feel free to use Huygens too if you want...

Don't know when the cassini trajectory was last updated, BUT since according to the cassini weekly status reports, their plan for the nominal saturn tour has now been worked out, i'd guess that the JPL trajectory is as final as it can get, at this stage. (Barring any problems with orbital insertion etc)

I'll make an xyz today or tomorrow which has the various flybys etc included- it'll be bigger than the old galileo xyz, but since xyz's usually compress (using zip) to something like 50%-70% of their previous size, it still won't be more than 450KB (uncompressed)... That's ok isn't it?

Huygens' trajectory is tiny, only around 150KB at most.
- Jack Higgins

Jack's Celestia Add-ons

And visit my Celestia Gallery too!


Return to “Bugs”