Page 1 of 2

it's n00b time!

Posted: 07.09.2006, 22:07
by Hunter Parasite
Can someone just give me a template for a planet and a star? Im attempting an add on for my book, and im having some issues with getting the STC and SSC files to work.

I've even gazed at selden's add on guide for a good hour or two, that only vaguely helped.

Re: it's n00b time!

Posted: 07.09.2006, 22:17
by rthorvald
Hunter Parasite wrote:I've even gazed at selden's add on guide for a good hour or two, that only vaguely helped.


Well then, here is my vague star:

Code: Select all

# HIP 297397
297397 "Hunter"   {   

RA 270.674708333333   

Dec -23.1049444444444   

Distance 5229.982   

SpectralType "G2 V"   

AppMag 15.9   

}


(The HIP is of course fictional).

... And here??s your vague planet:

Code: Select all

"Parasite" "Hunter"
{
Class "planet"
Texture      "earth.*"
Radius 4000
EllipticalOrbit {
   Period   0.2
   SemiMajorAxis   0.4
   }
RotationPeriod   1700
Albedo      0.1
}




- rthorvald ;-)

Posted: 07.09.2006, 22:18
by Hunter Parasite
thank you for the vague bodies!

Posted: 07.09.2006, 22:51
by Hunter Parasite
Why isnt this working?

Code: Select all

"Terra" "Torzhakt"
{
Class "planet"
Texture      "jupiter.jpg"
Radius 4000
EllipticalOrbit {
   Period   0.2
   SemiMajorAxis   0.4
   }
RotationPeriod   1700
Albedo      0.1
}


Code: Select all

# HIP 408933
408933 "Torzhakt"   {   

RA 270.674708333333   

Dec -23.1049444444444   

Distance 2000.982   

SpectralType "G2"   

AppMag 20.9   

}


I can't find either one.

Posted: 07.09.2006, 22:59
by ajtribick
They work for me.

You did put the files in the "extras" directory didn't you?

Posted: 07.09.2006, 23:29
by Hunter Parasite
yes, what did you type in the search thing so you can find it?

Posted: 07.09.2006, 23:37
by selden
you can type
HIP 408933
or
Torzhakt
or
Torzhakt/Terra

Reminder: the HIP number won't be shown in the "tab completion" list.

Posted: 07.09.2006, 23:42
by Hunter Parasite
Now I know why it doesn't work, for some reason my files stay as text files. How to I change them to STC and SCC?

Posted: 07.09.2006, 23:47
by selden
rename them
e.g. right-mouse-click on the name and select the rename option.
also make sure you've turned off "hide extensions for known file types".

Posted: 08.09.2006, 00:00
by Hunter Parasite
awesomeness! While looking for the hide extensions thing, i noticed that the STC and SCC filetypes didn't exist on my computer, so i made them and it works! thanks, not I just have to make more planets and get some textures.

Posted: 08.09.2006, 06:57
by ajtribick
Presuming you're using a Windows machine, put the filename between " " in the Save As box, this will stop the .txt extension automatically being applied.

Posted: 08.09.2006, 20:26
by Hunter Parasite
there should be a sticky that has templates for moons, stars, and planets.

Posted: 09.09.2006, 01:02
by Chuft-Captain
Why? -- when there's plenty of examples available in your Celestia\data folder. :wink:

Posted: 09.09.2006, 01:14
by Hunter Parasite
people that are new to celestia that want to make an add on could have an easier time, plus it would be convient. We as a species live off of convience. We are human after all.

Posted: 09.09.2006, 12:04
by ajtribick
I guess the real problem here is two supposedly "helpful" Windows "features" designed to make using the operating system "convenient". ;)

Firstly, that by default Windows hides filename extensions. This "protects" the user from all those scary .txt, .doc, .rtf, etc. extensions. This is only really helpful for the most technophobic newbie users. I turned this "feature" off as soon as possible.

Secondly, that "Save As" dialog boxes automatically add the filename extension when it doesn't end in something associated with the program. You can get round this by associating the filetype with the program you use to edit the files. This can be done by right-clicking on the file in Explorer and selecting Open With... (or Open With>Choose Program...) and checking the box to make the filetype always open with the selected program.

Posted: 09.09.2006, 15:00
by Hunter Parasite
Can someone tell me whats wrong with this? The atmosphere does not appear

Code: Select all

"Stractan" "Torzhakt"
{
Class "Planet"
Texture      "Stractan.*"
Radius 1700
EllipticalOrbit {
   Period   4.9
   SemiMajorAxis   0.9
   }
RotationPeriod   30
Albedo      0.40
}
HazeColor [ 0.5 0.35 0.2 ]
   HazeDensity 0.35
   Radius 6052

   Atmosphere {
      Height 60
      Lower [ 0.8 0.8 0.5 ]
      Upper [ 0.6 0.6 0.6 ]
      Sky [ 0.8 0.8 0.5 ]

Posted: 09.09.2006, 15:01
by Fightspit
You have forgotten a } at the end.

Posted: 09.09.2006, 16:44
by Hunter Parasite
still doesnt work.

Posted: 09.09.2006, 16:48
by Fightspit
I notice a wrong } between Albedo and HazeColor

Code: Select all

...
Albedo      0.40
}     <-- problem ?
HazeColor [ 0.5 0.35 0.2 ]
...

Posted: 09.09.2006, 16:52
by Hunter Parasite
now the planet has dissapeared.