linux compilation

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
Mira
Posts: 5
Joined: 28.12.2016
With us: 7 years 10 months

linux compilation

Post #1by Mira » 29.12.2016, 16:51

Sorry from my Google English !

I want to compile Celestia to see the state of the software, because i want to contribute !

I'm on ubuntu 16.10 - 64

I get the github source a i try to compile it with autotools. I hate autotools so I'm not biased. :biggrin:

./autoconf
aclocal
./automake

I skip all warning a i have:

Code: Select all

configure.ac:98: error: required file 'admin/ltmain.sh' not found
configure.ac:83: error: required file 'config.h.in' not found
src/celengine/Makefile.am:9: warning: source file '$(top_srcdir)/thirdparty/glew/src/glew.c' is in a subdirectory,
src/celengine/Makefile.am:9: but option 'subdir-objects' is disabled
src/celengine/Makefile.am:9: warning: source file '$(top_srcdir)/thirdparty/curveplot/src/curveplot.cpp' is in a subdirectory,
src/celengine/Makefile.am:9: but option 'subdir-objects' is disabled


I try ./configure --with-glut and i have :

Code: Select all

configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: error: cannot find input file: `Makefile.in'


Anyone can say me who compiling the sources ?

Added after 6 hours 23 minutes:
I have found a solution !

This following standard command
autoconf
aclocal
automake
./configure --with ....

create this error.

Code: Select all

configure.ac:98: error: required file 'admin/ltmain.sh' not found
configure.ac:83: error: required file 'config.h.in' not found


I found a post that explain why : https://www.gnu.org/software/automake/manual/html_node/Error-required-file-ltmain_002esh-not-found.html

I write this following lines :

autoreconf
libtoolize
autoconf
automake
./configure --with-glut

And it works !

I have a makefile, so I can start the process to compile the sources. :smile:

The process failed but this is another story.

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months

Post #2by John Van Vliet » 30.12.2016, 08:28

use the QT4 "celestia.pro" file for QT Creator and compile with that

the m4 macros and some autotools code needs to be updated

this stopped working on the current SVN pull last year

Code: Select all

autoreconf -v -i

./configure --prefix=/DATA/SUSE --with-lua --with-qt --with-cspice-dir=/DATA/NGT/cspice

make -j4 && make install


this should work

Code: Select all

mkdir BUILD
cd BUILD
qmake ../


( use qmake or qmake-4 depending on your "alternatives" list

but FIRST install libpng 12
and Point qmake to use that version
i have not YET added the png16 patch to my github tree

Topic author
Mira
Posts: 5
Joined: 28.12.2016
With us: 7 years 10 months

Post #3by Mira » 30.12.2016, 10:50

Thanks !!!

I will try it now.
I'm sorry, i need assistance.

I install qmake, libpng on ubuntu 16.10 64bits.

I try

Code: Select all

mkdir build
cd build
qmake ../


Nothing seems to happen but a makefile was created

Code: Select all

ls Celestia/build/
Makefile  moc  obj  rcc  src


i try make but i get this error:

Code: Select all

make: ***  no rules to make  src/celestia/qt/data/celestia.desktop.sh 


What did I miss?

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months

Post #4by John Van Vliet » 31.12.2016, 08:50

for Linux users i just updated the git page i have

this builds with
gcc 4.8
qmake-qt4
libpng16
LUA 5.1
CSPICE
AND with autotools
https://github.com/JohnVV/MyCelestiaBuild

install the naif cspice ( if used i RECOMMEND IT )
http://naif.jpl.nasa.gov/naif/toolkit_C.html

edit the "celestia.pro" to point to your spice install
-- manual install !!!

Code: Select all

mkdir BUILD
cd BUILD
qmake-qt4 ../


or
-- still have to manually add the "celestia.desktop" file by hand

Code: Select all

autoreconf -v -i

./configure --prefix=/usr --with-lua --with-qt --with-cspice-dir=/YourInstallLocation/NGT/cspice

make
su
make install



.

permaneub
Posts: 2
Joined: 29.12.2016
With us: 7 years 10 months

Post #5by permaneub » 01.01.2017, 10:51

Hi John,
Your instructions work fine for building on Ubuntu 16.04,
all I had to do was install the QT4 build tools with:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install qt4-dev-tools libqt4-dev


cheers


Return to “Bugs”