Possible Problems with Celestia and Windows Vista!

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Topic author
Don. Edwards
With us: 21 years 11 months

Possible Problems with Celestia and Windows Vista!

Post #1by Don. Edwards » 28.07.2005, 06:10

Hey Everyone,
As many of you know I work as a computer tech most of the time when I am working that is. I also beta test a great many programs as they come out. At present I am in the Windows Vista beta program and a few things have come to light. I can't confirm any of them as of yet, I just started my download from MSDN today so we have to see as the betas come down the line as how this might effect Celestia. I have read and of course it is unconfirmed, that Microsoft has finally gotten ATI and nVidia to agree to cut back, way back on OpenGL support under Windows Vista. If this is true, this could mean anyone wanting to update to Windows Vista may not be able to run Celestia under it. It will all depend on whether our favorite hardware venders choose to continue to buck Microsoft. But that doesn't seem to the case as Microsoft is taking control of how drivers will be written for there new OS and they are using what seems to be strong arm tactics do it. Microsoft has wanted to put the final nail in OpenGL for years. This very well could be there wining hand to do it under the Windows platform at least. It is a well known fact that if you download drivers for your video card through Microsoft you get an edited version that breaks most of the OpenGL library. That is why we always tell users to go straight to ATI or nVidia for there driver downloads and never let XP or 2000 update your video drivers. Well it seems this step will be going farther as the replacement for Direct X is going to be totally tied to your graphics card. I have heard that one big game maker, ID, makers of Doom and Quake are a little put out about this. There game engines have always used OpenGL and they are now being forced to