Page 1 of 1
AutoMag selection Option
Posted: 16.11.2003, 21:48
by Darkmiss
Does anyone know how to keep the AutoMag Selection option, turned on ?
Every time i re-start Celestia, its turned back off again.
Is this a bug, or am I doing something wrong
Posted: 17.11.2003, 10:03
by don
Darkmiss,
If you are running a pre-release version 1.3.1, add the following lines to the start.cel script (located in the root Celestia directory), on a new line AFTER the "{" character...
Code: Select all
renderflags { set "automag" } # version 1.3.1+
setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 6.5 } # If you want to change it
-Don G.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:01
by Darkmiss
Well thats strange, it didn't work
Firstly I do have 131 pre11 running
and I added the line you wrote to the bottom of my start.cel
and it still isn't turing on
here is how it looks
Code: Select all
{
select { object "Sol" }
follow {}
goto { time 4 }
wait { duration 3 }
select { object "Sol/mars" }
follow {}
goto { time 6 }
renderflags { set "automag" } # version 1.3.1+
setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 6.5 } # If you want to change it
}
I was just hopeing that Celestia would just remember the setting, like it does with the rest of them.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:09
by don
That is very strange indeed.
Are you running the Windows version, or another?
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:21
by don
Ummmm, a couple of things to change in your start script...
Code: Select all
select { object "Sol" }
follow {}
goto { time 4 }
wait { duration 4 } #<-- CHANGE to 4 <----
select { object "Sol/mars" }
follow {}
goto { time 6 }
wait { duration 6 } #<-- ADD this line <----
renderflags { set "automag" } # version 1.3.1+
setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 6.5 } # If you want to change it
Then, it should work.
-Don G.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:31
by t00fri
don wrote:Darkmiss,
If you are running a pre-release version 1.3.1, add the following lines to the start.cel script (located in the root Celestia directory), on a new line AFTER the "{" character...
Code: Select all
renderflags { set "automag" } # version 1.3.1+
setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 6.5 } # If you want to change it
-Don G.
Don,
since I coded the entire 'Automag' scheme in Celestia quite a long time ago, I am surprised about your restriction to version 1.3.1+. I coded the above script commands also long ago and have them
working perfectly well since then in my own startup script...
Bye Fridger
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:34
by Darkmiss
Don, Take no notice of me,
It was working the first time.
But it doesn't put a tick next to it in the menu
so i thought it wasn't working
So thanks for the help.
But as i said earlyer, it would be nice to select it in the menu
and have it stay selected like the rest of the menu commands.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:47
by don
Howdy Fridger!
Chris just added this to .cel scripting in July (cmdparser.cpp).
-Don G.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:51
by don
Howdy Paul,
Darkmiss wrote:It was working the first time.
But it doesn't put a tick next to it in the menu
so i thought it wasn't working
Oops, that should probably be reported as a Bug so it can get fixed.
Glad it's working!
Darkmiss wrote:But as i said earlyer, it would be nice to select it in the menu and have it stay selected like the rest of the menu commands.
Yes, I agree, there are several settings in Celestia that would be nice to have "remembered" between runs. Another one is the Minimum Location Size, and others.
-Don G.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:52
by t00fri
don wrote:Howdy Fridger!
Chris just this to .cel scripting in July (cmdparser.cpp).
-Don G.
Could you repeat that sentence again, please (for those poor foreigners like me;-))...
Bye Fridger
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:55
by don
Sometime, me know rite goood englesh
You read it before I fixed it, not fair!
Posted: 17.11.2003, 22:58
by don
By the way Fridger, it's good to see you back and to know that you didn't fall into one of those extra dimensions you are investigating!
-Don G.
Posted: 17.11.2003, 23:12
by t00fri
don wrote:Howdy Fridger!
Chris just added this to .cel scripting in July (cmdparser.cpp).
-Don G.
Don,
in July, he added the automag render flag for the Windows version, but I coded the /script commands/ together with the whole Automag much earlier, about 1 1/2 years ago. 'set automag' is not even listed anymore in the CVS browser. But 'setfaintestautomag45deg' I checked in in Dec 2002 according to the CVS records...
It's not important, after all...
Bye Fridger
Posted: 17.11.2003, 23:40
by don
Howdy Fridger,
t00fri wrote:'set automag' is not even listed anymore in the CVS browser. ... It's not important, after all...
Sure it is. Especially when Chris seems to be trying to keep full backwards compatibility to scripting. In my scripting guide (which mostly came from the code and Selden's prior work), I don't see a prior version of how to turn AutoMag ON and OFF, but only to adjust the actual magnitude value.
Are you saying there used to be a command called "set automag" to turn the function ON and OFF?
-Don G.
Posted: 18.11.2003, 14:05
by t00fri
don wrote:Howdy Fridger,
t00fri wrote:'set automag' is not even listed anymore in the CVS browser. ... It's not important, after all...
Sure it is. Especially when Chris seems to be trying to keep full backwards compatibility to scripting. In my scripting guide (which mostly came from the code and Selden's prior work), I don't see a prior version of how to turn AutoMag ON and OFF, but only to adjust the actual magnitude value.
Are you saying there used to be a command called "set automag" to turn the function ON and OFF?
-Don G.
Don,
I guess you are right as to 'set automag'. Apparently, it's too long ago for me... As far as I could make out from my code-checkin email, I coded the main Automag scheme in June 2002 which included CTRL Y key operation for switching it ON|OFF and incorporation in Linux GUI's. Also, for Linux, I activated Automag by default, while in Windows it was not activated and also not incorporated in the GUI until recently.
In Dec 2002 I added the script command 'setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude }. So it seems I did not add 'set automag', since Automag was ON by default anyhow in Linux;-).
In any case it's all in now...
Bye Fridger
Posted: 19.11.2003, 02:42
by don
Howdy Fridger,
Ahhh, it's that nasty "multiple, individual UI code" thingy again <sigh>. I'm really beginning to wonder if having these different UIs is such a good idea. We may eventually need to split the forum since the versions can be so drastically different at times -- especially the Mac version.
Well, it *is* good to know that Chris didn't drop an old script command, which is what I wanted to be sure of for the scripting guide <smile>.
Thanks Fridger!
-Don G.