Page 1 of 1

HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 17.08.2008, 20:20
by Hungry4info
Hey, I have an issue with my code. I've set up a .STC file to make several of the known binary extrasolar systems as binary in Celestia, and I can't get HD 114729 to work =(. Every time I select it either by pressing

'Enter'
Type: "HD 114729"'
'Enter'

Or by going to it in the star navigation, Celestia immediately closes. I'm guessing it's just something wrong with my .stc, probably something really obvious... but I can't figure it out. I've rewritten it twice now =S.

Code: Select all

 # HD 114729 AB
 Barycenter "HD 114729"
 {
 RA        198.1844063
 Dec       -31.87139
 Distance  114.1057
 }
 
   64459 "CD-31 10156 A:HD 114729 A"   # Planet host star.
   {
   OrbitBarycenter "HD 114729"
   SpectralType "G3V"
   AppMag  6.68

          EllipticalOrbit {
                      Period                  9953.56374
                   SemiMajorAxis           103.601695
                     Eccentricity            0.5 # Plausible guess.
                ArgOfPericenter          180
                   MeanAnomaly             0
             }
   }


   "CD-31 10156 B:HD 114729 B"
   {
    OrbitBarycenter "HD 114729"
   SpectralType "M"
   AppMag 9.782

           EllipticalOrbit {               
         Period                  9953.56374
                   SemiMajorAxis          385.398305
                   Eccentricity            0.5 # Plausible guess.
                   MeanAnomaly             0
           }
   }

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 17.08.2008, 21:13
by ajtribick
I'd guess this is a conflict between the name and catalog parsing...

The barycenter is associated with the name "HD 114729"
Component A is associated with the Hipparcos number 64459, which is associated with the HD number 114729.

Workaround: give the barycenter the HIP number:

Code: Select all

# HD 114729 AB
Barycenter 64459
{
RA        198.1844063
Dec       -31.87139
Distance  114.1057
}

   "CD-31 10156 A:HD 114729 A"   # Planet host star.
   {
   OrbitBarycenter "HD 114729"
   SpectralType "G3V"
   AppMag  6.68

         EllipticalOrbit {
                      Period                  9953.56374
                   SemiMajorAxis           103.601695
                     Eccentricity            0.5 # Plausible guess.
                ArgOfPericenter          180
                   MeanAnomaly             0
             }
   }


   "CD-31 10156 B:HD 114729 B"
   {
   OrbitBarycenter "HD 114729"
   SpectralType "M"
   AppMag 9.782

           EllipticalOrbit {               
         Period                  9953.56374
                   SemiMajorAxis          385.398305
                   Eccentricity            0.5 # Plausible guess.
                   MeanAnomaly             0
           }
   }


(note you will now have to edit extrasolar.ssc to put the planet around the right star)

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 20.08.2008, 23:06
by Hungry4info
Ah, thank-you very much! That did indeed fix the issue.

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 23.08.2008, 00:35
by Hungry4info
I am still curious though, why did my code not work? If I understand why something didn't work, I may know how to avoid it in the future.

Also, none of the stars defined in the .stc file are textured. The path to the .stc is

extras/ExoPlanets/Stars.stc

I tried sticking the star textures in a extras/ExoPlanets/textures/lores directory, but that did not fix it. Any ideas?

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 23.08.2008, 11:40
by selden
Celestia closes because of a bug in its code.
You can avoid the problem by reporting it so that Chris can fix it.

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 23.08.2008, 12:01
by selden
STC Texture files must be in /medres/

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 23.08.2008, 12:13
by ajtribick
Hungry4info: you claim in your sig to be using Celestia 1.5.0, the untextured stars problem is a known bug in that version. I suggest upgrading to 1.5.1.

Re: HD 114729 issue.

Posted: 23.08.2008, 12:18
by selden
ajtribick wrote:Hungry4info: you claim in your sig to be using Celestia 1.5.0, the untextured stars problem is a known bug in that version. I suggest upgrading to 1.5.1.

Even so, the Addon's /medres/ directory must be used. lores and hires are not searched for STC textures.