Announcement of Intent to checkin code

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
BluMunky
With us: 21 years 9 months

Announcement of Intent to checkin code

Post #1by BluMunky » 22.09.2002, 06:25

Since I'm new to this development effort, I wanted to solicit any bits of advice before I checked in some code.

The code I'd like to checkin adds a new menu item titled "Start Logging" which is a toggleable menu item. This menu item will trigger code that begins logging some info to a file celeslog.log in the following format:

<Date and Time Stamp><tab><Currently selected object><tab><Distance to object><carriage return>

Basically this grew out of my desire to follow halley's commet around, and get a file of the distance to Earth. Then I could sort that file in Excel to find out in what year will Halley come closest to Earth.

I'd like to evolve the code into a full logging subsystem so that the user can enter a format string like:

&date&tab&sel&tab&dist&cr

into a config screen box and have celestia output the requested information to a file. Possible format codes could be:

&date - Date and time string
&sel - Current selection name
&dist - Distance to currently selected object
&tab - Insert a tab
&cr - Insert a carriage return
&vel - Velocity
&dayl - Day length of currently selected object

This way, as the simulation blazes by at 1000000x speed, we can get a record of what went on.

Any comments on this attempt would be appreciated

blu

abiogenesis
With us: 22 years

Post #2by abiogenesis » 22.09.2002, 06:47

If you run the simulation at 1000000x, won't your sample rate be too low? You can only output to the log once a frame and, at that time scale, you won't get continuous data. Halley will likely fly right past the closest point, perhaps multiple times, without a single log.