Page 1 of 1

I can build Celestia (SOLVED)

Posted: 16.04.2009, 13:08
by cartrite
I tried to build Celestia today and hit a stone wall. It started this morning when I was running Celestia KDE and it crashed. It was a recent build but not the latest. I'm not sure which one it was though. Anyhow, afterward, I tried to build the latest SVN. It could not find my png library. After a reboot it was able to find the png library and then it froze up when trying to build shadermanager.cpp. I tried again and again and each time it froze up building shadermanager.cpp. Each time I had to restart the computer.

I then tried to build another svn version I had. Version 4559. That too stopped building at shadermanager.cpp. I know I was able to build this before. This version at least gives a reason.
shadermanager.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/shadermanager.Tpo" -c -o shadermanager.o shadermanager.cpp; \
then mv -f ".deps/shadermanager.Tpo" ".deps/shadermanager.Po"; else rm -f ".deps/shadermanager.Tpo"; exit 1; fi
shadermanager.cpp: In member function ‘GLFragmentShader* ShaderManager::buildFragmentShader(const ShaderProperties&)’:
shadermanager.cpp:1226: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault

Since I am also getting freeze ups for other reasons, It looks like this computer is going though it's final days. I'm thinking that this is probably a hardware problem but I don't have a clue as to why it would fail to build this program or why building this program is showing the problem.
cartrite

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 13:38
by selden
"Internal compiler error" implies to me that part of the compiler has become corrupted. Sometimes that kind of bug can be triggered by source code, but that happens very seldom.. Maybe here's been an undetected disk error causing that part of the compiler to be damaged when it was run into RAM, or it could be a RAM failure. Usually shared libraries are loaded into RAM only once, when they're first accessed, although if the memory they're using needs to be reclaimed for something else, they'll be deleted from RAM and reloaded rather than paged out to the paging file.

You might consider running one of the stand-alone RAM diagnostics. Replacing a failing RAM module might be inexpensive, or maybe your system can function without one of its memory sticks Sorry, I can't recommend any diagnostic in particular. They usually have a generic name like "memtest".

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 14:19
by cartrite
I tried to reinstall the compiler but that had no affect.
I'm glad you mentioned RAM though. I've already took 2 sticks out and I'm currently running 2 GB instead of 4 GB. I just tried to swap the 2 I had in there with the ones I took out a few weeks ago. But this time when it tried to build shadermanager.cpp, it rebooted. I went through about 15 hot restarts today and I think I'm gonna call it quits. I'll have to wait until I can replace this computer before I try to build again. I have a few recent builds that still work with this hardware. For now anyhow.
cartite

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 16:32
by cartrite
I know. I'm a big dummy for trying this. But try I did, to compile the qt4 version. Still exits at shadermanager.cpp but I get this slightly different message.
g++ -c -m64 -pipe -O2 -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -DCELX -DLUA_VER=0x050100 -DUSE_SPICE -DUSE_THEORA -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_XML_LIB -DQT_OPENGL_LIB -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_SHARED -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/mkspecs/linux-g++-64 -I../../src -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtCore -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtCore -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtGui -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtGui -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtOpenGL -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtOpenGL -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtXml -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include/QtXml -I/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/include -I../../../celestia -I../../../../qt4-build -I../../src -I/usr/X11R6/include -I../../src -I../celestia/qt/ui -I/home/cartrite/share/cspice/cspice/include -I/usr/local/include/theora -I. -o shadermanager.o ../celengine/shadermanager.cpp
{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:21089: Warning: end of file not at end of a line; newline inserted
{standard input}:22356: Error: undefined symbol `.LLSDACSE2258' in operation
g++: Internal error: Segmentation fault (program cc1plus)
:(
Now I give up. Still, I wonder what changed. Last week I didn't have a problem. 8O
cartrite

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 18:27
by cartrite
Replacing a failing RAM module might be inexpensive
Seems I can confirm that my system board is shot. At least the RAM circuits are. I removed 1 module. I can compile shadermanager.cpp and the QT4 build did finish but I'm down to 1 GB of RAM. :(
cartrite

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 18:35
by Guckytos
cartrite wrote:
Replacing a failing RAM module might be inexpensive
Seems I can confirm that my system board is shot. At least the RAM circuits are. I removed 1 module. I can compile shadermanager.cpp and the QT4 build did finish but I'm down to 1 GB of RAM. :(
cartrite

Here you can find a program to stress test your RAM http://www.memtest.org/

Perhaps it helps to sort out the defective modules. Or see if the last one is still really good.

Best regards,

Guckytos

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 16.04.2009, 18:49
by cartrite
I don't think anything is actually wrong with my RAM modules. I can use any of the 4 I have in slot 1. I just can't put a module in slot 2. Or 3 or 4. When I first got this computer running again I was using 3 slots(3 GB). Now I'm down to one. Actually, the computer will run with Linux OS and 3 gb of ram, slots 1,2,and 3 but as I just found out today, I'm getting memory corruption for some applications. Given the recent events this computer been through, I think the problem is more than just a RAM module.
cartrite

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 17.04.2009, 17:51
by Guckytos
cartrite wrote:I don't think anything is actually wrong with my RAM modules. I can use any of the 4 I have in slot 1. I just can't put a module in slot 2. Or 3 or 4. When I first got this computer running again I was using 3 slots(3 GB). Now I'm down to one. Actually, the computer will run with Linux OS and 3 gb of ram, slots 1,2,and 3 but as I just found out today, I'm getting memory corruption for some applications. Given the recent events this computer been through, I think the problem is more than just a RAM module.
cartrite

Ouch, that sounds really bad. That sounds more like the motherboard is up to something bad. With windows it could be that it writes its Registry in one of the modules in slots 2-4 and when it checks it gets a corruption and quits. Had that behaviour also on an old pc of mine --> found out the module was bad (in my case).

But with all the damages, I think it would be a good idea to stress test the memory also, to see if it is really okay, or if you are looking at having to replace it too, sooner or later.

Re: I can no longer build Celestia

Posted: 17.04.2009, 19:27
by cartrite
I'm looking to replace everything except the power supply and case. Currently I have a system board with socket 939. I'm planning on getting an AM3 socket motherboard with a Phenom II X4 940 or at least a AM2 with some Phenom processor . The RAM I'm currently using is just ddr 400mhz and I'm thinking of replacing that with ddr2 or ddr3 1600mhz or something like that. Whatever the board I get supports. Right now my eyes are bigger than my wallet though. :(
cartrite