Continental-drift animations?

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
lpetrich
With us: 17 years 10 months

Continental-drift animations?

Post #1by lpetrich » 10.08.2006, 20:32

I wonder if it might be possible to implement something to display this in Celestia. This could be done by loading paleo-continent map textures and stepping through them.

Chris Scotese's site has several such maps, even if not in the most Celestia-friendly form (the larger ones use the Mollweide projection).

But such a display would likely require some way of getting user input for stepping through those textures.

scaddenp
With us: 20 years 10 months

Post #2by scaddenp » 10.08.2006, 21:52

Well being a geologist, I am interested, but many problems. I wonder whether celestia really is best platform for this or whether you want purpose built. A good one would need to be able to update against recognised plate databases (eg PLATES).
Celestia would have to do this a texture-swapping exercise. So do you
take snapshot textures from some reconstructions and morph them to
produce to your moving sequence? We have done this but you end up with
motions that are obviously wrong to experience eye unless you have a lot
of snapshots. There are very good programs for moving the plates continuously in time from database data. However, these show you the
plate boundaries and current coastlines, but hardly a texture of the planet
as it would like at a past time. What is missing is a texture-creator added
into the motion program that interpolates a texture from a database of
known constraints. Now that sounds a fun project but not one I have time
for. Building a the database of constraint data would be a major international
projec too.

Topic author
lpetrich
With us: 17 years 10 months

Post #3by lpetrich » 11.08.2006, 01:27