Nebulae in Celestia using sprites

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
LukeCEL
With us: 6 years 7 months

Nebulae in Celestia using sprites

Post #1by LukeCEL » 23.04.2020, 23:06

Hi everyone! I'm starting a thread about making nebulae in Celestia, using point sprites.

Before we start, I should mention that I am not an expert! I'm not a professional astronomer, physicist, or a mathematician. I'm just a hobbyist, and this is just my experience making these nebulae add-ons. I hope this thread becomes a place for people to learn and exchange information about making these things. I am also not the first person to do sprite models! I would say the pioneer of making sprite models is Cham, but other people have used sprites to wonderful effect (just look around the Forums).

Download Link

The finished add-ons, as well as ASCII cmods for viewing/experimenting, are all available here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qBvr56J4kmSBaiHAs4Yj3xKEUXQqTfv-?usp=sharing

Introduction: Why Sprites?

Broadly speaking, there are two ways to make nebula models in Celestia. You can use a polygon mesh, and you can use point sprites. In a polygon mesh, a texture is wrapped around a surface. This texture can be, say, an image of the nebulae. With point sprites, points are displayed in 3D space. The "sprite" part of point sprites means that a specific texture is rendered at each point, no matter what angle you are looking from. The important thing to note is that if the sprite texture is something that is perfectly symmetrical along all lines of symmetry, like a circle, then when you view the sprite it looks like a sphere. This is how sprites give you a "volumetric" effect.