Hi,
I have been having this problem with surface features in Celestia 1.5.1 and 1.6.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Here is a picture of the problem:
Surface Feature Problems
Re: Surface Feature Problems
Is that one of your own or an Addon published by someone else?
That kind of problem usually is caused by not specifying the correct orientation for the Mesh in its SSC definition.
Celestia v1.6.0 includes a new type of object which has an appropriate default orientation.
See http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/1 ... _Placement
That kind of problem usually is caused by not specifying the correct orientation for the Mesh in its SSC definition.
Celestia v1.6.0 includes a new type of object which has an appropriate default orientation.
See http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/1 ... _Placement
Selden
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
I think that this may be the model I did for version 1.4.1. It is still at the Celestia Motherlode. It has been obsolete since 1.5.0 came out. This is when I started modeling the whole planet. I used to have the newer versions on my websites but I no longer have the websites. I'll try to figure out and see if I can get it to work with 1.6.0 but that will take a while.
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
Re: Surface Feature Problems
The surface map is the Mars M46 16K DDS VT from the motherlode (by Jestr), and the addon is the chandor chasma 3D (by Boxx). It also happens with the Mars surface features addon by Jestr.
I will keep checking for updates on the surface features.
I will keep checking for updates on the surface features.
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
I see. This model looks a lot like the one I did, "Grand Canyon of Mars". But mine does the same thing that Chandor Chasma 3D does so don't download "Grand Canyon of Mars" and expect it to work any better. I'll see if I can get it working though.cacjardy wrote:The surface map is the Mars M46 16K DDS VT from the motherlode (by Jestr), and the addon is the chandor chasma 3D (by Boxx). It also happens with the Mars surface features addon by Jestr.
I will keep checking for updates on the surface features.
The Chandor Chasma 3D addon is much newer. Contact the author and maybe he will fix that one.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
Re: Surface Feature Problems
Thanks for the help. The site Selden listed had the answer. Just add SurfaceObject to the start of the file.
Cak.
UPDATE: This doesn't work with th Mars Surface Features addon, only with my own addons.
Cak.
UPDATE: This doesn't work with th Mars Surface Features addon, only with my own addons.
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
Do you mind posting a ssc file from one of your addons that you did get to work. I tried it out yesterday and all that happened was the model moved to a different part of the planet and was buried half way in the planet.
I worked on my addon, "Grand Canyon of Mars". The original ssc file looked like this.
When I change it to add SurfaceObject, the model moved west and was buried deeper in the planet.
When I changed LongLat to SurfacePosition, the ssc file is skipped.
The console log says that no valid orbit was found for object "valley".
I thought it's orbit was the same as the parent. Anyhow this is the file that is skipped.
I tried this with versions 4751 and 4831. Both skipped the ssc file for no valid orbit found.
cartrite
I worked on my addon, "Grand Canyon of Mars". The original ssc file looked like this.
Code: Select all
"valley" "Sol/Mars"
{
Mesh "valles524m.cmod"
Texture "vallesmarineris.png"
Radius 1220 #small
LongLat [ 291.75 -12.0 -255 ]
Albedo 0.150
}
When I change it to add SurfaceObject, the model moved west and was buried deeper in the planet.
When I changed LongLat to SurfacePosition, the ssc file is skipped.
The console log says that no valid orbit was found for object "valley".
I thought it's orbit was the same as the parent. Anyhow this is the file that is skipped.
Code: Select all
SurfaceObject "valley" "Sol/Mars"
{
Mesh "valles131m.cmod"
Texture "vallesmarineris.png"
Radius 1220 #small
SurfacePosition [ 291.75 -12.0 0.05 ]
Albedo 0.150
}
I tried this with versions 4751 and 4831. Both skipped the ssc file for no valid orbit found.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
Re: Surface Feature Problems
cartrite,
Where did you find a mention of SurfacePosition?
grep can't find the string SurfacePosition anywhere in Celestia's source code, so I don't think it's a valid orbit declaration. I think someone may have suggested it, but it was never implemented.
This should be equivalent:
FixedPosition { Planetographic [ 291.75 -12.0 -255 ] }
Where did you find a mention of SurfacePosition?
grep can't find the string SurfacePosition anywhere in Celestia's source code, so I don't think it's a valid orbit declaration. I think someone may have suggested it, but it was never implemented.
This should be equivalent:
FixedPosition { Planetographic [ 291.75 -12.0 -255 ] }
Selden
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
I seen it in Chris's examples in the Developers forum.
viewtopic.php?p=104427#p104427
I guess that never made into the code.
cartrite
viewtopic.php?p=104427#p104427
I guess that never made into the code.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
I can't get this to work with 1.6.0. I think that the way I oriented the model in Blender makes it impossible to orient the model in Celestia 1.6.0. I'm going to see if it can be deleted from the Celestia Motherlode.
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Posts: 1803
- Joined: 12.10.2007
- With us: 17 years 1 month
Re: Surface Feature Problems
cartrite wrote:I can't get this to work with 1.6.0. I think that the way I oriented the model in Blender makes it impossible to orient the model in Celestia 1.6.0. I'm going to see if it can be deleted from the Celestia Motherlode.
cartrite
It is now GONE my friend.
Thanks, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
- cartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Surface Feature Problems
Thank You.
Saved me from going to the store for another case of aspirin.
This model was obsolete anyway. It actually had 2 models. One had a half million triangles and got very slow frame rates. The other model is the same model that 3dMars has embedded. But 3dMars doesn't have the high resolution textures mapped to it.
cartrite
Saved me from going to the store for another case of aspirin.
This model was obsolete anyway. It actually had 2 models. One had a half million triangles and got very slow frame rates. The other model is the same model that 3dMars has embedded. But 3dMars doesn't have the high resolution textures mapped to it.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4