Reposted question...

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
Vicware
Posts: 120
Joined: 23.02.2002
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Reposted question...

Post #1by Vicware » 23.04.2002, 05:41

I didn't get any response to this, so I thought I'd try again...

I took the model from the site for the Space Station (the "wheel"), and
exported it as 3ds (I know it's not licensed for Celestia use, but it's an
excellant test for importing 3ds files to display in Celestia). I made a
2001.ssc file, but for some reason I can't see the model (see below).
(But, Celestia is not crashing)

ARE the maps for a 3ds model files looked for in Celestia? Where -
in the medres folder - or maybe the model folder? Is the following
ssc file not correct? - maybe somebody can figure out how to make
it spin and orbit as originally depicted (let alone show up)...

# 2001 Space Wheel Station

"Wheel" "Sol/Earth"
{
Mesh "wheel.3ds"
Radius 0.025

# Similiar to Skylab.
EllipticalOrbit {
Period 0.065
SemiMajorAxis 6813
Eccentricity 0
Inclination 60
AscendingNode 96
ArgOfPericenter 131
MeanAnomaly 40
}

Albedo 0.05
}

Vic

picili
Posts: 5
Joined: 15.03.2002
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Qu?bec - Canada

Post #2by picili » 23.04.2002, 11:09

I used your dds file and I'm seing the wheel rotating! I used the 3ds model without textures that I found on the web site. Its filename is 'stationV3ds.zip'.
Note that the model looked transparent in version 1.2.3 but looks correct in version 1.2.4 pre 4.

I added the Orion space ship but couldn't get it to stay in front on the airlock­. It's nice to see the too models both rotating at the same speed though :D

"2001 StationV" "Sol/Earth"
{
Mesh "StationV.3ds"
Radius 0.025

# Similiar to Skylab.
EllipticalOrbit {
Period 0.065
SemiMajorAxis 6813
Eccentricity 0
Inclination 60
AscendingNode 96
ArgOfPericenter 131
MeanAnomaly 40
}
RotationPeriod 0.1
Albedo 0.05
}

"2001 Orion" "Sol/Earth"
{
Mesh "Orion.3ds"
Radius 0.005

# Similiar to Skylab.
EllipticalOrbit {
Period 0.065
SemiMajorAxis 6813
Eccentricity 0
Inclination 60
AscendingNode 96
ArgOfPericenter 131
MeanAnomaly 40.00025
}
RotationPeriod 0.1
Albedo 0.05
}

Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Altair

Post #3by Rassilon » 23.04.2002, 23:23

Heres mine Vic...

Code: Select all

"Space Station V" "Sol/Earth"
{
   Mesh "stationv.3ds"
   Texture "ssvi.jpg"
   Radius 2
   HazeColor [ 1 1 1 ]
   HazeDensity 0.5
   EllipticalOrbit {   
      Period   6.65         
      SemiMajorAxis   7400
      LongOfPericenter 180.0
   }
   RotationPeriod   0.05
   Albedo            0.2
}


I mapped UVW as planar without an additive...then exported to 3ds...
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Topic author
Vicware
Posts: 120
Joined: 23.02.2002
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Wheel Actually...

Post #4by Vicware » 24.04.2002, 05:18

Thanks, folks, but no one actually answered the question. Where do
you put texture maps if you want to use them? I exported the wheel
with the mapping information intact. I'd like to see if it will show
up in all it's glory. Does anybody know if this will work?

Here's my space wheel including the texture maps:
http://www.vicware.com/space/vicswheel.zip

Vic

Ortolan
Posts: 120
Joined: 31.03.2002
With us: 22 years 5 months
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post #5by Ortolan » 24.04.2002, 05:48

I'm not sure if Celestia supports multiple textures for a mesh. I used one of the textures featuring generic hull plating, stretched it to 512x256px and saved it as a jpeg. When I tell Celestia to use this texture (in the medres folder) it seems to show up on about half the surfaces. If I don't specify any texture, the station is just painted with solid colours. :?

Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Altair

Wheel Actually...

Post #6by Rassilon » 24.04.2002, 09:03

Vicware wrote:Thanks, folks, but no one actually answered the question. Where do
you put texture maps if you want to use them? I exported the wheel
with the mapping information intact. I'd like to see if it will show
up in all it's glory. Does anybody know if this will work?

Here's my space wheel including the texture maps:
http://www.vicware.com/space/vicswheel.zip

Vic


Put the textures in medres...and use Texture "mytex.jpg" in your coding...
You can only use one texture per model and it has to be mapped to fit in 3d Max...and it has to be jpg or png format...

Other than that it should work fine...
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #7by chris » 24.04.2002, 14:11

In recent versions of Celestia (1.2.4, I think), you can have multiple textures on a model. The textures all need to go in the textures/medres directory (which I realize is less than ideal.) I'll download your model and see if I can figure out what's going wrong.

--Chris

Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Altair

Post #8by Rassilon » 24.04.2002, 20:23

chris wrote:In recent versions of Celestia (1.2.4, I think), you can have multiple textures on a model. The textures all need to go in the textures/medres directory (which I realize is less than ideal.) I'll download your model and see if I can figure out what's going wrong.

--Chris


Does this use a texture array?

Texture[1] = "mytex.jpg" etc...??

Or do these have to be mapped onto the model leaving out the Texture assignment in the .ssc file?
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Topic author
Vicware
Posts: 120
Joined: 23.02.2002
With us: 22 years 6 months
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Rolling the 2001 Space Wheel...

Post #9by Vicware » 25.04.2002, 04:37

chris wrote:In recent versions of Celestia (1.2.4, I think), you can have multiple textures on a model. The textures all need to go in the textures/medres directory (which I realize is less than ideal.) I'll download your model and see if I can figure out what's going wrong.

--Chris


That would be great Chris. I want to do some modeling work for Celestia,
but I want to understand all limitations first. The space wheel is a good
test (I think).

Is celestia-win32-1.2.4pre3.zip the latest version?

Vic

Guest

Post #10by Guest » 05.05.2002, 18:48

How come the 'ISS' can have muti-textures in place. But how come the 'Space Station V' cannot show its muti-textures?


Return to “Development”