question about jupiter addon

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

question about jupiter addon

Post #1by Delatour » 28.02.2005, 15:51

hi

i got a question about the 4kjupiter.png file...
i don't know, where to put it, it doesn't work in any directory.
couldn't find any hint in the doc or in this forum.

plz help

Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

Post #2by Delatour » 01.03.2005, 07:07

and anotha question...i'm a newbie fellas... :oops:
i also tried to install the 32k VT/png surface map from John van vilet for the earth, and it's not working.
actually, it's in the extras/addons/earth folder, but i tried all folders of celestia.

i couldn't find any documentation about it (howto install VT) and i searched this forum for it...don't know, where to put the earth.ctx and so on.

actually, some other addons are working on my computer, like thorvalds sun and some nebulaz.
i know how the change the detail rate of textures etc...
i got celestia 1.3.2 and an ATI 128 pro
directX 9.0
win2k

please help

edit: just found out, how to do it...
earth folder and earth.ctx into /hires

but jupiter still won't work...

JrzyCrim
Posts: 30
Joined: 04.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months

Re: question about jupiter addon

Post #3by JrzyCrim » 01.03.2005, 07:54

Delatour wrote:hi

i got a question about the 4kjupiter.png file...
i don't know, where to put it, it doesn't work in any directory.
couldn't find any hint in the doc or in this forum.

plz help

I would recommend you put it in your extras folder. It can be placed in any sub folder you like in the Extras directory. For example, you could use this directory structure:

Code: Select all

Extras\Jupiter\textures\medres\4kjupiter.png
Extras\Jupiter\Jupiter.ssc


Put the following in Jupiter.ssc (make a new text file named as such):

Code: Select all

Modify "Jupiter" "Sol" {
  Texture "4kjupiter.png"
}

That will override the default Jupiter texture found in Celestia\Textures.

This is very convenient as you can place all your additional textures in the extras folder. In fact, you can place textures in any sub folder in extras:

Code: Select all

Extras\Planets\Jupiter\textures\medres\4kjupiter.png
Extras\Planets\Jupiter\Jupiter.ssc
Extras\Planets\Mars\... and so on.


It's great for keeping things organized; you don't have to dump all your additional textures in with the default ones. Plus, using separate ssc files is handy. You don't have to edit the default solarsys.ssc.

Delatour wrote:and anotha question...i'm a newbie fellas... :oops:
i also tried to install the 32k VT/png surface map from John van vilet for the earth, and it's not working.
actually, it's in the extras/addons/earth folder, but i tried all folders of celestia.

Again, the extras folder is naturally the best place for this. The structure should look something like this:

Code: Select all

extras\Earth\Earth.ssc
extras\Earth\textures\hires\
extras\Earth\textures\hires\Earth\
extras\Earth\textures\hires\Earth.ctx
extras\Earth\textures\hires\Earth\level0\
extras\Earth\textures\hires\Earth\level1\
...etc.


Your Earth.ssc should look like this:

Code: Select all

Modify "Earth" "Sol" {
  Texture "Earth.ctx"
}


Actually, instead of hires, the textures could technically be placed in medres or even lores for that matter but I think hires is the appropriate location. ;)

Again, you could place this in any subfolder you like.

Added note: If you want to use textures as alternate surfaces instead of the main texture, just use something like this in your .ssc files:

Code: Select all

AltSurface "Earth 32K Virtual Texture" "Sol/earth" {
  Texture "Earth.ctx"
}

or

AltSurface "4k Jupiter" "Sol/Jupiter" {
  Texture "4kJupiter.png"
}


When you right click on Earth or Jupiter and go to "Alternate Surfaces", you can select any textures you may have setup as alternates. Of course, these are just examples. You will probably want to use the above textures as your main textures. This is handy for topograpy maps and such. I usually keep alternate textures grouped with the corresponding planet.

My earth setup looks like this:

Code: Select all

extras\Planets\Earth\Earth.ssc
extras\Planets\Earth\textures\hires\
extras\Planets\Earth\textures\hires\Earth.ctx
extras\Planets\Earth\textures\medres\Earth-topo.dds
extras\Planets\Earth\textures\medres\Earthclouds.dds

Earth.ssc:
-----------
Modify "Earth" "Sol" {
  Texture "Earth.ctx"
  Atmosphere {
    CloudMap "Earthclouds.dds"
  }
}

AltSurface "Topography (Land & Oceans)" "Sol/earth" {
  Texture "Earth-topo.dds"
}
Windows XP Pro SP2
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Orleans)
GeForce 8400 GS 256MB

Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

Post #4by Delatour » 01.03.2005, 08:38

thanks a lot for the detailed answer, very kind of you! :D
things are getting clearer now...

JrzyCrim
Posts: 30
Joined: 04.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months

Post #5by JrzyCrim » 01.03.2005, 08:44

Delatour wrote:thanks a lot for the detailed answer, very kind of you! :D
things are getting clearer now...


You're welcome. Actually, it helps me to go over this. I'm just getting back into Celestia; been occupied with other things for awhile. I've spent that past couple of days making virtual textures from surface texures I already had; just for practice. I handn't even messed with VTs until a few days ago. Pretty cool! :)

I've got a 16K Mars Texture waiting to be split up into virutal textures but my low end system is probably going to choke on it. :roll:
Windows XP Pro SP2

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Orleans)

GeForce 8400 GS 256MB

Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

Post #6by Delatour » 01.03.2005, 10:06

sounds interesting! i really like those addons (if they work :wink: )
i'm not really into programming, just spending my time making music...except for a bit of html.

erm, the things you told me don't work. i did everything exactly like you told me. the program don't recognices the ssc files i think...
it only works when i put the stuff into the normal textures folder (and rename the 4kjupiter to jupiter).
and a new problem appeared...
all thats above level5 (like italy or hawaii) is just a plain white picture when i zoom in. i think it's a problem with the dds files, because everything is ok with the png files.

saving up for my spaceship
spacecraft to fly

cheers

JrzyCrim
Posts: 30
Joined: 04.07.2003
With us: 21 years 4 months

Post #7by JrzyCrim » 01.03.2005, 10:28

Delatour wrote:erm, the things you told me don't work. i did everything exactly like you told me. the program don't recognices the ssc files i think...
it only works when i put the stuff into the normal textures folder (and rename the 4kjupiter to jupiter).
Which version of Celestia do you have? Using "Modify" in the .ssc files only works with 1.3.2. My apologies if you are using an earlier version.

Also, when you are creating your .ssc files, make sure they aren't being saved as "filename.ssc.txt". If you use notepad or another Windows editor, put quotes around the file name when you "Save as..." That will prevent the .txt extension from being added to the file name: "Jupiter.ssc"

and a new problem appeared...
all thats above level5 (like italy or hawaii) is just a plain white picture when i zoom in. i think it's a problem with the dds files, because everything is ok with the png files.


Hmm, how much memory does your video card have? Maybe your system can't handle the textures. I'm not sure.
Last edited by JrzyCrim on 01.03.2005, 16:25, edited 1 time in total.
Windows XP Pro SP2

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Orleans)

GeForce 8400 GS 256MB

Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

Post #8by Delatour » 01.03.2005, 13:46

seas

i don't know how, but it's working now...i did exactly the same as before (i assume).

thanks a lot

Topic author
Delatour
Posts: 6
Joined: 28.02.2005
With us: 19 years 8 months
Contact:

Post #9by Delatour » 02.03.2005, 09:57

i searched the forum again and realized, that my graphic card (ATI) doesnt support .dds files.
with this
http://eliteforce2.filefront.com/file/DDS_Converter;29412
program it's possible to convert the .dds files to .png files.
note: if the png files are bigger than the memory of the card, it also just displays a white texture.

after converting all the graphics and changing the .ctx files (tiletype PNG),
many of the addons worked with my card (f.E. the 16KVTMoon addon).
but the quality is worse - most of the closeups look like ....

cheers


Return to “Add-on development”