Depth sorting bug

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Depth sorting bug

Post #1by PlutonianEmpire » 25.12.2010, 21:49

I was remaking a video I made for YouTube, and I found a depth sorting bug:

depthsortbug.jpg


The Earth appears as if it's in front of Plutonium's rings, even though it's actually behind them:

depthsort2.jpg


Here's the SSC for Plutonium:

Code: Select all

"Plutonium" "Sol" {
   Texture "saturn.jpg"
   Radius 32584.3794
   Mass 34.667264
   Oblateness 0.02

   Atmosphere {
      Height 320
      Lower [ 0.00 0.00 1.00 ]
      Upper [ 0.00 0.00 0.20 ]
      Sky [ 0.00 0.00 0.10 ]
      Mie 0.001
      MieAssymetry -0.30
      Rayleigh [ 0.001 0.0025 0.006 ]
      MieScaleHeight 20
   }

   EllipticalOrbit
   {
   Period       1000703.800
   SemiMajorAxis  10000.000
   Eccentricity       0.999990
   Inclination        0.00325 # 0.00325 makes it impact Earth, 0.30325 makes it pass Earth
   AscendingNode    180.000
   LongOfPericenter 121.29875 # 121.29875 makes it impact Earth, 121.09875 makes it pass Earth
        LongitudeNode      0.000
   Epoch        2457888.5000
   }

   RotationPeriod          18.000
   Obliquity               26.000
   EquatorAscendingNode   85.3000
   RotationOffset      226.4925

   Albedo           0.430

   Rings {
      Inner   40032.60
      Outer   96771.53
      Texture "saturn-rings.png"
   }
}


And the url for that location in Celestia:

cel://Follow/Sol:Earth:Moon/2017-06-15T ... rc=0&ver=3
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Re: Depth sorting bug

Post #2by PlutonianEmpire » 17.02.2011, 17:15

Found another depth sorting bug.

Comet tail appears in front of earth, even though it is behind it, when comets get a certain distance away, determined by which computer you use.
depthproblem5.jpg


When I turn orbits on, the tail appears in front of the orbit, but not the planet.
depthproblem6.jpg


The comet that causes the problem:
dinokiller.zip


And the URL for the glitch: cel://Follow/Sol:Earth/2012-06-19T11:22 ... rc=0&ver=3

Do I need to post some sort of error log? If so which log, and how do I get that log?
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Depth sorting bug

Post #3by selden » 17.02.2011, 17:46

This kind of bug doesn't generate any log entries. Celestia has always had problems depth sorting translucent objects :(

It might help to know which version of Celestia you're using. (1.6.0, 1.6.1, svn r????)
(sigs aren't always up to date; and when you update your sig after upgrading, it won't be right for this particular bug)
Selden

Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1374
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 40
With us: 20 years 2 months
Location: MinneSNOWta
Contact:

Re: Depth sorting bug

Post #4by PlutonianEmpire » 17.02.2011, 19:02

selden wrote:This kind of bug doesn't generate any log entries. Celestia has always had problems depth sorting translucent objects :(

It might help to know which version of Celestia you're using. (1.6.0, 1.6.1, svn r????)
(sigs aren't always up to date; and when you update your sig after upgrading, it won't be right for this particular bug)
Ok.

I was able to replicate both bugs on two laptops.

1st laptop: HP Pavilion dv6815m laptop, 1 GB NVIDIA Geforce Go 7150m graphics, 2 GHz AMD Turion 64 Mobile Tech TL-60 processor, 3 GB RAM, Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit Service Pack 2. Celestia 1.6.0 official release.

2nd Laptop: HP HDX 16-1375DX laptop, NVIDIA GeForce GT 130M 1 GB shared graphics, Intel Centrino Core2 Duo P7550 @ 2.26 GHz and 2.27 GHz, 4 GB RAM, Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit Service Pack 1. Celestia 1.6.0 official release.

On laptop 1, the comet tail bug starts when it is about 6 million KM away. On laptop 2, it starts when the comet is 2.5 KM away.

Does this help at least a little bit?
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10192
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 22 years 2 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Depth sorting bug

Post #5by selden » 17.02.2011, 21:37

Well, I'm seeing the same problem on my system:

2GB 1.86GHz Core2Duo 6300; WinXP SP3 x32
256MB Nvidia NVS 290, Forceware v191.78
Celestia from svn r5136

so it is not yet "fixed in next release" :(
Selden


Return to “Bugs”