saturn's rings not showing up

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Guest

saturn's rings not showing up

Post #1by Guest » 10.01.2004, 03:24

"Saturn" "Sol"
{
Texture "saturn.*"
Color [ 1.0 1.0 0.85 ]
HazeColor [ 0.0 0.0 1 ]
HazeDensity 0.25
Radius 60268 # equatorial
Oblateness 0.0980

CustomOrbit "vsop87-saturn"
EllipticalOrbit
{
Period 29.4577
SemiMajorAxis 9.5371
Eccentricity 0.0542
Inclination 2.4845
AscendingNode 113.715
LongOfPericenter 92.432
MeanLongitude 49.944
}

Atmosphere {
Height 300
Lower [ 0.8 0.75 0.65 ]
Upper [ 0.6 0.55 0.45 ]
Sky [ 0.8 0.8 0.5 ]
}

RotationPeriod 10.65622 # System III (magnetic field)
Obliquity 28.049 # 28.052 # old value: 26.73
EquatorAscendingNode 169.530 # 168.8112 # 169.53
RotationOffset 358.922 # correct System III prime meridian

Albedo 0.50

Rings {
Inner 74000
Outer 141000
Texture "saturn-rings.png"
Color [ 1.0 0.88 0.82 ]
}
}

what is wring with this code.

other ringed planets show up perfectly and the distances are correct for the texture i am using. i have made sure the name is the same and the file is in the correct place.

Guest

Post #2by Guest » 10.01.2004, 03:31

forgot my open GL info.


Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation

Renderer: GeForce FX 5200/AGP/SSE2

Version: 1.4.0

Max simultaneous textures: 4

Max texture size: 4096



Supported Extensions:

GL_ARB_depth_texture

GL_ARB_fragment_program

GL_ARB_imaging

GL_ARB_multisample

GL_ARB_multitexture

GL_ARB_point_parameters

GL_ARB_shadow

GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp

GL_ARB_texture_compression

GL_ARB_texture_cube_map

GL_ARB_texture_env_add

GL_ARB_texture_env_combine

GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3

GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat

GL_ARB_transpose_matrix

GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object

GL_ARB_vertex_program

GL_ARB_window_pos

GL_S3_s3tc

GL_EXT_abgr

GL_EXT_bgra

GL_EXT_blend_color

GL_EXT_blend_func_separate

GL_EXT_blend_minmax

GL_EXT_blend_subtract

GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array

GL_EXT_draw_range_elements

GL_EXT_fog_coord

GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays

GL_EXT_packed_pixels

GL_EXT_point_parameters

GL_EXT_rescale_normal

GL_EXT_secondary_color

GL_EXT_separate_specular_color

GL_EXT_shadow_funcs

GL_EXT_stencil_two_side

GL_EXT_stencil_wrap

GL_EXT_texture3D

GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc

GL_EXT_texture_cube_map

GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp

GL_EXT_texture_env_add

GL_EXT_texture_env_combine

GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3

GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic

GL_EXT_texture_lod

GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias

GL_EXT_texture_object

GL_EXT_vertex_array

GL_HP_occlusion_test

GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat

GL_KTX_buffer_region

GL_NV_blend_square

GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color

GL_NV_depth_clamp

GL_NV_fence

GL_NV_float_buffer

GL_NV_fog_distance

GL_NV_fragment_program

GL_NV_half_float

GL_NV_light_max_exponent

GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint

GL_NV_occlusion_query

GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil

GL_NV_pixel_data_range

GL_NV_point_sprite

GL_NV_primitive_restart

GL_NV_register_combiners

GL_NV_register_combiners2

GL_NV_texgen_reflection

GL_NV_texture_compression_vtc

GL_NV_texture_env_combine4

GL_NV_texture_expand_normal

GL_NV_texture_rectangle

GL_NV_texture_shader

GL_NV_texture_shader2

GL_NV_texture_shader3

GL_NV_vertex_array_range

GL_NV_vertex_array_range2

GL_NV_vertex_program

GL_NV_vertex_program1_1

GL_NV_vertex_program2

GL_NVX_ycrcb

GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap

GL_SGIS_texture_lod

GL_SGIX_depth_texture

GL_SGIX_shadow

GL_WIN_swap_hint

WGL_EXT_swap_control

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #3by selden » 10.01.2004, 03:55

You neglected to mention the size and shape of the image you're using for the rings.

Don't forget that textures must be a power of two on a side and Ring images must have a width that is less than or equal to the size of your card's texture buffer.

In your case, 4096x2 would be the maximum width and minimum height.

Also, its alpha channel must have a maximum value (255) wherever you want to see opaque rings. Where the alpha channel is 0, the rings will be completely transparent (invisible).

Does this help?
Selden

Guest

Post #4by Guest » 11.01.2004, 00:17

after i changed it from 8192x2 to 4096x2 it completely mess up the texture. there was no transparency at all.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #5by selden » 11.01.2004, 00:46

You have to use a paint program or graphics utility which preserves the Alpha (transparency) channel while it's scaling the image.

Alternatively, you can break the image file into separate files. One file would contain the Alpha channel, the other file would contain the main picture. Scale them separately. Then put them back together.

(I'd probably do the second, using either NetPBM or ImageMagick utilities; ImageMagick can do it either way.)
Selden

granthutchison
Developer
Posts: 1863
Joined: 21.11.2002
With us: 22 years

Post #6by granthutchison » 11.01.2004, 02:25

Or you could just download a 4k ring texture directly from Jens' site at http://home.arcor.de/jimpage/saturn.html

Grant

Guest

Post #7by Guest » 12.01.2004, 23:02

thankyou grant


Return to “Bugs”