Page 8 of 8

Posted: 21.12.2007, 18:27
by selden
It's missing the diffuse texture file declaration.
If there's no texture file specified, the SSC Texture declaration can't replace it. In other words, add a texture0 declaration.

Code: Select all

texture0 "mars_texture.*"

would work, or specify some other appropriate filename.

Posted: 21.12.2007, 18:50
by cartrite
selden wrote:It's missing the diffuse texture file declaration.
If there's no texture file specified, the SSC Texture declaration can't replace it. In other words, add a texture0 declaration.

Code: Select all

texture0 "mars_texture.*"

would work, or specify some other appropriate filename.

So that would fix it? Problem is the model is at the motherlode and I can't just fix it. And I just filled out a bug report and asked Bob not to delete it because it may have been needed to track this down, At the time I created the model, I think I had to do it that way I did to get it to work with any mars texture. I can't remember :? I'm getting a case of beer. Should be BRAIN DEAD in couple of hours. Signing off for now.
cartrite

Posted: 21.12.2007, 19:12
by cartrite
Selden,
I just tried your suggestion and it did not work. At least I didn't submit a bug report for nothing. Maybe I'll hold off on the beers.
cartrite

Posted: 21.12.2007, 19:45
by selden
Well, that's a bummer. Hopefully Chris will be able to reproduce the problem and fix it.

Posted: 21.12.2007, 20:21
by BobHegwood
cartrite wrote:Selden,
I just tried your suggestion and it did not work. At least I didn't submit a bug report for nothing. Maybe I'll hold off on the beers.
cartrite


Have LOTS of beer...

That's what I'm going to do now... :lol:

Posted: 21.12.2007, 20:36
by cartrite
selden wrote:Well, that's a bummer. Hopefully Chris will be able to reproduce the problem and fix it.

Johaen was the one who brought it to my attention. I reproduced it easily after I downloaded Don Edwards texture from the ML. But as my experiment showed with celestia's earth.png which has a real texture in the alpha channel, any RGBA texture should do for reproducing this. I wonder if this happens to spacecraft models or other models too.

Anyhow, I just found out what will make it work. The "Modify" can not be used in the ssc file. If I use "Mars2" "Sol/Mars" and give a custom orbit, Dons RGBA Mars texture renders properly. I think I already knew that from long ago but had forgotten. Now is this still a bug?
cartrite

Posted: 21.12.2007, 23:48
by selden
It still sounds like a bug, just perhaps not directly related to the texture or model. Be sure to keep the bug report up to date with your findings.

Posted: 22.12.2007, 00:08
by chris
Cartrite, I'll be taking a look at your bug report very soon. I'm a bit confused about the new developments here, so if you could post a synopsis on the bug report, it'll speed up the hunt for the problem.

--Chris

Posted: 22.12.2007, 02:13
by cartrite
Chris,
Ive already added 2 comments to the initial report. The last includes what I found about the Modify statement. I hope that is what you meant by synopsis. I think I describe the problem pretty well and how to reproduce it.

I seem to have been here before though and I thought that the Modify statement wasn't complete as far as adding the ssc file capabilities to deal with meshes. I couldn't find the posts though. Its probably buried in the thread I started when I created the Katrina model. I know I can remember bringing this up a while ago.
cartrite

Posted: 02.01.2008, 23:18
by chris
cartrite wrote:Chris,
Ive already added 2 comments to the initial report. The last includes what I found about the Modify statement. I hope that is what you meant by synopsis. I think I describe the problem pretty well and how to reproduce it.


The bug should now be fixed by a checkin that I just made.

--Chris

Posted: 02.01.2008, 23:34
by cartrite
Chris,
Thanks for correcting this and I'll check it out as soon as possible. I already tried but I couldn't build it because of an error in universe.cpp. Something Vincent is working on. Here is the error.

Code: Select all

selectionpopup.cpp: In member function ?€?void SelectionPopup::process(int)?€™:
selectionpopup.cpp:221: error: no matching function for call to ?€?Universe::markObject(Selection&, float, Color, Marker::Symbol, int)?€™
../../celengine/universe.h:106: note: candidates are: void Universe::markObject(const Selection&, float, Color, Marker::Symbol, int, std::string)
make[5]: *** [selectionpopup.o] Error 1
make[5]: Leaving directory `/home/cartrite/share/celestia/build/celestia/src/celestia/kde'
make[4]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/cartrite/share/celestia/build/celestia/src/celestia/kde'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

cartrite

Posted: 02.01.2008, 23:47
by chris
cartrite wrote:Chris,
Thanks for correcting this and I'll check it out as soon as possible. I already tried but I couldn't build it because of an error in universe.cpp. Something Vincent is working on. Here is the error.

Code: Select all

selectionpopup.cpp: In member function ?€?void SelectionPopup::process(int)?€™:
selectionpopup.cpp:221: error: no matching function for call to ?€?Universe::markObject(Selection&, float, Color, Marker::Symbol, int)?€™
../../celengine/universe.h:106: note: candidates are: void Universe::markObject(const Selection&, float, Color, Marker::Symbol, int, std::string)
make[5]: *** [selectionpopup.o] Error 1
make[5]: Leaving directory `/home/cartrite/share/celestia/build/celestia/src/celestia/kde'
make[4]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[4]: Leaving directory `/home/cartrite/share/celestia/build/celestia/src/celestia/kde'
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

cartrite


Vincent added support for marker labels today--he works on the Windows version and it looks like some KDE files didn't get the required updates. Try adding an empty string "" as the final argument of the markObject call; if that works, I'll check in the file.

--Chris

Posted: 03.01.2008, 00:06
by Vincent
Chris is right. Sorry, I forgot to mind the KDE version. I just checked in the needed change. You should be able to get it in a few minutes...

Edit: I made the change in the GTK version too.

Posted: 03.01.2008, 11:25
by cartrite
Chris, Vincent,
Sorry about the delay. I was unable to reach Shatters.net last night. Everything works fine now. I can see RGBA textures on a mesh with the new atmosphere settings. The new code in cvs builds without errors. Thanks guys.
cartrite