Newbie needs some basic help

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Topic author
Ms. C
With us: 17 years 2 months

Newbie needs some basic help

Post #1by Ms. C » 01.05.2007, 19:12

I am a teacher and want to use Celestia in the class. However, I can't figure out how to use the add ons. I downloaded the Babylon 5 and unzipped it into the C:\program files\celestia\\models\extras\babylon 5\

I am using Win XP...

I can't figure out how to USE it. I downloaded a couple of other ones but I want to figure out how to make the program use it...I tried File, OPen Script and nothing came up when I navigate to the folders. So I am stuck. Can someone help me use the program correctly? There was nothing in the HELP file either so I feel like an idiot. I've examined all the menus and so on but something I am not doing is wrong!

selden
Developer
With us: 21 years 10 months

Post #2by selden » 01.05.2007, 19:44

The Babylon5 Addons all place their models in orbit around the star Epsilon Eridani. This can be discovered by reading the catalog file
0-EPSErisys.ssc
which comes in the initial B5 Addon.

To see the B5 objects, after you've extracted the Zip archive into your Celestia/extras folder, you first must
goto EPS Eri
and then you can goto one of the B5 objects.

e.g. type
[return (or Enter)]
eps eri
[return (or Enter)]
g

to go to the star.

Since you're using the Windows version of Celestia, you can use the menu
Navigation/ Solar System Browser
after you've gone to EPS Eri.

When you've become more familiar with Celestia, you'll find there are other ways to navigate, too. Spending some time going through Frank Gregorio's Users Guide will help. It's available on the MotherLode's Documentation page at http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catal ... ation.html

Does this help?
Selden

ElChristou
Developer
With us: 19 years 5 months

Post #3by ElChristou » 01.05.2007, 19:59