Problem with a few locations on Io

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #1by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 26.01.2009, 15:37

Hello

I've noticed that labels and markers for 3 locations on Io (Apis Tholus, Inachus Tholus and Tsui Goab Tholus) are visible only when "Other features" in "Locations" menu are disabled. Enabling "Other features" cause these labels and markers to vanish. I guess it's related to the type of these locations, which is "TH".

I've found the problem in Celestia r4602

Paul

EDIT:

There are even more locations of the same type - "TH" on Mars and there is the same problem with them (for example with Apollinaris Tholus).
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #2by Vincent » 26.01.2009, 16:51

Paul,

I could reproduce this issue and I've got a fix for it. Actually, the 'Tholus' location type was missing from the
LocationFlagMap in celx.cpp. I guess that you're using the Lua Tools or some other celx script that deals with
location labels. That's why the behaviour of the 'other features' check box was inverted for 'Tholus' type locations.

The following change fixes that:

Code: Select all

Index: celx.cpp
===================================================================
--- celx.cpp   (revision 4604)
+++ celx.cpp   (working copy)
@@ -188,6 +188,7 @@
     LocationFlagMap["mensa"] = Location::Mensa;
     LocationFlagMap["rima"] = Location::Rima;
     LocationFlagMap["undae"] = Location::Undae;
+    LocationFlagMap["tholus"] = Location::Tholus;
     LocationFlagMap["reticulum"] = Location::Reticulum;
     LocationFlagMap["planitia"] = Location::Planitia;
     LocationFlagMap["linea"] = Location::Linea;


Please let me know if it also fixes the issue on your system. Thanks for the bug report.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #3by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 26.01.2009, 17:55

Vincent,

Vincent wrote:I could reproduce this issue and I've got a fix for it. Actually, the 'Tholus' location type was missing from the
LocationFlagMap in celx.cpp.

Thank you for fixing the bug.

Vincent wrote:I guess that you're using the Lua Tools or some other celx script that deals with
location labels.

That's right. I'm using the Lua Edu 1.2 Tools. :)

Vincent wrote:Please let me know if it also fixes the issue on your system.

Unfortunatelly, I've never compiled Celestia on my own and I just don't know how to do it. :oops:
I could easily download the file celx.cpp from SVN and then modify it according to the code in your last post, but I have no idea what to do to compile Celestia and produce the executable file.

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #4by Vincent » 26.01.2009, 19:34

SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Thank you for fixing the bug.
Paul, you're welcome.


SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:That's right. I'm using the Lua Edu 1.2 Tools. :)
The Lua Tools are, at least, a very powerful tool for tracking celx/Lua bugs. :wink:


SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Unfortunatelly, I've never compiled Celestia on my own and I just don't know how to do it. :oops:
No problem, here's a link to an executable file that includes the above change:
http://vincent.giangiulio.perso.sfr.fr/ ... lestia.exe
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 16 years 8 months

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #5by BobHegwood » 26.01.2009, 20:05

Vincent wrote:No problem, here's a link to an executable file that includes the above change:
http://vincent.giangiulio.perso.sfr.fr/ ... lestia.exe

Hey, thanks for that, Vincent. This Brain-Dead user got it too, so thanks.
I hope you don't mind. :wink:
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #6by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 26.01.2009, 20:17

Vincent wrote:No problem, here's a link to an executable file that includes the above change:
http://vincent.giangiulio.perso.sfr.fr/ ... lestia.exe

Vincent,

Thank you very much.

Unfortunately I cannot open Celestia with this executable. I get the error message about the lack of "libpng1.dll" :(

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #7by Vincent » 26.01.2009, 21:06

SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Unfortunately I cannot open Celestia with this executable. I get the error message about the lack of "libpng1.dll" :(
The following zip files also includes all the needed dll's. It should work now.
http://vincent.giangiulio.perso.sfr.fr/ ... lestia.zip


BobHegwood wrote:Hey, thanks for that, Vincent. This Brain-Dead user got it too, so thanks.
I hope you don't mind. :wink:
Bob,

Of course, I don't. I'm happy you find it useful. :D
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #8by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 26.01.2009, 21:31

Vincent,

Thanks once again.

I can confirm, that the bug is really fixed (at least on Win XP) :D

I have also a qestion about your executable. Why it has only 2,07 MB instead of 3,42 MB (the size of r4602 executable - Cartrite's built)? Moreover, in properties of this file it is also written that this is version 1.5.0.0 and not for example 1.6.0.4604. However this executable, after running it, seems to have all properties of the latest SVN. Could you explain it?

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10190
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 21 years 9 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #9by selden » 26.01.2009, 22:22

The size suggests that Vincent did not include SPICE support.
Selden

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #10by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 26.01.2009, 22:33

selden wrote:The size suggests that Vincent did not include SPICE support.

Selden,

Thank you for the explanation. :)

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #11by Vincent » 27.01.2009, 17:20

The fix is in SVN now.

selden wrote:The size suggests that Vincent did not include SPICE support.
Selden is right, I don't build Celestia with SPICE support.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #12by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 04.02.2009, 23:22

Unfortunately, I've found exactly the same kind of bug for "Mayda Insula" on Titan.

I should have checked earlier wether "tholus" was the only kind of location, which was affected. I hope, that there are no more such location types except for "insula", but I'm not sure...

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #13by Vincent » 05.02.2009, 17:52

SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Unfortunately, I've found exactly the same kind of bug for "Mayda Insula" on Titan.

I should have checked earlier wether "tholus" was the only kind of location, which was affected. I hope, that there are no more such location types except for "insula", but I'm not sure...
Paul,

Thanks for tracking this once again. I'll commit the fix soon.
This was for sure the last location type missing in celx. I've checked
this out by comparing the list in location.cpp with the one in celx.cpp:
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1)
Posts: 59
Joined: 05.05.2008
With us: 16 years 1 month

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #14by SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) » 05.02.2009, 21:08

Vincent wrote:
SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Unfortunately, I've found exactly the same kind of bug for "Mayda Insula" on Titan.

I should have checked earlier wether "tholus" was the only kind of location, which was affected. I hope, that there are no more such location types except for "insula", but I'm not sure...
Paul,

Thanks for tracking this once again. I'll commit the fix soon.
This was for sure the last location type missing in celx. I've checked
this out by comparing the list in location.cpp with the one in celx.cpp:

Vincent,

Thank you very much for the response and for commiting the fix in SVN. :D

Paul
"Physicists know what's important, but they don't know what is true. Mathematicians know what's true, but they don't know what is important."

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Problem with a few locations on Io

Post #15by Vincent » 05.02.2009, 22:00

SU(3)xSU(2)xU(1) wrote:Vincent,

Thank you very much for the response and for commiting the fix in SVN. :D
Paul,

You're welcome. The fix is in SVN now.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3


Return to “Bugs”