Celestia 1.7.0 Development Thread
-
Topic authoronetwothree
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 1 month
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
What is the procedure for installing content now the the content sub module has been removed. I built f15443b and copied the content folder into the root after a git clone but no content gets installed with make install command. This was using Linux.
Added after 51 minutes 31 seconds:
Ok. I see that the content folder needs to be built and installed separately. I did notice a problem with Spice though. The lib doesn't get install. It is built and is in the thirdparty/Spice folder but I had to install in manually.
I'll try building the windows version tonight. I may be able to create an installer for content since this now separate. But I think I'll have to build an installer for content minus the textures/hires folder. I'm going to try and build an installer just for that folder. So to install Celestia on Windows, there will be 3 installer folders if I succeed. I'll try this after work today on tomorrow.
Added after 3 minutes 8 seconds:
I noticed that the hires folder is 152 mb. That is slightly larger than my older installer so hopefully it will work.
Added after 51 minutes 31 seconds:
Ok. I see that the content folder needs to be built and installed separately. I did notice a problem with Spice though. The lib doesn't get install. It is built and is in the thirdparty/Spice folder but I had to install in manually.
I'll try building the windows version tonight. I may be able to create an installer for content since this now separate. But I think I'll have to build an installer for content minus the textures/hires folder. I'm going to try and build an installer just for that folder. So to install Celestia on Windows, there will be 3 installer folders if I succeed. I'll try this after work today on tomorrow.
Added after 3 minutes 8 seconds:
I noticed that the hires folder is 152 mb. That is slightly larger than my older installer so hopefully it will work.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
Unfortunately, the installer for celestia-win 1.7.0 deleted existing Celestia file associations for .cel and .celx filetypes along with the CEL:// URL browser association but did not replace them with updated associations linked to celestia-win.exe.
(I installed celestia-win 1.7.0 in C:\\MyPrograms\Celestia, in case that matters. It shouldn't. I do that to avoid the restrictions that Win10 puts on accesses to its "Program Files" directories.)
I re-installed Celestia v1.6.1 to get the associations back, using the installer that's, fortunately, still on SourceForge. FWIW, I noticed that it's still getting hundreds of downloads per week.
Renaming celestia-win.exe to celestia.exe let those original associations communicate successfully with the running copy of v1.7.0.
I was delighted to discover that Lua v5.1 is being used.
Here's the script I used to detect the versions of Lua and Celestia:
(I installed celestia-win 1.7.0 in C:\\MyPrograms\Celestia, in case that matters. It shouldn't. I do that to avoid the restrictions that Win10 puts on accesses to its "Program Files" directories.)
I re-installed Celestia v1.6.1 to get the associations back, using the installer that's, fortunately, still on SourceForge. FWIW, I noticed that it's still getting hundreds of downloads per week.
Renaming celestia-win.exe to celestia.exe let those original associations communicate successfully with the running copy of v1.7.0.
I was delighted to discover that Lua v5.1 is being used.
Here's the script I used to detect the versions of Lua and Celestia:
Code: Select all
luaVersion=_VERSION
luaRelease=_RELEASE
if (not luaRelease) then
luaRelease="lua Release is undefined"
end
luaJIT_Version=_LUAJIT_VERSION
if (not luaJIT_Version) then
luaJIT_Version="lua JIT Version is undefined"
end
if type(celestia['version']) == 'function' then
celVersion=celestia:version()
else
celVersion="celestia:version is undefined"
end
celestia:print(luaVersion.."\n"..luaRelease.."\n"..luaJIT_Version.."\nCelestia "..celVersion.."\n", 5.0, -1, 0, 0, 0)
wait(5)
Selden
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
That probably means I need to copy the original .iss file registry settings because this was done on the fly and with the default script produced by the inno wizard.
The windows registry is a very important part of that operating system which I am not too familiar with. The last installer I provided had the registry code that was copied from the original celestia.iss file in the master. This installers registry's code was automatically generated by the inno wizard.
The new changes break the win ui. I can build and install the content folder with Linux but windows fails to build anything. The only thing it installs is cmake files. With Linux I was able to build and install the content folder. The only thig that got built was po files but, at quick glance, models textures, data, etc. was installed into a workable folder. Windows doesn't do this. I needed to copy and paste the needed files.
Added after 7 hours 14 minutes:
To get celestia to start I have to manually paste the data folder into the root folder. To see any content, the texture folder must also be manually installed manually and probably all the other "content" files.
Added after 4 hours 37 minutes:
The inno wizard created these registry entries. I associated .cel and .celx in one of input windows. But maybe I should have entered *.cel and *.celx. If I ever build another installer I'll try that and if it doesn't work I'll copy the registry entries from the original script. But the original script is so outdated that.....
Since there were major changes that broke the build I'll have to wait until it gets fixed.
The windows registry is a very important part of that operating system which I am not too familiar with. The last installer I provided had the registry code that was copied from the original celestia.iss file in the master. This installers registry's code was automatically generated by the inno wizard.
The new changes break the win ui. I can build and install the content folder with Linux but windows fails to build anything. The only thing it installs is cmake files. With Linux I was able to build and install the content folder. The only thig that got built was po files but, at quick glance, models textures, data, etc. was installed into a workable folder. Windows doesn't do this. I needed to copy and paste the needed files.
Added after 7 hours 14 minutes:
To get celestia to start I have to manually paste the data folder into the root folder. To see any content, the texture folder must also be manually installed manually and probably all the other "content" files.
Added after 4 hours 37 minutes:
selden wrote:Unfortunately, the installer for celestia-win 1.7.0 deleted existing Celestia file associations for .cel and .celx filetypes along with the CEL:// URL browser association but did not replace them with updated associations linked to celestia-win.exe.
(I installed celestia-win 1.7.0 in C:\\MyPrograms\Celestia, in case that matters. It shouldn't. I do that to avoid the restrictions that Win10 puts on accesses to its "Program Files" directories.)
I re-installed Celestia v1.6.1 to get the associations back, using the installer that's, fortunately, still on SourceForge. FWIW, I noticed that it's still getting hundreds of downloads per week.
Renaming celestia-win.exe to celestia.exe let those original associations communicate successfully with the running copy of v1.7.0.
I was delighted to discover that Lua v5.1 is being used.
Here's the script I used to detect the versions of Lua and Celestia:Code: Select all
luaVersion=_VERSION
luaRelease=_RELEASE
if (not luaRelease) then
luaRelease="lua Release is undefined"
end
luaJIT_Version=_LUAJIT_VERSION
if (not luaJIT_Version) then
luaJIT_Version="lua JIT Version is undefined"
end
if type(celestia['version']) == 'function' then
celVersion=celestia:version()
else
celVersion="celestia:version is undefined"
end
celestia:print(luaVersion.."\n"..luaRelease.."\n"..luaJIT_Version.."\nCelestia "..celVersion.."\n", 5.0, -1, 0, 0, 0)
wait(5)
The inno wizard created these registry entries. I associated .cel and .celx in one of input windows. But maybe I should have entered *.cel and *.celx. If I ever build another installer I'll try that and if it doesn't work I'll copy the registry entries from the original script. But the original script is so outdated that.....
Since there were major changes that broke the build I'll have to wait until it gets fixed.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Happy New Year to as well.john71 wrote:cartrite wrote:If I ever build another installer
Please don't scare us lol. Your work is really appreciated.
Happy New Year!
Added after 26 minutes 11 seconds:
These last few weeks have been trying with this program. And now it is broken again. I refer all to this. https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/issues/1199. I'm just ready to give up. I'm tired. Old. Dazed. And Confused. Led Zepplin
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I built commit e4f7df9. It compiled. But the windows build system is broken. It doesn't build the Spice lib anymore, all the files get installed everywhere. Everywhwere they are not supposed to be. It is a mess. With Linux there was a slight problem with Spice, I had to manually install the lib into /usr/local/lib64. I can't build another installer unless these issues are fixed. Dead in the water.
Added after 38 minutes 22 seconds:
The linux build system still works. Except the spice lib.so is not installed. I must do it manually. I'll look at the windows problem. Maybe I'll see something that changed.
When I find the time.
Added after 5 minutes 25 seconds:
Is this code even tested before a commit?
Added after 38 minutes 22 seconds:
The linux build system still works. Except the spice lib.so is not installed. I must do it manually. I'll look at the windows problem. Maybe I'll see something that changed.
When I find the time.
Added after 5 minutes 25 seconds:
Is this code even tested before a commit?
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
I think it is a font issue.
Maybe similar to this one:
https://www.askvg.com/fix-unknown-characters-or-vertical-rectangles-are-showing-in-place-of-metro-icons-in-windows-8-start-screen-and-login-screen/
Added after 1 hour 7 minutes:
I deleted all the res...dll files (except the uk version), but no change.
Maybe similar to this one:
https://www.askvg.com/fix-unknown-characters-or-vertical-rectangles-are-showing-in-place-of-metro-icons-in-windows-8-start-screen-and-login-screen/
Added after 1 hour 7 minutes:
I deleted all the res...dll files (except the uk version), but no change.
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I am uploading another installer. This one should fix file and url associations. I do see a slight problem though. These associations are connected to celestia-win. I can't see a way of doing this for both celestia-qt and celestia-win. Unless I provide 2 installers. One for win and one for qt. If both are installed this will probably create conflicts.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
- DaveBowman2001
- Posts: 819
- Joined: 06.07.2018
- Age: 24
- With us: 6 years 4 months
- Location: Manila, Philippines
(Moved from Celestia 1.7.0 Windows Installer thread...)
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS VERSION! When I installed this, version 1.6.2 was running at the time, so I made a comparison screenshot showcasing the upgrade changes between the two...
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS VERSION! When I installed this, version 1.6.2 was running at the time, so I made a comparison screenshot showcasing the upgrade changes between the two...
"Open the pod-bay doors HAL"
"I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that"
Spacecrafts Addon Developer since 2018
Celestia Versions: 1.7.8 (Mobile), 1.6.4 and 1.7.0 (Windows)
"I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that"
Spacecrafts Addon Developer since 2018
Celestia Versions: 1.7.8 (Mobile), 1.6.4 and 1.7.0 (Windows)
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Have you tried the hires files? At first glance, I noticed a vast improvement while the earth rotates. Something about the clouds. They seem like they are much higher. With movement. Like almost real. Like you can fly through them
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
- DaveBowman2001
- Posts: 819
- Joined: 06.07.2018
- Age: 24
- With us: 6 years 4 months
- Location: Manila, Philippines
The clouds seem normal to me...albeit too diffuse to see from the surface I think:
Added after 14 minutes 23 seconds:
Jan Stegehuis's Spacecraft Go-to script doesn't work on Celestia 1.7.0
Added after 14 minutes 23 seconds:
Jan Stegehuis's Spacecraft Go-to script doesn't work on Celestia 1.7.0
"Open the pod-bay doors HAL"
"I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that"
Spacecrafts Addon Developer since 2018
Celestia Versions: 1.7.8 (Mobile), 1.6.4 and 1.7.0 (Windows)
"I'm sorry Dave, I'm afraid I can't do that"
Spacecrafts Addon Developer since 2018
Celestia Versions: 1.7.8 (Mobile), 1.6.4 and 1.7.0 (Windows)
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I'll look into it. But this may have to do with some code change that happened since the version that works.
The clouds are best seen from space. I don't think anyone created a cloud texture that can be viewed from the ground. Maybe someday.
The clouds are best seen from space. I don't think anyone created a cloud texture that can be viewed from the ground. Maybe someday.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
cartrite wrote:I'll look into it. But this may have to do with some code change that happened since the version that works.
The clouds are best seen from space. I don't think anyone created a cloud texture that can be viewed from the ground. Maybe someday.
Clouds can (and should) be seen from the surface. 128k cloud textures provide a realistic cloudy sky from the surface, with perfect sunsets. it works in 1.6.1 and 1.6.2.2.
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
With the linux version of celestia-qt the script crashes celestia due to some syntax error. With celesti-win it open celestia and does travel with shift g but nothing gets printed. No information is displayed. It does seem to be broken. Probably needs to be updated.
A 128 k cloud map would probably look ok from the surface. The biggest one I ever used was a 32k.
I did notice a problem with celestia-qt in the installer. It doesn't open any script. .cel or .celx. Says they are invalid file types. Not sure what's going on there. It doesn't seem to have anything to do with file associations. I uninstalled the program and it still won't run scripts from the project folder. Seems that running scripts with celestia-qt is broken. The linux version of qt works. Just won't run the got spacecraft script. With windows, I'm using the vcpkg luajit.
Added after 40 minutes 22 seconds:
Upon further investigation, it has to do with the File menu in celestia-qt windows version. In it there is an entry for OpenScript which opens the scripts folder. This way the scripts run as expected. Under that entry is Scripts with an arrow that creates a popup with all the scripts from the scripts folder. Clicking on one of these brings up an error message Invalid filetype.
A 128 k cloud map would probably look ok from the surface. The biggest one I ever used was a 32k.
I did notice a problem with celestia-qt in the installer. It doesn't open any script. .cel or .celx. Says they are invalid file types. Not sure what's going on there. It doesn't seem to have anything to do with file associations. I uninstalled the program and it still won't run scripts from the project folder. Seems that running scripts with celestia-qt is broken. The linux version of qt works. Just won't run the got spacecraft script. With windows, I'm using the vcpkg luajit.
Added after 40 minutes 22 seconds:
Upon further investigation, it has to do with the File menu in celestia-qt windows version. In it there is an entry for OpenScript which opens the scripts folder. This way the scripts run as expected. Under that entry is Scripts with an arrow that creates a popup with all the scripts from the scripts folder. Clicking on one of these brings up an error message Invalid filetype.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
Topic authoronetwothree
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 1 month
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
I did notice something else today. Although Spice files are not built with windows anymore and a thirdparty folder is not added to the build folder which is where I used to copy Spicelib.dll from, a cspice.dll is added to the Installer. So someone who downloaded the installer should test to see if cspice is working. I have no experience with cspice. So it will take time to learn how to test it myself.
Added after 22 seconds:
It might be working.
Added after 22 seconds:
It might be working.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4