New coordinate grids features

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Avatar
Topic author
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years
Location: Montreal

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #21by Cham » 19.06.2008, 21:22

chris wrote:One last thing to consider is that Celestia can also show the ecliptic line. Should there be a separate key to toggle this? Or should it automatically be shown when the equatorial grid is active?

Personally, I think it should be toggled ON when the grid is also active.

Chris,

about the semi-colon ";", don't forget that ctrl-; (and shift-; for the same operation ??) is already used for another thing.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 20 years 7 months
Location: Germany

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #22by Guckytos » 21.06.2008, 17:53

Cham wrote:
chris wrote:One last thing to consider is that Celestia can also show the ecliptic line. Should there be a separate key to toggle this? Or should it automatically be shown when the equatorial grid is active?

Personally, I think it should be toggled ON when the grid is also active.

Chris,

about the semi-colon ";", don't forget that ctrl-; (and shift-; for the same operation ??) is already used for another thing.

Sorry for jumping into this discussion, but i am not sure if the "D" key is really such a good idea. But that is because of my own "pet" idea for a new assingment for the "D" key.
I already wrote that in another thread, see here.

Key remapping
Please remove the hardlink of "D" to run the demo script and attach it to "D"ecellerate.

Reason: On english keyboard layout you have the "A", "S" and "Z" key very near to each other, so it is easy to use them for "speed control".
On other keyboard layouts the "Z" key moves a lot further away. So by remapping the "D" key this would be an advantage on international keyboards. And it would even make sense in english:

* A: Accelerate
* S: Stop
* D: Decelerate

Best regards,

Guckytos

Avatar
Topic author
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years
Location: Montreal

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #23by Cham » 21.06.2008, 18:24

Maybe the keyboard map should be defined in the config file, so the user could change all the keyboard shortcuts he/she wants, in a similar way we can do it with the colors. Chris ?
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #24by chris » 21.06.2008, 20:24

Cham wrote:Maybe the keyboard map should be defined in the config file, so the user could change all the keyboard shortcuts he/she wants, in a similar way we can do it with the colors. Chris ?

I think the effort would be much better spent devising a good set of default keyboard bindings. Only after that task is complete would I want to devote time to implementing configurable keyboard controls.

--CHris

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #25by t00fri » 21.06.2008, 20:47

chris wrote:
Cham wrote:Maybe the keyboard map should be defined in the config file, so the user could change all the keyboard shortcuts he/she wants, in a similar way we can do it with the colors. Chris ?

I think the effort would be much better spent devising a good set of default keyboard bindings. Only after that task is complete would I want to devote time to implementing configurable keyboard controls.

--CHris

Right!!

Fridger
Image

Avatar
Topic author
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years
Location: Montreal

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #26by Cham » 24.06.2008, 02:05

I've edited Fridger's grids scripts, and apparently this one isn't working. Why ?

Code: Select all

-- Title: Activer/Desactiver la grille equatoriale

t = {} -- create table
t.equatorialgrid =    not celestia:getrenderflags().equatorialgrid
t.galacticgrid =    false
t.eclipticgrid =    false
t.horizontalgrid =    false

celestia:setrenderflags(t)

if celestia:getrenderflags().equatorialgrid then

celestia:print("Grille equatoriale activee", 5)
end
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #27by chris » 24.06.2008, 02:43

Cham wrote:I've edited Fridger's grids scripts, and apparently this one isn't working. Why ?

Code: Select all

-- Title: Activer/Desactiver la grille equatoriale

t = {} -- create table
t.equatorialgrid =    not celestia:getrenderflags().equatorialgrid
t.galacticgrid =    false
t.eclipticgrid =    false
t.horizontalgrid =    false

celestia:setrenderflags(t)

if celestia:getrenderflags().equatorialgrid then

celestia:print("Grille equatoriale activee", 5)
end

I think the problem is that 'equatorialgrid' is just 'grid' in celx scripting. It's inconsistent, but older scripts might break if the name were changed. It might be possible to add equatorialgrid as a synonym for grid. I'll see if that's possible without creating compatibility problems.

--Chris

Avatar
Topic author
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years
Location: Montreal

Re: New coordinate grids features

Post #28by Cham » 24.06.2008, 03:14

Ok, thanks, it works with this :

Code: Select all

t.grid =    not celestia:getrenderflags().grid
t.galacticgrid =    false
t.eclipticgrid =    false
t.horizontalgrid =    false
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Return to “Development”