Shiny transparent textures

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
lukr
With us: 19 years 4 months

Shiny transparent textures

Post #1by lukr » 20.07.2005, 23:34

During the development of the 'Captain Haddock' add-on I noticed that it seems impossible to make transparent meshes (eg. helmets, canopies) look very shiny.

It seems to me that the specularity is also reduced by the transparency setting.

Is that something that could be relatively easily fixed in the next release? I know there is a lot of other (far more important) work going on, but I thought it might be relatively trivial to fix it.

I've got no coding experience whatsoever, so forgive me if this is equivalent to asking mountains to be moved.

selden
Developer
With us: 22 years

Post #2by selden » 21.07.2005, 10:47

Did you try adjusting the specularity in the CMOD file?
Selden

Topic author
lukr

Post #3by lukr » 21.07.2005, 12:18

Dear Selden,

Yes I did try changing specular and specular power settings.

Below is a variation of a picture I posted before in the Tintin thread. I hadn't tried specular values higher than 1 (didn't think it would make sense). I've tried that now (see frontmost row). As you can see there is no difference. Specular values start off at: 1 1 1 and went as high as 100 100 100.

To get a small specular reflection, specular power needs to be set low. Higher values give the impression of a brushed metal. See second row from the right.

Can you see that the specular area itself inherits the transparency value? For a realistic helmet or a spacecraft canopy this specular area should be much brighter (opaque rather than transparent is my guess). Given the black bakground glass would almost behave like a mirror.

Any further thoughts?

selden
Developer
With us: 22 years

Post #4by selden » 21.07.2005, 17:48

There are two entries for specularity.

specular [color]
specpower <float>