model inside a model

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
fungun
Posts: 315
Joined: 30.07.2007
Age: 63
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Iowa, USA

model inside a model

Post #1by fungun » 13.08.2008, 23:40

I know you can put orbiting objects at an exact place by using MeanLongitude. Correct?
As per this post - http://www.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9581&start=255 (the pic of the spacedock). I want to put the model inside the spacedock as a seperate model. That way you could go inside and see the interior. The prob I am having is that it puts the 2nd (small ship) model around the midsection of the spacedock, not up in the docking section. Is there anything I can do to make this happen? You can go into the spacedock model but not in Celestia, you can only bump into it. Pic below.
Thanks
Tim

rthorvald
Posts: 1223
Joined: 20.10.2003
With us: 21 years 5 months
Location: Norway

Re: model inside a model

Post #2by rthorvald » 13.08.2008, 23:53

fungun wrote:Is there anything I can do to make this happen?

You can use LongLat instead of an Orbit declaration:

LongLat [0 0 0]
= LongLat [Longitude Latitude Distance-To-Surface-In-Kilometers]

Note that the distance to the surface is calculated from a sphere enclosing your model?s extremes. That means you may need to give it a negative value to place it where you want.

- rthorvald
Image

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: model inside a model

Post #3by chris » 14.08.2008, 00:02

fungun wrote:I know you can put orbiting objects at an exact place by using MeanLongitude. Correct?
As per this post - http://www.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9581&start=255 (the pic of the spacedock). I want to put the model inside the spacedock as a seperate model. That way you could go inside and see the interior. The prob I am having is that it puts the 2nd (small ship) model around the midsection of the spacedock, not up in the docking section. Is there anything I can do to make this happen? You can go into the spacedock model but not in Celestia, you can only bump into it. Pic below.

I'm not completely sure what you're asking, but it sounds like you want to position the second model so that it's fixed with respect to the spacedock. Is that right? If so, you probably want to use a BodyFixed reference frame and FixedPosition. Something like this:

Code: Select all

"Small Ship" "Sol/Spacedock"
{
    OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Spacedock" } }
    BodyFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Spacedock" } }
    FixedPosition [ 0 0 0 ]
    FixedRotation { }
    Mesh "smallship.cmod"
    Radius 0.01
}


The x, y, and z values for the FixedPosition are in kilometers. You'll obviously want to choose something other than 0 0 0, which will just have the effect of putting the small ship right in the center of the spacedock. Getting the right position will probably require some trial an error. You can turn on the 'body axes' reference mark (via the right click popup menu) for the spacedock so that you can at least see what the x, y, and z axes are.

--Chris

Topic author
fungun
Posts: 315
Joined: 30.07.2007
Age: 63
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Iowa, USA

Re: model inside a model

Post #4by fungun » 14.08.2008, 09:48

Oops sorry guys, I kinda forgot to mention I am still on v 1.4.1
Will these things still work? I don't remember seeing them in this version.
Thanks
Tim

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 20 years 2 months

Re: model inside a model

Post #5by ElChristou » 14.08.2008, 10:36

fungun wrote:Oops sorry guys, I kinda forgot to mention I am still on v 1.4.1
Will these things still work? I don't remember seeing them in this version.
Thanks
Tim

8O Don't be masochist! I recall you that Cartrite do the effort to provide some fresh builds to people who don't want/don't know how to bluid...
Image

Topic author
fungun
Posts: 315
Joined: 30.07.2007
Age: 63
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Iowa, USA

Re: model inside a model

Post #6by fungun » 15.08.2008, 20:41

Ok Ok
I went and got 1.5.1 and wow, I just spent 2 hours redoing the diffuse, ambient, ect on about half the models I use in Celestia. If I turned them towords the sun they went white out.
Back to the Spacedock. I tried the LatLong setting in the scc and got it where I wanted it, but alas it just won't work. When I rotated the model up or down, the ceiling/floor was transparent. When I rendered it outside of Celestia I didn't notice that. Probably because I could not rotate it once it was rendered. Oh well, I will just add another ship mesh to it as it's leaving the dock.
Thanks
Tim


Return to “Add-on development”