Barnard's star system

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Barnard's star system

Post #1by Rassilon » 30.01.2002, 22:24

Last edited by Rassilon on 31.01.2002, 19:25, edited 1 time in total.
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Post #2by Rassilon » 30.01.2002, 22:54

Last edited by Rassilon on 31.01.2002, 19:26, edited 1 time in total.
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Guest

Post #3by Guest » 31.01.2002, 03:15

Wait..where are those planets, and how do you make planets?

Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Post #4by Rassilon » 01.02.2002, 10:11

In the data folder you will find a file labeled 'extrasolar.ssc'...Open this with Notepad or some other text editor. Notice the code you see?

Heres a sample of mine:

Code: Select all

"Jax" "Alcyone"
{
   Mesh "jax.3ds"
   Texture "jax.jpg"
   Radius 4334
   EllipticalOrbit
   {
      Period            12000.8631
      SemiMajorAxis     68000.0
      Eccentricity      0.23919
      Inclination       30.3244
      AscendingNode    75.4248
   }
   RotationPeriod  6400     #
   Albedo            0.12
}

The different variables listed here will affect the look and actions of your planet.

From top to bottom..
the first string "x" is the planets name.
the second string is the star system it is in.
ok, inside the brackets the first line is Mesh...this is used ONLY if you want to replace the 'sphere' default with a MAX or other supported model with the default.
Texture is the JPG or PNG file used for the planet's surface.
Radius is measured in Km
Now in the Eliptical Orbit elements, you see variables used to judge revolution, distance, orbit inclination and the others I cannot remember off hand...
RotationPeriod is measured in hours
Albedo is illumination...This also will affect temprature.

Now inbetween Radius and Elliptical Orbit is a section like so...

Code: Select all

   HazeColor [ 1 0 0 ]
   HazeDensity 0.8
   Atmosphere {
      Height 250
      Lower [ 1 0.5 0 ]
      Upper [ 0.0 0.8 0.0 ]
      Sky [ 1 0.5 0.2 ]
      CloudHeight 55
      CloudSpeed 189900
      CloudMap "kur-clouds.png"

   }


Haze is haze...color feature is an RGB floating point value between 0.0 and 1.0 where 0.0 is no color.
the atmosphere element is comprised of the following...
Height is in Km
Lower, Upper and Sky all use RGB like Haze
CloudHeight is in Km
CloudSpeed I believe is in Kph?
CloudMap is the PNG or JPG file used...best to use transparent mask when texing these...I usually modify the existing ones.

And there you go...Its really not that hard to figure out. I just play around with the elements and see what I come up with..hehe its almost like playing god sometimes...
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Mikeydude750
Posts: 169
Joined: 31.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Wisconsin

Post #5by Mikeydude750 » 04.02.2002, 00:48

But can you post those textures and models for us, so we can add them?

Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Post #6by Rassilon » 04.02.2002, 01:24

Sure, theres a few more things I gotta do...and I was planning on that :D

Making the tour guide different and other things Im changing...
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Mikeydude750
Posts: 169
Joined: 31.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Wisconsin

Post #7by Mikeydude750 » 04.02.2002, 01:30

Ok. But how do you create textures? I don't have 3D Studio Max, so how do I create models and textures?

Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Post #8by Rassilon » 04.02.2002, 01:49

All you need is something like Adobe Photoshop...you dont need to make models for the planets to work...Adobe is $99 at any software store or maybe cheaper off the net at amazon.com or ebay...

MAX will cost $4K
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

bruckner
Posts: 79
Joined: 30.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Villaviciosa de Od?n, Madrid, Spain

You might want to try...

Post #9by bruckner » 04.02.2002, 02:15

There is an open source alternative to Photoshop which wont cost you anything. It's called "The Gimp", and you can obtain it in http://www.gimp.org/. There are compiled binaries for Linux and Windows (the Windows one is here: http://www.gimp.org/~tml/gimp/win32/, but the Linux versions are always a step forward in development).

Of course you wont get the same quality, ease of use and ease of installation than Photoshop, but for $0, you might want to try a near-professional quality graphic manipulation program. I have used both (but NOT the Gimp's Windows version) and can testify that the technical level of the tools offered by The Gimp is somewhat around Photoshop v5.0-v.5.5, so it's not far behind... Moreover, for Linux users, there is no alternative.

Good luck...

Bruckner

Topic author
Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 23 years
Location: Altair

Post #10by Rassilon » 21.05.2002, 01:10

Damn wrong thread...
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!


Return to “Development”