CHARM2 measured stellar radii (DO NOT USE WITH NEW STARDB)

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1855
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 21 years 7 months

Post #21by ajtribick » 30.01.2008, 23:57

Cham wrote:ajtribick,

I tried your addon. The stars don't use any texture at all. There should be something in the STC file so they can use the default textures, as declared in the new config file for 1.5.0. Currently, they are all dull glowing spheres :cry:

There is no texture override in the file, so there's no reason why the default texture shouldn't be used... however as far as I can tell you are incorrect to say the stars use no texture - instead the default A star texture (astar.jpg) is used.

A quick check suggests this is a problem common to ALL stars defined in .stc files (including the defaults supplied with Celestia) without a Texture definition, not just my add-on... looks like the .stc parser has not been updated to take these preferences into account. I'll file a bug on the tracker.

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #22by chris » 31.01.2008, 00:03

ajtribick wrote:
Cham wrote:ajtribick,

I tried your addon. The stars don't use any texture at all. There should be something in the STC file so they can use the default textures, as declared in the new config file for 1.5.0. Currently, they are all dull glowing spheres :cry:
There is no texture override in the file, so there's no reason why the default texture shouldn't be used... however as far as I can tell you are incorrect to say the stars use no texture - instead the default A star texture (astar.jpg) is used.

A quick check suggests this is a problem common to ALL stars defined in .stc files (including the defaults supplied with Celestia) without a Texture definition, not just my add-on... looks like the .stc parser has not been updated to take these preferences into account. I'll file a bug on the tracker.


I think there's a bug lurking here somewhere, but the stars in the CHARM2 add-on look just fine for me: the default textures as specified in celestia.cfg are being used.

--Chris

Topic author
ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1855
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 21 years 7 months

Post #23by ajtribick » 31.01.2008, 00:13

Can you give an example of a working CHARM2 star? The ones I've tried (Betelgeuse, Lalande 21185, Epsilon Eridani) all seem to be using astar.jpg...

There seems to be something weird going on.

It seems certain properties in .stc files wreck the texture matching.

EllipticalOrbit seems to be one.
I'm going to guess that CustomOrbit is another, given that the Sun seems to be using astar.jpg.
On the basis that most of the CHARM2 stars are using astar.jpg, I'd guess Radius is one.

In fact, the only stars that I've seen respecting the textures in .stc files (mainly I'm testing on M stars because it's most obvious) are the ones that use only the "vanilla" properties that can be defined in stars.dat.

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Montreal

Post #24by Cham » 31.01.2008, 00:14

After some tests, I think there's clearly a new bug here. All my standard stars do have textures, but the stars from the CHARM2 STC file don't.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Montreal

Post #25by Cham » 31.01.2008, 00:21

I think I've found a source of the bug : RotationPeriod.

I'm having a star defined in some STC file, without a rotation period. It's texture is showing. Adding a simple rotation period, and the same star lose its texture !
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #26by chris » 31.01.2008, 00:25

Never mind . . . it turns out that I wasn't actually using the CHARM2 add-on when I did my check. I was able to reproduce the bug and find it's source: a small typo in star.cpp:

Code: Select all

Index: star.cpp
===================================================================
--- star.cpp   (revision 4057)
+++ star.cpp   (working copy)
@@ -761,7 +761,7 @@
     bolometricCorrection(sd.bolometricCorrection),
     knowledge(sd.knowledge),
     visible(sd.visible),
-    texture(texture),
+    texture(sd.texture),
     model(sd.model),
     orbit(sd.orbit),
     orbitalRadius(sd.orbitalRadius),


This is probably also the source of cartrite's Sun-looks-like-Mars bug.

--Chris
Last edited by chris on 31.01.2008, 00:26, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Montreal

Post #27by Cham » 31.01.2008, 00:25

Okay, this is systematic and very easy to reproduce (on my system) :

This star do have a texture :

Code: Select all

1009544774 "TET1 Ori B:41 Ori B:BM Ori:HD 37021"
{
   RA 83.81695833
   Dec -5.38527778
   Distance 1399.97
   SpectralType "B0V"
   AppMag 7.96
}


This same star, with an RotationPeriod added, doesn't have a texture !

Code: Select all

1009544774 "TET1 Ori B:41 Ori B:BM Ori:HD 37021"
{
   RA 83.81695833
   Dec -5.38527778
   Distance 1399.97
   SpectralType "B0V"
   AppMag 7.96
   RotationPeriod 1
}
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Topic author
ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1855
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 21 years 7 months

Post #28by ajtribick » 31.01.2008, 00:28

It isn't just rotation period. Of the following four stars, only Test 1 gets the correct texture...

Code: Select all

"Test 1"
{
   RA 0
   Dec 0
   SpectralType "M5V"
   Distance 1
   AbsMag 6
}

"Test 2" # add in a radius definition, things go wrong
{
   RA 0.01
   Dec 0
   SpectralType "M5V"
   Distance 1
   AbsMag 6
   Radius 696000
}

"Test 3" # apparently even just being used as a barycenter is bad news
{
   RA 0.03
   Dec 0
   SpectralType "M5V"
   Distance 1
   AbsMag 6
}

"Test 4" # orbitbarycenter stuff isn't good.
{
   OrbitBarycenter "Test3"
   SpectralType "M5V"
   AbsMag 6
   FixedPosition [0.5 0.5 0.5]
}

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #29by chris » 31.01.2008, 00:37

Correct. Any extended star attribute will trigger the bug. "Extended" means anything except coordinates, spectral type, and magnitude.

--Chris

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 23 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #30by chris » 31.01.2008, 00:42

I committed my fix to SVN. If you update, the bug should be gone.

--Chris

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 60
With us: 21 years 2 months
Location: Montreal

Post #31by Cham » 31.01.2008, 00:48

Updated the code from SVN, recompiled, and the bug is gone ! 8)
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Topic author
ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1855
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 21 years 7 months

Post #32by ajtribick » 31.01.2008, 11:52

I'm starting to wonder just how many more Celestia bugs this add-on is going to drag out of the woodwork, the tally's currently somewhere around 3-4.

*sigh*

Topic author
ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1855
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 21 years 7 months

Re: CHARM2 measured stellar radii (DO NOT USE WITH NEW STARDB)

Post #33by ajtribick » 26.08.2008, 22:26

Just to let you know you shouldn't use this add-on with the new star database as it will restore all affected stars to their Hipparcos-1 parallaxes instead of using the new updated ones.

A new version is in development but will probably only be released after 1.6.0 is available.


Return to “Add-on development”