New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
I made a new model for the tectonic plates on Earth. The model is much more accurate that the previous one I made few days ago, and matches better the Earth texture without the oceans and match very well my volcanoes addon published some times ago. Some previews :
Two more previews and the addon itself in the next message (max 3 pictures per message only !?)
Two more previews and the addon itself in the next message (max 3 pictures per message only !?)
Last edited by Cham on 23.07.2008, 15:32, edited 2 times in total.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Two more previews and the zipped addon file :
And now the addon :
Data comes from :
Bird, Peter (2003) An updated digital model of plate boundaries, Geochemistry Geophysics Geosystems, 4(3), 1027.
See also this detailed page :
http://peterbird.name/publications/2003 ... PB2002.htm
The binary CMOD file is only 96 KB. I published the TEXT version (300 KB) so people could change the lines color easily.
Comments are welcome here.
The addon should be used in conjonction with a script, to toggle ON/OFF the model on the fly. Here's the script I'm using (from Vincent). The script is a permanent part of my start.celx file :
And now the addon :
Data comes from :
Bird, Peter (2003) An updated digital model of plate boundaries, Geochemistry Geophysics Geosystems, 4(3), 1027.
See also this detailed page :
http://peterbird.name/publications/2003 ... PB2002.htm
The binary CMOD file is only 96 KB. I published the TEXT version (300 KB) so people could change the lines color easily.
Comments are welcome here.
The addon should be used in conjonction with a script, to toggle ON/OFF the model on the fly. Here's the script I'm using (from Vincent). The script is a permanent part of my start.celx file :
Code: Select all
objects_t = {
"Sol/Earth/Tectonic Plates",
"Sol/Earth/America",
"Sol/Earth/Quebec",
"Sol/Protuberance",
etc...
}
for k, object in pairs(objects_t) do
obj = celestia:find(object)
obj:setvisible(false)
end
function toggleObj()
for k, object in pairs(objects_t) do
obj = celestia:find(object)
obj:setvisible(not obj:visible())
end
end
keyhandlers =
{
T = toggleObj
}
function handlekey(k)
handler = keyhandlers[k.char]
if (handler ~= nil) then
handler()
return true
else
return false
end
end
celestia:registereventhandler("key", handlekey)
Last edited by Cham on 23.07.2008, 17:19, edited 4 times in total.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Here's another preview :
See the nice match of the CMOD lines and the "cracks" on the texture.
See the nice match of the CMOD lines and the "cracks" on the texture.

"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
It's also interesting to make a comparison with the previous model I made few days ago. Here's a view : the "old" model is shown in red :
The "new" version is a smaller CMOD file while more accurate.
The "new" version is a smaller CMOD file while more accurate.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
- Posts: 1803
- Joined: 12.10.2007
- With us: 17 years 5 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Martin,
Looks great, but I have another one of my stupid questions here...
How does one install and/or modify this add-on so that it can be turned on or off?
Have tried to use Alternate textures without success, and I have been reduced to renaming the ssc file to a txt file in order to get the add-on NOT to be displayed.
Is there an easier way to do this that you are aware of? Anyone?
Thanks, Brain-Dead
Looks great, but I have another one of my stupid questions here...
How does one install and/or modify this add-on so that it can be turned on or off?
Have tried to use Alternate textures without success, and I have been reduced to renaming the ssc file to a txt file in order to get the add-on NOT to be displayed.
Is there an easier way to do this that you are aware of? Anyone?

Thanks, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Bob,
you need to paste (and edit a bit) the CELX script I gave above into a CELX file. Personally, this script is part of my permanent start.celx file, so I can toggle ON/OFF the model at any time, using T (shift-t). You also need to use Celestia 1.6.0 or else it wont work. This trick is so important that it should deserve a special topic in the scripts forum.
you need to paste (and edit a bit) the CELX script I gave above into a CELX file. Personally, this script is part of my permanent start.celx file, so I can toggle ON/OFF the model at any time, using T (shift-t). You also need to use Celestia 1.6.0 or else it wont work. This trick is so important that it should deserve a special topic in the scripts forum.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
- Posts: 1803
- Joined: 12.10.2007
- With us: 17 years 5 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Okay, thanks my friend.Cham wrote:Bob,
you need to paste (and edit a bit) the CELX script I gave above into a CELX file. Personally, this script is part of my permanent start.celx file, so I can toggle ON/OFF the model at any time, using T (shift-t). You also need to use Celestia 1.6.0 or else it wont work. This trick is so important that it should deserve a special topic in the scripts forum.
Haven't quite gotten up the nerve to switch to the latest version yet, because it's damned intimidating when you don't know what the hell you are doing.
Especially in CELX. I'll give it a try though.
Thanks again, Bob
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
BobHegwood wrote:Haven't quite gotten up the nerve to switch to the latest version yet, because it's damned intimidating when you don't know what the hell you are doing.
Especially in CELX.
Bob,
Here's a script to toggle on/off the tectonic plates model using 'shift+t' in Celestia 1.5:
Code: Select all
-- Title: Toggle tectonic plates visibility - Celestia 1.5
tectonic = celestia:find("Sol/Earth/Tectonic Plates")
tec_rad = tectonic:radius()
tectonic:setradius(1e-5)
tec_visible = false
function toggleTectonic()
tec_visible = not(tec_visible)
if tec_visible then
tectonic:setradius(tec_rad)
else
tectonic:setradius(1e-5)
end
end
keyhandlers =
{
T = toggleTectonic
}
function handlekey(k)
handler = keyhandlers[k.char]
if handler ~= nil then
handler()
return true
else
return false
end
end
celestia:registereventhandler("key", handlekey)
As suggested by Martin, I'll add a topic in the script forum to explain how to toggle the visibility of an object both in Celestia 1.6 and in Celestia 1.5.
@+
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
-
- Posts: 1803
- Joined: 12.10.2007
- With us: 17 years 5 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Appreciate that very much Vincent... Sorry, but I really have no luck at all with CELX. My brain just does not get wrapped around that language easily.Vincent wrote:Here's a script to toggle the tectonic plates model using 'shift+t' in Celestia 1.5:
As suggested by Martin, I'll add a topic in the script forum to explain how to toggle the visibility of an object both in Celestia 1.6 and in Celestia 1.5.
Thanks again, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
-
- Developer
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: 04.02.2005
- With us: 20 years 2 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Would really nice to have the names of plates with such addon. Same for the political borders in fact... 

Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
BobHegwood wrote:Appreciate that very much Vincent... Sorry, but I really have no luck at all with CELX. My brain just does not get wrapped around that language easily.
Thanks again, Brain-Dead
You're welcome Bob. I'll be happy to help whenever you have to face celx.
@+
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
And here are the tectonic plates labels, properly centered on their plate. Take note that the location file is using the new location feature for colors (LabelColor), so it probably wont work with Celestia 1.5.1. You need the latest version from SVN.
Preview :
Sorry, I can't edit the two first messages (max attached files in them !). So I'm giving the file here :
French version :
Preview :
Sorry, I can't edit the two first messages (max attached files in them !). So I'm giving the file here :
French version :
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4211
- Joined: 28.01.2002
- With us: 23 years 2 months
- Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Cham wrote:And here are the tectonic plates labels, properly centered on their plate. Take note that the location file is using the new location feature for colors (LabelColor), so it probably wont work with Celestia 1.5.1. You need the latest version from SVN.
It should still work in 1.5.1, but you the labels will all have the same color.
--Chris
-
- Developer
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: 04.02.2005
- With us: 20 years 2 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Cham wrote:And here are the tectonic plates labels, properly centered on their plate...
Nice work! Tx!
-
- Posts: 1803
- Joined: 12.10.2007
- With us: 17 years 5 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Yes, this works fine in both 1.5.1 and SVN 4389... However, the country name colors make me want to puke under the SVN version.chris wrote:It should still work in 1.5.1, but you the labels will all have the same color.

Methinks I will be changing those on my machine here Martin.


EDIT: Oops... What I meant to say was "Thanks VERY much for both of these great add-ons."

EDIT: I should also thank Chris, (and yourself) for the ability to modify this code too.
This makes for fully-customizable add-ons, and I, for one, really like these things.
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN
-
- Developer
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: 04.02.2005
- With us: 20 years 2 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Cham, j'suis pas un sp?cialiste, mais la plaque "Easter" me paraissait ?trange en fran?ais alors Wiki: -> Ile de P?ques (http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plaque_de_l%27?le_de_P?ques) (Mmh... seems the board don't like this url)
(BTW guys, it's about a detail in French, so...
)
(BTW guys, it's about a detail in French, so...

-
Topic authorCham
- Posts: 4324
- Joined: 14.01.2004
- Age: 60
- With us: 21 years 2 months
- Location: Montreal
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
ElChristou wrote:Cham, j'suis pas un sp?cialiste, mais la plaque "Easter" me paraissait ?trange en fran?ais alors Wiki: -> Ile de P?ques (http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plaque_de_l%27?le_de_P?ques) (Mmh... seems the board don't like this url)
Yes, you're right. I already changed it to "P?ques" on my installation. I prefer not to use "?le de P?ques" since it's a bit confusing. The island isn't located on this plate, but on the one next to it. This is a "special case".
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"
-
- Developer
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: 04.02.2005
- With us: 20 years 2 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Cham wrote:ElChristou wrote:Cham, j'suis pas un sp?cialiste, mais la plaque "Easter" me paraissait ?trange en fran?ais alors Wiki: -> Ile de P?ques (http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plaque_de_l%27?le_de_P?ques) (Mmh... seems the board don't like this url)
Yes, you're right. I already changed it to "P?ques" on my installation. I prefer not to use "?le de P?ques" since it's a bit confusing. The island isn't located on this plate, but on the one next to it. This is a "special case".
For the release I suppose you should use the official designation, then each one will be free to customize it... BTW, how do you write the ^ in the ssc? (like this it creta an error and Celestia crash when loading the ssc...)
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Martin,
Thanks, this a great educationnal addon !
Just switch to UTF-8 encoding.
Thanks, this a great educationnal addon !
Chris,ElChristou wrote:For the release I suppose you should use the official designation, then each one will be free to customize it... BTW, how do you write the ^ in the ssc? (like this it creta an error and Celestia crash when loading the ssc...)
Just switch to UTF-8 encoding.
@+
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
Vincent
Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3
-
- Developer
- Posts: 3776
- Joined: 04.02.2005
- With us: 20 years 2 months
Re: New addon : Tectonic Plates on Earth
Vincent wrote:Martin,
Thanks, this a great educationnal addon !Chris,ElChristou wrote:For the release I suppose you should use the official designation, then each one will be free to customize it... BTW, how do you write the ^ in the ssc? (like this it creta an error and Celestia crash when loading the ssc...)
Just switch to UTF-8 encoding.
Ok, j'avais la flemme! (Raahh la honte!
