SampledOrbit vs EllipticalOrbit

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
Darkmiss
Posts: 1059
Joined: 20.08.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months
Location: London, England

SampledOrbit vs EllipticalOrbit

Post #1by Darkmiss » 31.08.2003, 21:00

Quick question
If in a spacecraft code I am using a SampledOrbit XYZ
and also have the ElipticalOrbit data too. Does one canel the other out ?

In other words, If I want to use an XYZ file, should I still have all the ElipticalOrbital data still in the ssc file :?:

So should it look like number 1 or Number 2 :?:

1:

Code: Select all

"Cassini" "Sol"
   {
   Class "spacecraft"
   Mesh  "cassini.3ds"
   Radius 0.01
   Beginning "1997 10 15 10:30" # Launched
   #Ending     ???? Still in Orbit

   SampledOrbit "cassini.xyz"
   RotationPeriod   1000.0
   Orientation     [ 270 1 0 0 ]
   Albedo              0.5
}


2:

Code: Select all

"Cassini" "Sol"
   {
   Class "spacecraft"
   Mesh  "cassini.3ds"
   Radius 0.01
   Beginning "1997 10 15 10:30" # Launched
               # Ending     ???? Still in Orbit

   SampledOrbit "cassini.xyz"
   EllipticalOrbit
   {
   Period            12.44131
   SemiMajorAxis      5.36921504
   Eccentricity       0.728031108
   Inclination        0.821640702
   AscendingNode    127.187606
   ArgOfPericenter  167.738633
   MeanAnomaly       94.9254870
   Epoch        2452557.50
   }

   RotationPeriod   1000.0
   Orientation     [ 270 1 0 0 ]
   Albedo              0.5
}
CPU- Intel Pentium Core 2 Quad ,2.40GHz
RAM- 2Gb 1066MHz DDR2
Motherboard- Gigabyte P35 DQ6
Video Card- Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS + 640Mb
Hard Drives- 2 SATA Raptor 10000rpm 150GB
OS- Windows Vista Home Premium 32

JackHiggins
Posts: 1034
Joined: 16.12.2002
With us: 21 years 11 months
Location: People's Republic Of Cork, Ireland

Post #2by JackHiggins » 31.08.2003, 22:06

You only need SampledOrbit for an xyz trajectory.

If you have a look at any of my xyz ssc files from my spacecraft page, they're only about 6 lines long each!
- Jack Higgins
Jack's Celestia Add-ons
And visit my Celestia Gallery too!

Topic author
Darkmiss
Posts: 1059
Joined: 20.08.2002
With us: 22 years 3 months
Location: London, England

Post #3by Darkmiss » 31.08.2003, 22:08

Thank you Jack.
CPU- Intel Pentium Core 2 Quad ,2.40GHz

RAM- 2Gb 1066MHz DDR2

Motherboard- Gigabyte P35 DQ6

Video Card- Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS + 640Mb

Hard Drives- 2 SATA Raptor 10000rpm 150GB

OS- Windows Vista Home Premium 32


Return to “Add-on development”