Hi all-
I am a long-time Celestia user. I recently made the move from Win10 to Linux (Mint 19.1) and want to get Celestia installed. However, I know squat about package installations. So i am hoping to get some help.
I found this thread which discusses several known issues with the direct download from celestia.space. It seems that is not the one i want. But the thread also indicates there is a working version out there.
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=19750
What should i be downloading and where do i get it? And once i have it, how do i install it?
Thanks for all the help!
-Fizz
getting Celestia on Linux
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
Code: Select all
curl https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/munix9:/unstable/Debian_10/Release.key | sudo apt-key add -
echo "deb https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/munix9:/unstable/Debian_10/ ./" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/celestia-obs.list
sudo apt update && sudo apt install celestia
Afair Mint has 2 flavors: one Debian- and another one Ubunu based. If you use use the Ubuntu-based one then replace Debian_10 with Ubuntu_18.04.
Last edited by onetwothree on 10.09.2019, 22:05, edited 1 time in total.
I have the Ubuntu version. So i have tried this, and the first two lines seem fine. But i get errors when i get to the install line.
So i have no idea what's up. Hopefully you have an idea.
Added after 6 minutes 13 seconds:
Ack- and now another problem. When i go to the system update manager, it's not working any more. It gives the same error and can't refresh with list of updates. How do i undo this?
-Fizz
Added after 16 minutes 20 seconds:
Update 2:
I had to sudo rm the celestia-obs.list file to get the software manager working again. So clearly there is something in that file that is breaking something. Once we figure it out we can try again. Any thoughts?
-Fizz
Code: Select all
E: Type 'https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/munix9:/unstable/Ubuntu_18.04/' is not known on line 1 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list.d/celestia-obs.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
So i have no idea what's up. Hopefully you have an idea.
Added after 6 minutes 13 seconds:
Ack- and now another problem. When i go to the system update manager, it's not working any more. It gives the same error and can't refresh with list of updates. How do i undo this?
-Fizz
Added after 16 minutes 20 seconds:
Update 2:
I had to sudo rm the celestia-obs.list file to get the software manager working again. So clearly there is something in that file that is breaking something. Once we figure it out we can try again. Any thoughts?
-Fizz
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
Fizz wrote:So i have no idea what's up. Hopefully you have an idea.
I had an error in the echo "...", use the following:
Code: Select all
echo "deb https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/munix9:/unstable/Debian_10/ ./" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/celestia-obs.list
"deb " part was missing.
Fantastic! With that fix it is installed and running!
Next, i want to bring over all my Celestia add-ons from my Win version and get them integrated. Whereabouts is Celestia installed on the drive? That is- does it have its own installation directory? It looks like /usr/share/ . Is that the only place i need to know about? (Hopefully the file formats for those are all unchanged. Heh.)
Thanks much for your help!
-Fizz
Next, i want to bring over all my Celestia add-ons from my Win version and get them integrated. Whereabouts is Celestia installed on the drive? That is- does it have its own installation directory? It looks like /usr/share/ . Is that the only place i need to know about? (Hopefully the file formats for those are all unchanged. Heh.)
Thanks much for your help!
-Fizz
Last edited by Fizz on 03.06.2020, 04:20, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
Create file ~/.celestia.cfg with the following content:
Then create folder ~/exras and copy your addons there. Instead of ~/extras you can use any other directory. Of course it's still possible to use /usr/share/celestia/extras but this is less flexible as requires sudo usage.
Code: Select all
Configuration
{
ExtrasDirectories [ "extras-standard" "extras" "~/exras" ]
}
Then create folder ~/exras and copy your addons there. Instead of ~/extras you can use any other directory. Of course it's still possible to use /usr/share/celestia/extras but this is less flexible as requires sudo usage.
Excellent, the extras folder is working perfectly, and all my additions (most notably my own planet) are back. Sweet!
I do see some graphical issues though. Saturn's rings are not rendering correctly- like it's a solid surface, and i don't see any ring shadows even though i have that rendering option enabled. Is that something on my end (need to update my graphics drivers and/or kernel) or is that an issue with Celestia's rendering engine?
-Fizz
I do see some graphical issues though. Saturn's rings are not rendering correctly- like it's a solid surface, and i don't see any ring shadows even though i have that rendering option enabled. Is that something on my end (need to update my graphics drivers and/or kernel) or is that an issue with Celestia's rendering engine?
-Fizz
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
Yeah, your texture has disappeared.
What do you have for the following commands:
If you don't it for some reasons you can download it from our github repository.
What do you have for the following commands:
Code: Select all
ls -l /usr/share/celestia/textures/lores/saturn-rings.png
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2787 Aug 7 18:47 /usr/share/celestia/textures/lores/saturn-rings.png
dpkg -S /usr/share/celestia/textures/lores/saturn-rings.png
celestia-data: /usr/share/celestia/textures/lores/saturn-rings.png
dpkg -L celestia-data | grep -i saturn-rings
/usr/share/celestia/textures/lores/saturn-rings.png
If you don't it for some reasons you can download it from our github repository.
The output from those commands matches yours exactly (other than the date). So the file is there (and i can see and open it through file manager). But for some reason Celestia is not using it. Hrmmm...
So i tried replacing the file with the one from the repository. I had to use a sudo cp command because i couldn't set the permissions otherwise. But replacing the file hasn't made any difference.
I know rings can work, because i have the add-on for J1407 (giant ringed planet) and it looks fine.
-Fizz
So i tried replacing the file with the one from the repository. I had to use a sudo cp command because i couldn't set the permissions otherwise. But replacing the file hasn't made any difference.
I know rings can work, because i have the add-on for J1407 (giant ringed planet) and it looks fine.
-Fizz
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 706
- Joined: 22.09.2018
- With us: 6 years 2 months
Ah, so now i see two errors. Both say there is an error opening an image. They are:
textures/medres/SatRing.png
textures/lores/SatRing.png
It seems to be thinking it should use SatRing.png rather than the saturn-rings.png file.
So i poked around. I have an extra saturn.ssc file floating around that was using a different texture (it indicates it was adding the D-ring). So once i dropped that ssc file and restarted, the correct image was loaded and looks good. Thus, it was my fault- a holdover from my Win version that i totally forgot about.
Thanks for the tip of how to view errors- that got me looking in the right direction.
-Fizz
textures/medres/SatRing.png
textures/lores/SatRing.png
It seems to be thinking it should use SatRing.png rather than the saturn-rings.png file.
So i poked around. I have an extra saturn.ssc file floating around that was using a different texture (it indicates it was adding the D-ring). So once i dropped that ssc file and restarted, the correct image was loaded and looks good. Thus, it was my fault- a holdover from my Win version that i totally forgot about.
Thanks for the tip of how to view errors- that got me looking in the right direction.
-Fizz