Page 1 of 1

A lot of bugs in phoenix build

Posted: 03.11.2006, 16:00
by danielj
Look at this,for example:
http://img57.imageshack.us/my.php?image ... bugcv9.jpg
And my solarsys.ssc:

"Earth" "Sol"
{
Texture "NA-SS_16kDDS.dds"
NightTexture "EarthNight16K.dds"

#SpecularTexture "earthspec.*"
Color [ 0.85 0.85 1.0 ]
SpecularColor [ 0.5 0.5 0.55 ]
SpecularPower 25.0
HazeColor [ 1 1 1 ]
HazeDensity 0.3
Radius 6378.140 # equatorial
# Oblateness 0.0034

NormalMap "EarthNormal.*"
# BumpMap "earthbump.*"
# BumpHeight 4.5

The galilean moons only display lores textures,when I used .png textures.Then I tried VT and the result is this:
http://img66.imageshack.us/my.php?image ... bugeo4.jpg

And again my solarsys.ssc:
"Callisto" "Sol/Jupiter"
{
Texture "Calisto.ctx"
NormalMap "CallistoNormal.ctx"
Radius 2410.3

I think cartrite??s is slower,but more stable...

Posted: 03.11.2006, 19:44
by rra
Danielj , what's the bug you are referring to in the first picture.
It looks OK except for the specular part on the land .
That may be caused by the fact that you commented out the specular
texture.
Doing so , it means that the NA-SS_16kDDS.dds texture
would have to contain the specular data in its alpha-channel.
If not ,the image will look as you showed.

As for the second image , what does the "~" option say about loading your textures ??

Ren?©

Posted: 04.11.2006, 01:07
by danielj
The problem of the first picture is that the Earth is so enrugate that the rivers disappear in the "rifts".I forget to mention that this only happens under Open GL 2.0.
As for the galilean moons,the png textures appear to work,but not every time.I open Celestia and then the moons are in lores,but I DIDN??T MODIFY A THING and suddenly the 4k texture reappeared.It??s strange.But the VT textures don??t work,anyway...


rra wrote:Danielj , what's the bug you are referring to in the first picture.
It looks OK except for the specular part on the land .
That may be caused by the fact that you commented out the specular
texture.
Doing so , it means that the NA-SS_16kDDS.dds texture
would have to contain the specular data in its alpha-channel.
If not ,the image will look as you showed.

As for the second image , what does the "~" option say about loading your textures ??

Ren?©

Posted: 04.11.2006, 03:08
by danielj
The lores problem continues:
http://img166.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... bugvq9.jpg

My solarsys.ssc,just in case:

"Io" "Sol/Jupiter"
{
Texture "4kIo.png"
NightTexture "IoNight.*"
Radius 1821.6

Any guess?

Posted: 04.11.2006, 10:04
by Fightspit
I think the problem is in your solarsys.ssc here:

Code: Select all

Texture "4kIo.png"


If the "4kIo.png" is in the hires folder you can show it if you are in hight resolution mode by pressing "R" (and "r" to pass in medium and low resolution).
But if you are in medium or low resolution, Celestia can't find "4kIo.png" in meres and lores folder and that is why you should put the same file name for the same planet.
Even thought the file are the same name, it can have different resolution in different folder (lores, meres, hires).
In your exemple, you should have one "Io" file in each folder (lores, meres, hires) but it is not the same resolution. And , you must modify your solarsys.ssc like this:

Code: Select all

Texture "Io.*"
where * define all type of file which can be different in each folder (Io.jpg in lores, Io.dds in meres and Io.png in hires for exemple).

Posted: 04.11.2006, 13:14
by rra
Daniel , I am not sure what you mean by "enrugate" ,
but , for the first picture, isn't the problem really about specularity.
Try turning of specularity for the land (using a specular map which masks out
Brazil in this case), and see how it looks then .


Ren?©

Posted: 04.11.2006, 13:47
by danielj
No.I press R and the problem is the same.I AM IN HIGH RESOLUTION MODE.

Fightspit wrote:I think the problem is in your solarsys.ssc here:

Code: Select all

Texture "4kIo.png"


If the "4kIo.png" is in the hires folder you can show it if you are in hight resolution mode by pressing "R" (and "r" to pass in medium and low resolution).
But if you are in medium or low resolution, Celestia can't find "4kIo.png" in meres and lores folder and that is why you should put the same file name for the same planet.
Even thought the file are the same name, it can have different resolution in different folder (lores, meres, hires).
In your exemple, you should have one "Io" file in each folder (lores, meres, hires) but it is not the same resolution. And , you must modify your solarsys.ssc like this:

Code: Select all

Texture "Io.*"
where * define all type of file which can be different in each folder (Io.jpg in lores, Io.dds in meres and Io.png in hires for exemple).