Qt Celestia

Discussion forum for Celestia developers; topics may only be started by members of the developers group, but anyone can post replies.
Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #81by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 10:41

Chris,
Since you said you had problems compiling QT4 with Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition?, I may have done some things different that allowed my success.
First, I downloaded and installed the newer Platform SDK Windows 2003 Server SP1 and I used the automatic environment variable registration.
Then I installed Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition and Microsoft MSDN 2005 Express Edition - ENU. I ran the QT4 build immediately without updating to SP1. I noticed this morning that there was a critical update for Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition.
When I built QT4, I just ran configure => nmake without tweaking anything.
I also used QT4.3.3.

t00fri wrote:I KNEW you would NOT give up despite your repeated respective statements :wink: ...
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Let me remind you of this "harmless" sentence in my brief instructions from yesterday morning:


That was quite the ordeal. Kind of scary really. 8O
I just tried to renamed the libs. It worked in some cases. But for jpeg2 at least, using the libjpeg.lib from the winlib folder had an undeclared call that caused the link error.

cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #82by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 11:27

About qmake.conf, I noticed that editing this file after QT4 was built seems to have no effect. I tried to add /NODEFAULTLIB:libc to qmake.conf and it doesn't add this to Makefile.Release when I run qmake celestia.pro. I guess that the qmak.conf file needs to be edited before configure and nmake is run that builds QT4.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 10 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #83by Vincent » 12.01.2008, 11:31

cartrite wrote:I got past the configure phase after I pasted the file msvcprt.lib. I had this file in another folder (Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\lib) in my sdk libs. I think that was part of a world wind install.

OK, I successfully passed the 'configure' phase, and my compiler now complains for the msvcprt.lib missing file. I've copied it from my SDK folder to my Qt4.3.3\lib folder, but it still can't find it.

Cartrite, in which folder did you paste the msvcprt.lib file ?

EDIT: I solved the problem by adding the Qt4.3.3\lib folder to my celvars.bat. But now, the compiler complains for the missing MSVCRT.lib file...
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 10 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #84by Vincent » 12.01.2008, 11:38

Hum, I also copied MSVCRT.lib from my SDK folder and pasted it in my Qt4.3.3 folder, but now I get the following error:

Code: Select all

LOCALS~1\Temp\nm5.tmp
MSVCRT.lib(MSVCRT.dll) : fatal error LNK1112: module machine type 'IA64' conflicts with target machine type 'X86'
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'link' : return code '0x458'
Stop.


EDIT: The MSVCRT.lib file is actually a IA64 version. I'm going to search a X86 version of that file... Looks like I don't have it on my SDK folder, though...
Last edited by Vincent on 12.01.2008, 11:46, edited 1 time in total.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #85by t00fri » 12.01.2008, 11:43

cartrite wrote:About qmake.conf, I noticed that editing this file after QT4 was built seems to have no effect. I tried to add /NODEFAULTLIB:libc to qmake.conf and it doesn't add this to Makefile.Release when I run qmake celestia.pro. I guess that the qmak.conf file needs to be edited before configure and nmake is run that builds QT4.
cartrite


No, cartrite.

First, have a look WHICH qmake.conf is attached in the Makefile.Release that you generated via

> qmake celestia.pro

In my case, it is

For Linux: /usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/default
where default is a symbolic link: default -> linux-g++

For MSVC.net: C:\Qt\4.3.3\mkspecs\default
with default being a copy of win32-msvc.net

If you add /NODEFAULTLIB:libc to the line

OMAKE_LFLAGS = /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /NOLOGO
in C:\Qt\4.3.3\mkspecs\default\qmake.conf

then whenever you generate a Makefile with qmake, like

> qmake celestia.pro

the /NODEFAULTLIB:libc addition will appear at the right place! Just as I wrote in my previous instructions.

Bye Fridger
Image

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #86by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 11:56

t00fri wrote:No, cartrite.
In my case, I found this simply did not work. I did find that if I run

Code: Select all

qmake -spec (path to mkspecs\win32-msvc2005) celestia.pro

the line "/NODEFAULTLIB:libc" is added to the Makefile.Release. If I just run qmake celestia.pro without the -spec option, no changes were made to Makefile.Release and it just had the original spec that qmake was built with.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #87by t00fri » 12.01.2008, 12:01

cartrite wrote:
t00fri wrote:No, cartrite.
In my case, I found this simply did not work. I did find that if I run

Code: Select all

qmake -spec (path to mkspecs\win32-msvc2005) celestia.pro

the line "/NODEFAULTLIB:libc" is added to the Makefile.Release. If I just run qmake celestia.pro without the -spec option, no changes were made to Makefile.Release and it just had the original spec that qmake was built with.
cartrite


But what is the mkspecs\default associated with in your case??

Bye Fridger
Image

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #88by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 12:04

Vincent wrote:
cartrite wrote:I got past the configure phase after I pasted the file msvcprt.lib. I had this file in another folder (Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\lib) in my sdk libs. I think that was part of a world wind install.
OK, I successfully passed the 'configure' phase, and my compiler now complains for the msvcprt.lib missing file. I've copied it from my SDK folder to my Qt4.3.3\lib folder, but it still can't find it.

Cartrite, in which folder did you paste the msvcprt.lib file ?

EDIT: I solved the problem by adding the Qt4.3.3\lib folder to my celvars.bat. But now, the compiler complains for the missing MSVCRT.lib file...

Vincent,
I abandoned using the 2003 toolkit for building QT4. Thats when I had the problems that you are having. I downloaded Platform SDK and Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition and built QT4 with the newer compiler.
I didn't have any problems building QT4 with Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition. I just ran configure and nmake.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #89by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 12:06

t00fri wrote:
cartrite wrote:
t00fri wrote:No, cartrite.
In my case, I found this simply did not work. I did find that if I run

Code: Select all

qmake -spec (path to mkspecs\win32-msvc2005) celestia.pro

the line "/NODEFAULTLIB:libc" is added to the Makefile.Release. If I just run qmake celestia.pro without the -spec option, no changes were made to Makefile.Release and it just had the original spec that qmake was built with.
cartrite

But what is the mkspecs\default associated with in your case??

Bye Fridger
win32-msvc2005
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
t00fri wrote:OMAKE_LFLAGS = /NODEFAULTLIB:libc /NOLOGO
in C:\Qt\4.3.3\mkspecs\default\qmake.conf

I was editing the qmake.conf in the win32-msvc2005 folder.
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
Running qmake with the -spec option is the way to use different qmake settings from the default settings. :? :wink:
cartrite
Last edited by cartrite on 12.01.2008, 12:20, edited 1 time in total.
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #90by t00fri » 12.01.2008, 12:17

cartrite,

this really sounds strange to me.

Look, also without -spec addition you will notice that qmake enters a large amount of info BEYOND what is contained in celestia.pro into your Makefiles, generated by the simple call

> qmake celestia.pro.

This info like e.g. /NOLOGO etc MUST have been read out from some qmake.conf file, NO DOUBT about this, also in your case!

The most natural choice is qmake.conf from mkspecs/default if you don't specify -spec <path...>. I don't think there is a bug. I rather think that you might have done a typo or some other little thing that prevents that canonical action of qmake.

F.

[EDIT]: OK cross-posting ;-) I see your many :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: flashing... Actually that was what immediately crossed my mind as a possible explanation for your NO-GO.
Image

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #91by cartrite » 12.01.2008, 12:25

Fridger,
I edited the qmake.conf in the default folder and everything works fine. I didn't see the default folder. I thought default meant the folder for the build system I had on my system. "win32-msvc2005" in my case.

This probably caused me a lot of grief when I was trying to get the MinGW version of QT4 to work. :?
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 10 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #92by Vincent » 12.01.2008, 18:05

cartrite wrote:
Vincent wrote:OK, I successfully passed the 'configure' phase, and my compiler now complains for the msvcprt.lib missing file. I've copied it from my SDK folder to my Qt4.3.3\lib folder, but it still can't find it.

Cartrite, in which folder did you paste the msvcprt.lib file ?

EDIT: I solved the problem by adding the Qt4.3.3\lib folder to my celvars.bat. But now, the compiler complains for the missing MSVCRT.lib file...
Vincent,
I abandoned using the 2003 toolkit for building QT4. Thats when I had the problems that you are having. I downloaded Platform SDK and Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition and built QT4 with the newer compiler.
I didn't have any problems building QT4 with Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition. I just ran configure and nmake.
cartrite


Thanks Cartrite, I'll switch to Visual C++ 2005.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #93by t00fri » 12.01.2008, 18:15

I wonder what happens at the "MAC front" wrto Qt? DW has been compiling Qt already some days ago, but there was no report whatsoever later... busy?

F.
Last edited by t00fri on 12.01.2008, 19:30, edited 1 time in total.
Image

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 19 years 9 months

Post #94by ElChristou » 12.01.2008, 19:09

t00fri wrote:I wonder what happens at the "MAC front" wrto Qt? DW has been compiling Qt already some days ago, but there was not report whatsoever later... busy?

F.


There is a few problems DW need to fix, but yes he is busy so we just have to wait quietly...
Image

Topic author
chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 22 years 9 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #95by chris » 12.01.2008, 22:50

I found a case where MSVC seems to produce better code than the MinGW compiler: when viewing the orbit of Messenger, I noticed that my frame rate dropped significantly with the MinGW compiled version of Celestia, whereas the MSVC compiled version (non-Qt4) still rendered at the refresh rate of 60 Hz. It's possible there's some compiler optimization flag that's not being enabled yet.

--Chris

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 19 years 9 months

Post #96by ElChristou » 13.01.2008, 12:10

t00fri wrote:I wonder what happens at the "MAC front" wrto Qt? DW has been compiling Qt already some days ago, but there was no report whatsoever later... busy?

F.


Tx to DW, the Qt version works fine under osX.
One little problem is the pref panel, if you call it you cannot close it anymore nor quit the app. You must force quitting via alt-command-esc...
Image

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 19 years 9 months

Post #97by ElChristou » 13.01.2008, 12:37

All work pretty nice so far, and the browser show some nice potential.
Now I wonder if it could be possible to filter the type by using or the first letter or the complete type...
Image

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 19 years 10 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #98by Vincent » 13.01.2008, 15:57

Yeah, I successfully compiled celestia-qt4 using VS 2005. :D :

Image

A lot of fun ahead... :wink:
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
cartrite
Posts: 1978
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA Greate Grandfother from Irshava, Zakarpattia Oblast Ukraine

Post #99by cartrite » 13.01.2008, 16:08

Congrats Vincent.
t00fri wrote:+++++++++++++++++++++++++
> qmake -t vcapp celestia.pro
+++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic ... 8438#98438
If you run that command and click on the project file that is created, it will open VS 2005 and if you have it set up right it will build the qt version with the gui. I just tried this earlier today and it works great with VS 2005.
cartrite
VivoBook_ASUSLaptop X712JA_S712JA Intel(R) UHD Graphics 8gb ram. Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 CPU @ 1.00GHz, 1190 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s) 8 GB ram. Running on Windows 11 and OpenSuse 15.4

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 22
With us: 22 years 7 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #100by t00fri » 13.01.2008, 16:20

Congrats, Vincent!

Now there is close to a handful Qt-fans already ;-)

I actually have also incorporated LUA-5.1 and cspice again, such that I can use Chris' start.celx for the Qt-GUI. start.celx is much nicer.

There are a few variables in qmake like DEFINES that allow very easily to reactivate lua and cspice.

F.
Image


Return to “Ideas & News”