Page 1 of 1

realined Mercury texture

Posted: 10.02.2007, 06:53
by John Van Vliet
--- edit ---

Re: realined Mercury texture

Posted: 11.02.2007, 02:38
by danielj
I downloaded the textures,but they didn??t work in Celestia 1.5.0 pre.
I think Celestia has a problem with VT textures in .png format...


john Van Vliet wrote:hi my 8k Mercury map was 195 px. off .So seeing as i had a bit of time i reoffset it and did a bumpmap ( 100% airbrushed ) and a normalmap using nms
hear are the links

Mercury_L0123.zip --------- http://www.filefactory.com/file/7928b9
8kMerBump16bit.zip -------- http://www.filefactory.com/file/287816/
MercuryNormal_L0123.zip --- http://www.filefactory.com/file/398709/

the bumpmap is a 16 bit unsinged .gray image
I work with unsinged and not singed images
here is a hack for using unsinged images in nms

Code: Select all

short readS16(FILE *in)
{
    short b2;
   
    fread(&b2, 2, 1, in);

    if (byteSwap == 1)
     
       b2 = (((b2 & 0xff00)) >> 8) | (((b2 & 0x00ff)) << 8);
   
    return (short) (b2 +32767);
}
-------------------------------------- orig-------------------------------------
short readS16(FILE *in)
{
    short b2;
   
    fread(&b2, 2, 1, in);

    if (byteSwap == 1)
     
       b2 = (((b2 & 0xff00)) >> 8) | (((b2 & 0x00ff)) << 8);
   
    return (short) b2 ;
}


Posted: 11.02.2007, 15:36
by Johaen
The textures work just fine for me in 1.5.0 pre2. I used the base map and the normal map. Some work was needed to put the textures in their proper folders, create the .ctx for the normal map and the .ssc for the alt texture. It looks properly aligned to me, and looks quite detailed, although it's fairly obvious where the edge of the "limit of knowledge" is. Probably not easy to do anything about that though. Thanks for your work John.

Posted: 11.02.2007, 18:23
by John Van Vliet
--- edit ---

Posted: 11.02.2007, 19:12
by selden
John,

While .ctx files are easy for you and me, Celestia novices have not the slightest idea what to do with VT files. They see that they're supposed to make planets look better, so they download hundreds of megabytes of stuff, and then can't find any way to get them to do anything at all. So far as they're concerned, you've made them waste time and bandwidth for no purpose whatsoever. It's extremely frustrating for them.

Posted: 12.02.2007, 00:39
by danielj
Could be hardware compatibility.You have a MONSTER COMPUTER,with dual core,lots of RAM and even 512 MB of video.Maybe this helps or maybe you only get it by chance...
Anyway,I put the VT straight in the solarsys.ssc and didn??t create any ssc.But the problem is even for non begginers,it??not that easy to create VT textures,because your VT texture should be adjusted to the specific normal texture and not for a generic normal texture...


Johaen wrote:The textures work just fine for me in 1.5.0 pre2. I used the base map and the normal map. Some work was needed to put the textures in their proper folders, create the .ctx for the normal map and the .ssc for the alt texture. It looks properly aligned to me, and looks quite detailed, although it's fairly obvious where the edge of the "limit of knowledge" is. Probably not easy to do anything about that though. Thanks for your work John.

re

Posted: 12.02.2007, 02:02
by John Van Vliet
--- edit ---

re

Posted: 12.02.2007, 02:11
by John Van Vliet
--- edit ---

Re: re

Posted: 12.02.2007, 10:55
by danielj
Sorry,I didn??t know...

john Van Vliet wrote:To: danielj
"
Could be hardware compatibility.You have a MONSTER COMPUTER,with dual core,lots of RAM and even 512 MB of video.Maybe this helps or maybe you only get it by chance...
Anyway,I put the VT straight in the solarsys.ssc and didn??t create any ssc.But the problem is even for non begginers,it??not that easy to create VT textures,because your VT texture should be adjusted to the specific normal texture and not for a generic normal texture...


"

i run celestia on a very OLD dell ( aprox 6 years old)
PEN 4 350 GIG FER.
512 MEG RAM
AND A NIVIDA GE0-FORCE440 WITH 64 MEG ON BORAD RAM
a very old system and i get about 35 frames/ sec. with ALL my BIG maps