Page 1 of 1

Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 25.11.2008, 17:55
by bjsmith2
I have compiled the Celestia source code on my computer using Visual C++ Express Edition.

The compile went without errors but did have two warnings.

c:\program files\celestiacode\celestia\inc\libjpeg\jmorecfg.h(215) : warning C4005: 'FAR' : macro redefinition
C:\Program Files\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v6.0A\\include\windef.h(146) : see previous definition of 'FAR'

When I run the program it loads fine but I cannot change the texture resolution, it only displays the low resolution.

Could the warning above cause this problem or did I do something else wrong?

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 25.11.2008, 18:05
by selden
Texture resolution now is selected in the Render menu.
It is one of the values recorded when Celestia exits and reused when Celestia starts.

Celestia r4551 resolution selection works fine for me under Windows.

The FAR redefinition is not a problem.

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 25.11.2008, 18:13
by bjsmith2
OK, I see it now

Thank you, I am so used to using r,R that I did not even think to look elsewhere.

By the way is there a good description/guide to to Celestia source code that would help me sort through all the files?

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 28.11.2008, 15:11
by selden
bjsmith2 wrote:OK, I see it now

Thank you, I am so used to using r,R that I did not even think to look elsewhere.

By the way is there a good description/guide to to Celestia source code that would help me sort through all the files?

There's an old description on SourceForge which might help.
It hasn't been kept up to date, though.
http://celestia.svn.sourceforge.net/vie ... iew=markup

s.

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 28.11.2008, 16:07
by jogad
Ho ho!

I was just about to report a bug on the disappearing of the r/R shortcut.

Is it really lost in space or is there a chance to rescue it ?

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 28.11.2008, 16:13
by selden
My understanding is that the r/R shortcuts are planned to be reused for something else.
Another consideration is that many people have gotten burned by having made a typo which switches to low resolution without them being aware of it, and then complaining because Celestia always shows very low resolution images.

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 28.11.2008, 16:27
by jogad
Ok!

For me it is not a real problem. Just to know for a next translation of the Help Menu.

In the same vein, quid of the “+” shortcut witch switches from “limit of knowledge” to “normal” textures. It works perfectly in the English version but it seems buggy in the localized ones?

Re: Built Celestia but no texture resolution

Posted: 28.11.2008, 16:53
by Vincent
jogad wrote:In the same vein, quid of the “+” shortcut witch switches from “limit of knowledge” to “normal” textures. It works perfectly in the English version but it seems buggy in the localized ones?
Jo?l,

I can confirm this bug.
You can fix it by removing the gettext macro _(...) which is inappropriately applied to "limit of knowledge" in celestiacore.cpp, line 1813.
> Change from:

Code: Select all

            observer->setDisplayedSurface(_("limit of knowledge"));


to:

Code: Select all

            observer->setDisplayedSurface("limit of knowledge");


I'll check in the fix soon.