Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 8 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #21by t00fri » 11.08.2010, 20:58

Chris wrote:* Every version of qmake that I've tried on Mac and Windows adds "celestia/qt/ui" to the header search path. Obviously, the ui/ prefix is unnecessary.

If this is generally so then this seems like a sensible argument.

Fridger

ADDED: Indeed implementing your fixes for my chosen build directory = <celestia>\src also works for Windows. I suppose the reason is simply the statements in celestia.pro

UI_HEADERS_DIR = celestia/qt/ui
UI_SOURCES_DIR = celestia/qt/ui

The general option of shadow builds via QtCreator opens up the nice possibility to collect ALL
Qt-Celestia builds (Win, Mac and Linux) under ONE shadow directory that is outside the source path.

My variant, simply used a particular shadow directory, namely <celestia>/src. Also in this case the entire compile output is found in the dirs src/release, src/debug etc and thus is analogously out of the way.

So why don't you indeed commit your fix, which makes it easier to do further examinations in other OS.
I don't have Linux available right now, but the (graphical) VNC connection from my laptop to my office machine is fast and thus most convenient for remote Linux tests (amazing! ).
Image

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #22by John Van Vliet » 12.08.2010, 04:37

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 19.10.2013, 23:07, edited 1 time in total.

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 22 years 10 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #23by chris » 12.08.2010, 19:46

t00fri wrote:
Chris wrote:* Every version of qmake that I've tried on Mac and Windows adds "celestia/qt/ui" to the header search path. Obviously, the ui/ prefix is unnecessary.

If this is generally so then this seems like a sensible argument.

Fridger

ADDED: Indeed implementing your fixes for my chosen build directory = <celestia>\src also works for Windows. I suppose the reason is simply the statements in celestia.pro

UI_HEADERS_DIR = celestia/qt/ui
UI_SOURCES_DIR = celestia/qt/ui

The general option of shadow builds via QtCreator opens up the nice possibility to collect ALL
Qt-Celestia builds (Win, Mac and Linux) under ONE shadow directory that is outside the source path.

My variant, simply used a particular shadow directory, namely <celestia>/src. Also in this case the entire compile output is found in the dirs src/release, src/debug etc and thus is analogously out of the way.

So why don't you indeed commit your fix, which makes it easier to do further examinations in other OS.
I don't have Linux available right now, but the (graphical) VNC connection from my laptop to my office machine is fast and thus most convenient for remote Linux tests (amazing! ).

I've committed the fixes... If it ends up breaking Linux, I'll send you some beers!

--Chris

Topic author
Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #24by Guckytos » 15.08.2010, 15:20

Okay,

this is definitely a layer 8 problem, that I have. :oops: I hope you bear with me and help me smarten up.

So, I set up a new VM and installed in it:
* MSVC++ 2008 Express edition
* MS SDK for Windows 7 and .Net 3.5
* Installed all the latest updates offered from MS
* Intalled the Qt SDK WITHOUT MinGW
* Got a new SVN version

Fridger is right, you still have to copy the correct qmake.conf from Qt/4.x.y/mkspecs/win32-<your MS compiler>/qmake.conf to Qt/4.x.y/mkspecs/default.
In my case, this was from "win32-msvc2008"
Question: Only copy "qmake.conf" or "qmake.conf" + "qplatformdefs.h"?
Seems not to make a difference in the error I encounter.

And I used Qt Creator to open the projectfile and then set it to build.

Here is how my Qt Project folder looks like after this is done:
Qt-new_msvc.png


Okay and now here is the resulting errors. Quite different to before.
Qt-new.txt.zip

Qt-output.png


And the folder structure:
folder-structure.png


Regards,

Christian

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 8 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #25by t00fri » 16.08.2010, 13:24

chris wrote:... If it ends up breaking Linux, I'll send you some beers!

--Chris

Chris,

no need as it seems ;-). Using VNC, I meanwhile compiled on my OpenSuSE 11.1 Linux installation in the office the latest SVN rev. 5044 (that includes your fixes). The Qt version was 4.6.2. I did it both directly via

'qmake celestia.pro config=release && make' in the directory <celestia>/src,

and via QtCreator 1.3.1 in the shadow directory <celestia>/Qt-build.

Both worked fine. Still to be tested QtConfig 2.0.

Fridger

PS: Not to be forgotten: without your patch it also worked fine (since years) ;-)
Image

Topic author
Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Success building Qt on Windows!

Post #26by Guckytos » 24.08.2010, 14:45

Finally!

I was able to build Celestia-Qt under Windows!!

So, for all those who also want to try and are not really sure how to do it, here is how I got it to work:

First: follow the advice here http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/Development/Win32_platform and install all these.
Second: go to the Qt download website http://qt.nokia.com/downloads
Third now get these:
Qt libraries 4.6.3 for Windows (VS 2008, 194 MB)
Qt Creator 2.0.0 Binary for Windows (46 MB)

Do NOT get the SDK!! I tried that often enough and never succeded in compiling.

Now install the Qt Libraries.
Then install the Qt Creator (You do NOT need to install MinGW!!)

Get the SVN repository of Celestia, see wikibook for details.

Then start Qt Creator, select "open project" navigate to "\celestia\src\celestia.pro" and open it.

Then set the build to "Release", check that the folder "projects" on the left side of Qt Creator looks like this:
Qt-success-properties.png


And start building.

That's all of the guide!

Just for information: I got these 18 warnings during build. Are these anything serious?
Qt-success-warnings.png


And the graphical experience was quite strange, after I started the freshly compiled "Celestia-Qt.exe". But that could be due to me running it within a virtual machine. So I am not sure if they are "normal" or not.
I could see most of the times the browser windows, but the Celestia display of stars always went away (wasn't displayed) when I moved the mouse around. Switching to full screen helped a bit, but only as long as I didn't activate any function.
Am a bit puzzled.
Celestia-Qt.png


Regards,

Guckytos

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2944
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #27by John Van Vliet » 24.08.2010, 21:12

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 19.10.2013, 23:06, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 17
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #28by Fenerit » 29.08.2010, 22:09

Built celestia-qt.exe with Qt libraries 4.7.0 and relevant Qt creator. This version doesn't add the enviroment path of the ..\qt\4.7.0-rc1\bin\qmake.exe, thus I've add it manually:

Image

(pressing the "rebuild" button does change the debugging helper sign in green "V")

Then, I've compiled. I've got the same 18 advertisements of Christian. Pasted the 4 qt DLLs in the main folder and start Celestia. All seem to work fine, except for the location's tab: is empty (is that a work in progress?).

Image

Moreover, when I try to move such tabbed window, Celestia freeze; I may press ctrl+alt+canc, show the taskbar without to do nothing, close it and Celestia go normally.
BTW, is just one my impression or Celestia-qt is much more smooth and fast than the usual?
Never at rest.
Massimo

Topic author
Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #29by Guckytos » 30.08.2010, 08:14

Fenerit wrote:Built celestia-qt.exe with Qt libraries 4.7.0 and relevant Qt creator. This version doesn't add the enviroment path of the ..\qt\4.7.0-rc1\bin\qmake.exe, thus I've add it manually:

(pressing the "rebuild" button does change the debugging helper sign in green "V")

Then, I've compiled. I've got the same 18 advertisements of Christian. Pasted the 4 qt DLLs in the main folder and start Celestia.

Hi Massimo,

good to hear that you could also build Qt under Windows. Just found that I forgot a small step in my description.

I added Qt to the PATH environment of Windows itself. (WIndows XP: Start -> Control Center -> System -> Tab "Enhanced" -> "Environment variables" or something like that -> "System variables" -> Path)

Which 4 DLLs did you paste from where? I just hit the problem when trying my compiled version on another PC that it didn't find a DLL.

Where those 4 DLLs these (from Qt/4.6.3/bin)?
QtXmlPatterns4.dll
QtXmlPatternsD4.dll
QtXml4.dll
QtXmld4.dll

Best regards,

Guckytos

thisismyacct
Posts: 2
Joined: 28.08.2010
With us: 14 years 3 months

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #30by thisismyacct » 30.08.2010, 17:10

I am still having trouble building Celestia using open source Qt on Windows. From what I understand you need to use visual studio instead of that lightweight compiler in order to get it to work. I think most of my problem is not getting Qt setup properly. I've tried reinstalling it a number of times following advice I've seen around here and in this thread, but I'm still having a lot of trouble with it. Currently my Qt Creator lists nothing under the Tool Chain.. and I have no idea how I got it that way xD

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 17
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #31by Fenerit » 31.08.2010, 00:46

Guckytos wrote:
Fenerit wrote:Built celestia-qt.exe with Qt libraries 4.7.0 and relevant Qt creator. This version doesn't add the enviroment path of the ..\qt\4.7.0-rc1\bin\qmake.exe, thus I've add it manually:

(pressing the "rebuild" button does change the debugging helper sign in green "V")

Then, I've compiled. I've got the same 18 advertisements of Christian. Pasted the 4 qt DLLs in the main folder and start Celestia.

Hi Massimo,

good to hear that you could also build Qt under Windows. Just found that I forgot a small step in my description.

I added Qt to the PATH environment of Windows itself. (WIndows XP: Start -> Control Center -> System -> Tab "Enhanced" -> "Environment variables" or something like that -> "System variables" -> Path)

Which 4 DLLs did you paste from where? I just hit the problem when trying my compiled version on another PC that it didn't find a DLL.

Where those 4 DLLs these (from Qt/4.6.3/bin)?
QtXmlPatterns4.dll
QtXmlPatternsD4.dll
QtXml4.dll
QtXmld4.dll

Best regards,

Guckytos

The 4 DLL's are:
- Qtxml4.dll
- Qtcore4.dll
- Qtgui4.dll
- QtOpenGL4.dll

The last three are also for the CMOD utility http://www.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=15775&start=0 and are shipped with it. Nonetheless, try to search throught the qt dir. I target them because when I tried to start the builded celestia-qt.exe, a messagebox was tell me for the sequentially missing dll's (start -> missing dll -> paste -> start -> missing dll -> paste... etc. until go definitely)

thisismyacct wrote:I am still having trouble building Celestia using open source Qt on Windows. From what I understand you need to use visual studio instead of that lightweight compiler in order to get it to work. I think most of my problem is not getting Qt setup properly. I've tried reinstalling it a number of times following advice I've seen around here and in this thread, but I'm still having a lot of trouble with it. Currently my Qt Creator lists nothing under the Tool Chain.. and I have no idea how I got it that way xD

Do you have also the Microsoft SDK installed on your system?
Never at rest.
Massimo

thisismyacct
Posts: 2
Joined: 28.08.2010
With us: 14 years 3 months

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #32by thisismyacct » 31.08.2010, 02:05

Yeah, I followed some of the instructions posted in p2 on this thread and no dice. Microsoft SDK, QT libraries and creator, and C++ express. A few nights ago I tried compiling Qt myself because someone had mentioned that it is one way to get some of the initial config working properly.

I managed to get it to display visual studio as the tool set at that point but it was throwing some error.. and after a couple of hours I couldn't find any references to the error online so I ended up reinstalling it all using this thread's recommendations and now it won't even display anything as the tool set.

Topic author
Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #33by Guckytos » 31.08.2010, 08:42

thisismyacct wrote:Yeah, I followed some of the instructions posted in p2 on this thread and no dice. Microsoft SDK, QT libraries and creator, and C++ express. A few nights ago I tried compiling Qt myself because someone had mentioned that it is one way to get some of the initial config working properly.

I managed to get it to display visual studio as the tool set at that point but it was throwing some error.. and after a couple of hours I couldn't find any references to the error online so I ended up reinstalling it all using this thread's recommendations and now it won't even display anything as the tool set.

Hi,

as I know how frustrating that situation is (I only was able to get it working in the 4th or 5th try) here is some advice from me.

First could you please give us your system specs? This really helpful to narrow the search down.
Second, are you sure that the VisualStudio version is building correctly? (just to be sure that this tool chain is working correct).
Only then install the Qt framework.
Then install the Qt creator and add the link to the qmake from Qt to the PATH variable (drive:\Qt\4.6.3\bin)
Then open the Celestia .pro-file with creator and set it to build like shown in the pictures in my post.
If the build process gives you error messages, post the log here, so it is easier to figure out where there are problems.

Oh, and you have to be working as Admin I think to get it to compile correctly.

Best regards,

Guckytos

Topic author
Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 5 months
Location: Germany

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #34by Guckytos » 01.09.2010, 07:28

Fenerit wrote:
The 4 DLL's are:
- Qtxml4.dll
- Qtcore4.dll
- Qtgui4.dll
- QtOpenGL4.dll


Thanks Massimo,

now Qt-Celestia works fine on the other machine. As I had suspected the odd graphical behaviour came from the virtual machine graphics driver. On a real graphics card Qt runs fine. I have the feeling it is faster than the current version. Have to make some tests.

But the GUI of the Qt-version is (friendly speaking) way less then optimal (IMHO). But that is a point to be adressed in another thread, after I had time to learn to build it under Linux too and had time to play with Qt and the code.

Regards,

Guckytos

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 17
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: Could someone help me with Qt-Celestia?

Post #35by Fenerit » 05.09.2010, 23:46

Guckytos wrote:
...

But the GUI of the Qt-version is (friendly speaking) way less then optimal (IMHO). But that is a point to be adressed in another thread, after I had time to learn to build it under Linux too and had time to play with Qt and the code.

Regards,

Guckytos

Indeed, just the GUI is unstable. I've already collected some found issues.
Never at rest.
Massimo


Return to “Help Central”