I updated the katrina model at my web site to use clickable false. I noticed that there is a difference in the longitude for the model's location when I run the model on Linux using KDE. The difference is about 20 degrees. For Windows I need to use an offset of 277.5 and for Linux I need an offset of 257.5 to get the model to be at the same location.
cartrite
Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 10 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
cartrite wrote:I updated the katrina model at my web site to use clickable false. I noticed that there is a difference in the longitude for the model's location when I run the model on Linux using KDE. The difference is about 20 degrees. For Windows I need to use an offset of 277.5 and for Linux I need an offset of 257.5 to get the model to be at the same location.
cartrite
The math should be identical between platforms . . . Are you absolutely certainly everything else is identical in your setups on Windows and Linux?
--Chris
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
I really didn't "set up" anything. I use the same model with the same ssc file and it shows up in 2 different places. Windows shows it west of Florida. And KDE shows it east of Florida. I'm not sure what I could have "set up" to cause this. Compiler option?chris wrote:The math should be identical between platforms . . . Are you absolutely certainly everything else is identical in your setups on Windows and Linux?
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
Sorry,
Found the dif. EDIT:I have different solarsys.ssc files
Seems I use the line for KDE.
And I use for Windows.
cartrite
Found the dif. EDIT:I have different solarsys.ssc files
Seems I use the line
Code: Select all
CustomRotation "earth-p03lp"
And I use
Code: Select all
UniformRotation
{
Period 23.9344694
Inclination -23.4392911
MeridianAngle 280.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
}
cartrite
Last edited by cartrite on 06.04.2008, 18:03, edited 1 time in total.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 10 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
cartrite wrote:Sorry,
Found the dif.
Seems I use the linefor KDE.Code: Select all
CustomRotation "earth-p03lp"
And I usefor Windows.Code: Select all
UniformRotation
{
Period 23.9344694
Inclination -23.4392911
MeridianAngle 280.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
}
cartrite
Interesting . . . Even with this difference, the orientation of Earth shouldn't be 20 degrees off. Then again, the default UniformRotation in solarsys.ssc may be suspect--the same MeridianAngle has been used for a very long time. I recommend comparing the earth-p03lp CustomRotation to the iau-earth CustomRotation. For the most accuracy, the Earth orientation from the p03lp precession model needs to be coupled with a nutation theory and a better model for Universal Time.
--Chris
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
Chris,
The model uses an invisible box called earth2 to orient the model that uses thisSo in a way both are being used at the same time. Maybe this is messing things up?
Not that it should matter but I recently updated it to use to move it a little.
The code I posted the last time was the settings for earth from solarsys.ssc
cartrite
The model uses an invisible box called earth2 to orient the model that uses this
Code: Select all
RotationPeriod 23.9344694 # 23.93419
Obliquity -23.45
RotationOffset 280.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
Not that it should matter but I recently updated it to use
Code: Select all
RotationPeriod 23.9344694 # 23.93419
Obliquity -23.45
RotationOffset 277.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
The code I posted the last time was the settings for earth from solarsys.ssc
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 22 years 10 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
cartrite wrote:Chris,
The model uses an invisible box called earth2 to orient the model that uses thisSo in a way both are being used at the same time. Maybe this is messing things up?Code: Select all
RotationPeriod 23.9344694 # 23.93419
Obliquity -23.45
RotationOffset 280.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
Not that it should matter but I recently updated it to useto move it a little.Code: Select all
RotationPeriod 23.9344694 # 23.93419
Obliquity -23.45
RotationOffset 277.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
The code I posted the last time was the settings for earth from solarsys.ssc
I recommend placing the model in the Earth's body-fixed coordinate frame instead of trying to match the rotation. You can then give the Katrina model a fixed orientation within that body fixed frame, or use a uniform rotation to rotate about the eye within the frame.
--Chris
-
Topic authorcartrite
- Posts: 1978
- Joined: 15.09.2005
- With us: 19 years 2 months
- Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine
Re: Rotation Offset? Linux vs Windows
I'll have to look into that.
cartrite
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4