Moon Hires texures as Xtras
-
- Posts: 194
- Joined: 27.12.2006
- Age: 49
- With us: 17 years 10 months
- Location: Vriezenveen, the Netherlands
- Contact:
Wow that normal map part of Italy looks way more detailed then the normal VT map I use now (highest level 4)
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Intel Core i7 2600K 3.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD + 1 TB hdd, nVidia GTX460 1 GB, Celestia 1.6.0.xxxx
Download my latest SVN Build
Download my latest SVN Build
- t00fri
- Developer
- Posts: 8772
- Joined: 29.03.2002
- Age: 22
- With us: 22 years 7 months
- Location: Hamburg, Germany
CAP-Team wrote:Wow that normal map part of Italy looks way more detailed then the normal VT map I use now (highest level 4)
This map is the result of my nmtools, as obtained directly from the 84k 16bit raw SRTM data. The normalmaps produced with the nmtools are the only ones that are specializing on the spherical geometry of celestial bodies! Any standard normal map algorithms generate increasingly incorrect results towards the polar regimes.
F.
-
- Posts: 194
- Joined: 27.12.2006
- Age: 49
- With us: 17 years 10 months
- Location: Vriezenveen, the Netherlands
- Contact:
I think I've got something to do this weekend, following your tutorial on celestialmatters.org
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Intel Core i7 2600K 3.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD + 1 TB hdd, nVidia GTX460 1 GB, Celestia 1.6.0.xxxx
Download my latest SVN Build
Download my latest SVN Build
- t00fri
- Developer
- Posts: 8772
- Joined: 29.03.2002
- Age: 22
- With us: 22 years 7 months
- Location: Hamburg, Germany
CAP-Team wrote:I think I've got something to do this weekend, following your tutorial on celestialmatters.org
Good luck! Many people have succeded without problems to do their own "monster" VT normal map with my tools. I strongly recomment to use the latest (1.5pre1) version of the tools that you find together with the required links to the 16 bit raw binary data here
http://forum.celestialmatters.org/viewt ... c&start=13
http://forum.celestialmatters.org/viewt ... sc&start=2
F.
-
- Posts: 194
- Joined: 27.12.2006
- Age: 49
- With us: 17 years 10 months
- Location: Vriezenveen, the Netherlands
- Contact:
This topic may not be the most appropriate place to ask this, but I've downloaded the elevation map, and created the following batch file:
the nmtiles application crashes when the work on level 5 is started.
Code: Select all
rem resize to 65535 (level5)
nm2pow2 86400 1 < srtm_ramp2.world.86400x43200.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.64k.bin
rem reduce from 65k to 32k (level4)
nm2half 65535 < srtm_ramp2.world.64k.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.32k.bin
rem reduce from 32k to 16k (level3)
nm2half 32768 < srtm_ramp2.world.32k.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.16k.bin
rem reduce from 16k to 8k (level2)
nm2half 16384 < srtm_ramp2.world.16k.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.8k.bin
rem reduce from 8k to 4k (level1)
nm2half 8192 < srtm_ramp2.world.8k.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.4k.bin
rem reduce from 4k to 2k (level0)
nm2half 4096 < srtm_ramp2.world.4k.bin > srtm_ramp2.world.2k.bin
md level0
md level1
md level2
md level3
md level4
md level5
move srtm_ramp2.world.2k.bin level0
move srtm_ramp2.world.4k.bin level1
move srtm_ramp2.world.8k.bin level2
move srtm_ramp2.world.16k.bin level3
move srtm_ramp2.world.32k.bin level4
move srtm_ramp2.world.64k.bin level5
cd level0
nmtiles 0 6378.14 2048 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.2k.bin
cd ..
cd level1
nmtiles 1 6378.14 4096 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.4k.bin
cd ..
cd level2
nmtiles 2 6378.14 8192 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.8k.bin
cd ..
cd level3
nmtiles 3 6378.14 16384 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.16k.bin
cd ..
cd level4
nmtiles 4 6378.14 32768 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.32k.bin
cd ..
cd level5
nmtiles 5 6378.14 65535 2.5 < srtm_ramp2.world.64k.bin
cd ..
pause
the nmtiles application crashes when the work on level 5 is started.
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Intel Core i7 2600K 3.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD + 1 TB hdd, nVidia GTX460 1 GB, Celestia 1.6.0.xxxx
Download my latest SVN Build
Download my latest SVN Build
- t00fri
- Developer
- Posts: 8772
- Joined: 29.03.2002
- Age: 22
- With us: 22 years 7 months
- Location: Hamburg, Germany
This is because you entered the size of level5 incorrectly!
It must of course be 65536 =2 * 32768 NOT 65535. All sizes are to be powers of 2. A number ending with 5 can hardly be a power of two .
You must correct it in several places of your batch script.
Any more extensive nmtools discussion should be done over in our CM forum-> Texture Tools-> Application Reports, where it belongs.
F.
It must of course be 65536 =2 * 32768 NOT 65535. All sizes are to be powers of 2. A number ending with 5 can hardly be a power of two .
You must correct it in several places of your batch script.
Any more extensive nmtools discussion should be done over in our CM forum-> Texture Tools-> Application Reports, where it belongs.
F.
-
- Posts: 194
- Joined: 27.12.2006
- Age: 49
- With us: 17 years 10 months
- Location: Vriezenveen, the Netherlands
- Contact:
whoops my mistake!
It's working now!
It's working now!
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Intel Core i7 2600K 3.4 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD + 1 TB hdd, nVidia GTX460 1 GB, Celestia 1.6.0.xxxx
Download my latest SVN Build
Download my latest SVN Build